Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 269 reviews
All throughout their long musical career, Tears For Fears have consistently put out a high quality body of work and, "Everybody Loves a Happy Ending" is no exception. For this 2004 release, Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith reunited after having last worked together on 1989's "The Seeds of Love".
Well, every Tears For Fears fan should take note, because there isn't one bad song in this collection, in fact they're all exceedingly well-crafted and high quality songs with masterful musicianship. Yes, there is a noticeable Beatles sound, but I tend to think these comparisons sometimes are overblown and the band has its own unique "brand and style".
As I said, all 12 tracks are absolutely great, but I still have my favorites here: "Last Days On Earth", "Closest Thing to Heaven", "Who Killed Tangerine?", "The Devil", "Killing With Kindness", "Secret World", "Ladybird", "Quiet Ones", etc. Too bad, the 2 bonus tracks available on the import were not included here: "Pulling a Cloud" and "Out of Control". This album is sheer perfection, with influences from the 60's, the 70's and the heyday of the 80's too. (BTW: I'm glad my CD only cost me $12.00 when I originally purchased it some twelve years ago, since it's now retailing for $40.00 plus.)

Love and Peace,
Carlos Romero
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
You know how when you're cooking, and you take several delicious things and combine them into a dish? That dish can't help but taste good while it's fresh, but once it simmers or marinates it develops flavors that transcend its ingredients and becomes unbelievably delicious. That's this album. The guys couldn't have made this album earlier. They had to go through what they went through, produce the music they produced, and live their lives before this was even possible. Thank God they did, because this album is necessary to my personal wellbeing :) The way their voices blend back together after so long apart has magic in it. This album is so ... mellow. It's happy. That's not to say that all the songs are bouncy and lighthearted; some are, but the themes dealt with here are aging and loss and the passage of time, so there's more than a hint of darkness - sadness, foreboding and resignation all take the stage. But there's an underlying optimism to it that is so, so appealing; it closes the circle begun by The Hurting, and there's so much maturity and satisfaction in that.

Rumor has it that the boys from Bath are back in the recording studio as of this blog post, and I'm beside myself wondering what they'll come up with next. They've never made the same album twice, and despite the obtuseness of the critics and the howls of fans who want only to relive the glory days, they keep evolving their sound, staying current and fresh. This is TFF aged to perfection. It's happy, all right, and I'm so glad it's not an ending.

Favorite tracks: Everybody Loves A Happy Ending, Who Killed Tangerine, and MY JAM, Killing With Kindness

The one that snuck up on me: Call Me Mellow
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2004
Roland and Curt together again, a Tears For Fears dream for fans. However, I give more creedence to Roland as the band's inspiration, and I was never exactly sure what Curt's role was, thus, when he departed and Roland carried on, it still seemed like Tears For Fears to me. Whether together or apart, Tears For Fears have always made quality music in my mind. Not one of their six albums is a travesty. "Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" is a humorous title given the past relationship between Roland and Curt. There are, just like on previous albums, sure-to-be-classics in the form of the title track, with its Beatlesque qualities, or "Closest Thing To Heaven" with its Beach Boys harmonies. The lead-off single "Call Me Mellow" was a great choice, and also sure to become a Tears For Fears staple. There are also Pink Floyd and 10cc influences apparent on the new album with an unlikely classic "Who Killed Tangerine?" All of these songs deserve a place in the Tears For Fears musical canon.

There are other songs that stand up well as second-rate contenders like "Size Of Sorrow", "Quiet Ones", "Secret World", "Ladybird" and "Last Days On Earth". Particularly, "Ladybird" with its offsetting melody, chorus and harmonies and "Last Days On Earth" with its unusual synthesizer ball-bouncing-on-piano-wires sound set to 70's lounge.

This leaves only three songs that I considered duds: "Who You Are", "The Devil" and "Killing With Kindness". For whatever reason, those tracks could have been left off and they would not have been missed.

"Everybody Loves A Happy Ending" is amazing as far as a comeback is concerned, and it certainly brings anticipation for more future albums by the duo. If you just can't get enough Tears For Fears with this release, you ought to look into Curt Smith's "Mayfield" release and Roland Orzabal's "Tomcats Screaming Outside".
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
Unfortunately, I was not in tune with the times when this album dropped in 2004. Ten years later, I am catching up, and boy is it worth it. This is one of those listens where everybody in the family will go around singing something from it, and when we get tired of it, will inevitably pick it back up to find fresh new things to appreciate about it, as we do with Seeds of Love. There are some good soloists out there, but Roland Orzabal is exceptional, as is Curt Smith. Together they really do 'Rule the World" musically.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
I bought this album because of a couple of songs I liked and fell in love with the album. I was a big Curt fan when they first came out than I was a huge Roland fan shortly after and now. This album show cases both Roland and Curt's awesome voices equally for the most part. Like their previous albums "The Hurting", "Songs from the Big Chair" and their other albums, this album is a good listen from beginning to end. These guys make albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
Closest thing to Sgt. Pepper's that I've heard since, well, Sgt. Pepper's. We got a hint of this direction with the Seeds of Love album, but it really comes full blast with this album. Heard Tears for Fears in concert last year and heard a few of these songs which I didn't recognize, so decided to buy the album. Very glad I did. Wonderful use of orchestration and I've never heard them use as much harmony as on this album. Highlight tracks for me are Call Me Mellow (a truly 60's flashback) and the more guitar based Quiet Ones. But from top to bottom, a really sparkling effort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2017
If you are a TFF fan, this one is a must have. As good as ever with rich melodies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2004
Seriously, I like this new offering from Tears for Fears, and the overt Beatle twists don't bother me (being a Beatle nut). It's just amazing how, years after the band's heydey as moody popsters, you can now see some of where their infectious charm found its voice. The same can be said for XTC, Oasis and Paul Weller, but let's just say that TFF have a very good record, loaded with soothing melodies, plenty of tempo changes, and the lush production that vaulted them over fellow musicians of the 1980s.

The Beatle influence is "Sgt. Pepper" crossed with "The White Album" and a bit of "Abbey Road" thrown in. The title track is catchy; it reminds me of the brisk middle portion of the "A Day in the Life." "Closest Thing Heaven" is the closest thing to an older TFF tune, sung with urgent passion. "Call Me Mellow" is pure pleasant pop, something that George Harrison might have written in his later career. "Who Killed Tangerine?" is another adventurous tune, replete with a "Hey Jude" type chorus. There's even a snatch of "A Day in the Life"'s orchestral rush (and not attributed to the Beatles... what gives?) The CD continues through more shimmering stuff, some slow, some fast. "Killing with Kindness" echoes John Lennon's solo work circa "Imagine." The best tune is "Last Days on Earth," which rides a mellow groove to the end.

Tears For Fears can be congratulated for keeping their quality up, for keeping their sound pure and sophisticated, and for being imaginative with sounds we've been used to hearing elsewhere, but to lesser effect. It's been too many years since they wowed the New Wave audiences, and they've showed that growing up hasn't dulled the senses.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2008
Moose up your hair, break out your Members Only jacket, flip up the collar on your polo shirt, take a drag on your clove cigarette, and sip a California Cooler. Tears for Fears continues to cement their place in pop rock history. In a current era when British music is highlighting piano (Coldplay, Muse, etc.), Tears for Fears should, in part, be credited with this trend. In Everybody Loves a Happy Ending, TfF continues where they left off. ELaHE is solid, with each track being very listenable in its own right. This is their most diversified album to date but all the formats work. You can still hear the formula which brought them so much success in the '80s but this album is also fresh to the times.

Do yourself a favor and listen to the song, "Quiet Ones", with its uptempo beat, beautifully blended harmonies, and intriguing lyrics [Wake up your majesty; there are thieves in the temple, picking the sunspots out of the sun]. This album is their best effort since Elemental, and its like reliving an era in New Wave music. ELaHE is a great album for long time fans of TfF, but this would be a nice introductory album to the group for newbies who missed out on their prior stardom. ELaHE is an excellent album you will want to listen to repeatedly, but not quite a 5 star rating (e.g., Nirvana's Nevermind).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
One of my favorite albums by anyone in this decade. This album reunites the classic combination of Curt Smith and Roland Orzabel, the latter of whom who spent the '90s flying the Tears For Fears flag as essentially a solo act.
The Orzabel led band, while very good didn't consistently reach the high standards previously attained by this duo on this LP or the their classic '80s output.
Progressive Pop/Rock at it's finest.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$8.25

Need customer service? Click here