Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
58
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on December 29, 2014
I heard one of the songs on a radio station and immediately went to Amazon. Shipment was amazing, as is the cd itself. In case you don't know who Bid Bad Voodoo Daddy is: Its an orchestra that does swing music. Swing music originated in the 40's (I think) and was extremely popular, eventually losing popularity to other styles of music. If you like vibrant, energy-filled music then you will like Big Bad Daddy. While these songs are Christmas oriented, they are not the usual Christmas songs. Great album if you want music and this time of the year cheer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2013
Living in Atlanta, we've been fortunate to be able to see Big Bad Voodoo Daddy on a couple of occasions when they have taken their show on the road, so when Amazon ran a special on their Christmas album, it took me about two seconds to order it. Once it arrived, we were not disappointed: the CD became a staple in our household throughout December.

Most celebrity Christmas albums play it fairly close to the vest with the singers doing a variety of traditional songs with mostly traditional arrangements. Voodoo Daddy's Christmas album is delightfully different: it's a Voodoo Daddy album first, and a Christmas album only secondarily.

About half the songs on here are more or less holiday staples, but they are done in Voodoo Daddy's distinctly upbeat swing rhythm that will get your toes tapping and make you want to put on your dancing shoes. The rest are new (at least to me), and they sound like most Voodoo Daddy songs about partying and having a good time, oh, and by the way, Santa Claus just happens to be partying right along side of you.

So, next year, if you want a respite from hearing one celebrity after another singing "Joy to the World," put this CD into the mix and it will definitely liven up any holiday party.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2016
Love the Big Bad Voodoo Daddy Christmas CDs! The music is even better in concert! A must buy for those who crave the songs that are rarely played on the radio as well as their own singles. Worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
This is technically Big Bad VooDoo Daddy's first Christmas album. I say "technically" because their second record was titled "Watchu' Want For Christmas". However, that record was only six songs and only half of those were actually Christmas songs. The three songs from that record that WERE Christmas songs are repeated here, in re-recorded versions. Anyway, this album is a lot of fun, with Christmas music played in the neo-swing style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this based upon the fact that it includes a decent version of the "Heat Miser" song from Year without a Santa Claus (the original, not the horrible remake). Now, since they have different singers than on the cartoon, it's not identical, but the music and tone is the same, and over all it's great.

What's nice here is you get 10-11 tracks of Christmas tunes- either widely different and very cool renditions of holiday favorites, or songs you have never heard before. If you like Christmas music, but are tired of the same-old-same-old, then this is for you.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
It was okay, one or two little surprises. But I was saddened I didn't enjoy it as much as a couple other BBVD albums I own. Perhaps I'm just not a fan of secular Christmas music? BBVD is still awesome I just wasn't super enraptured by this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
I already have several Big Bad Voodoo Daddy albums, but didn't know they recorded a Christmas album until recently. Even people who don't like Christmas music will like this. "Is Zat You, Santa Claus" and "Christmastime In Tinsel Town" are fun songs, done in the band's signature swing style. The band puts its own spin on the more traditional songs included here, like "Jingle Bells" and "We Three Kings". Put it on your list for next Christmas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2015
LOVE Big Bad Voodoo Daddy! Went to their live Christmas show in 2014! Came right home and ordered this CD. SO NICE to hear some original Christmas music and not just the same old thing you hear on the radio every year!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
If you like Brian Seltzer's Christmas specials, then you'll like this too. I had never heard of this group before it came up when I was searching the newest Seltzer. I tried it out and it had that big band sound too....Only missing Brian's great guitar playing, but still worth getting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
I love this CD, especially track #3. I lost my last copy during a move. So happy to fnd it here!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$1.29
$9.49

Need customer service? Click here