Kindle Price: $1.99

Save $24.01 (92%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel by [Mejia, Mindy]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 244 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$1.99

Length: 352 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $10.90 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"An excellent book full of surprises, fans will be thrilled to find that this is one tale that falls into that very slim category of rare 'one-day' reads." (Suspense Magazine)

"Engaging . . . Readers will look forward to further work from this talented author." (Publishers Weekly)

"Ms. Mejia displays the enviable ability and assurance of such contemporaries as Megan Abbott and Laura Lippman in convincingly charting inter-generational passion and angst." (The Wall Street Journal)

"A suspenseful and heart-wrenching thriller about ambition, obsession, and what happens when the lies we tell about ourselves become indistinguishable from the truth." (Robin Wasserman, author of GIRLS ON FIRE )

"In the spirit of The Lovely Bones and Everything I Never Told You…compelling." (Marie Claire)

"Readers will surely find this unsettling, character-driven descent into secret desires and hidden faces everything they wanted to see from a talented writer and then some." (Shelf Awareness)

"Buckle up for this killer mystery in which identity, truth, and self-discovery take some fatal turns." (Bustle)

"A haunting story with suffocating tension that will crawl deep beneath your skin without you realizing until it's over. Highly recommended to the fans of a well done psychological thriller; I'm not sure if I should consider this one of my top reads of 2016 or 2017—maybe both!" (The Suspense is Thrilling Me)

"Terrific . . . If even a 10th of the thrillers published in 2017 are as good as EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE, we're in for some great reading." (Pioneer Press)

"Everything You Want Me to Be is a fast read with a bright, clean style. The ending should launch some ferocious debates." (New York Journal of Books)

"Twisty . . . a page-turner, and compelling." (Minneapolis Star-Tribune)

“As the suspense piles up with each passing page, readers will race to the finish line where Mindy Mejia saves her best twist for the end. Everything You Want Me To Be is a mesmerizing psychological thriller that is, in fact, everything you want it to be.” (The Real Book Spy)

"Mindy Mejia's evocative and provocative mystery . . . . makes for a sophisticated and wicked whodunit." (Milwaukee Journal Sentinel)

"A book with a point and a purpose and something to say about young women and small towns and sexuality . . ." (Lit Reactor)

“In all honesty this is one of the best books I’ve read all year of any genre.” (Goodreads, 5 Stars)

“Absolutely the number one book for 2017 . . . Trust me, you don’t want to miss this amazing story.” (Goodreads, 5 Stars)

“5 stars.” (Goodreads)

“I loved this book! I now understand the term book crack! This book was utterly addicting.” (Goodreads, 5 Stars)

“I read this book in less than 5 hours which must give you a clue how fast paced & fantastic of a read it is! So many emotions, thoughts, characters, ideas all rolled up into one fascinating book! Loved it!” (Goodreads, 5 Stars)

“WOW. Just WOW. The cover lured me in, but the story kept me up all night and into the morning . . . Tremendous, and 5 stars, easy.” (NetGalley)

“A haunting story with suffocating tension . . . Highly recommended to the fans of a well done psychological thriller; I’m not sure if I should consider this one of my top reads of 2016 or 2017—or maybe both!” (NetGalley)

“Start 2017 with this five star read.” (Bookseller )

“If you’re looking for the next captivating thriller that everyone will be comparing to Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train, this is it!” (Bookseller )

“Mindy is a master at keeping you riveted to your seat with an ending that is impossible to predict. Totally believable characters and a great mystery make this a thriller you won’t want to miss!” (Bookseller )

“I finished Everything You Want Me to Be well over two weeks ago and have been tongue-tied as to accurately describe just how much I LOVE this book.” (Bookseller )

“SO good. So dark and twisty with such nuanced characters and flexible definitions of good, evil, and passion.” (Bookseller )

“What a wonderful read . . . Challenging and entertaining and very, very difficult to put down.” (Bookseller )

"This book was perfection . . . you just can't look away . . . ALL THE STARS!" (NetGalley, 5 Stars)

"This story is also an expertly-crafted whodunit, a mystery that grips the reader and won't let go . . . Brilliantly plotted, perfectly executed, this novel rates 5 1/2 stars." (NetGalley)

"I have not read anything as addicting in a very long time." (NetGalley, 5 Stars)

"A one sitting read with a completely thrilling twist! Highly recommend!" (Goodreads, 5 Stars)

"Once I reached the 60% mark in this book, give or take a percentage point or two, there was no way I was going to stop until I reached the end. Yeah, folks, it's that good." (NetGalley, 5 Stars)

"Mejia's novel is full of suspense, intrigue and twists at every turn. The reader is transported into three different worlds as they try to figure out who committed a horrendous crime. Told from three different perspectives, this is a fantastic read that wastes no time in drawing the reader into the story." (RT Book Reviews)

"5 out of 5 stars . . . Completely startling thriller . . . an unputdownable whodunit." (Lollipops Books)

"Take Gone Girl with Girl on the Train and mix in a little teen angst from Dare You by Megan Abbott and you have this one wrapped up in a nutshell." (Fluff, Smut, & Murder)

"Wow, What a roller coaster ride this one was! I'm really excited about this book and I predict that it will be a standout in 2017. . . The ending is explosive, shocking and completely unpredictable and oh so satisfying. Rating: 5/5." (NovelGossip)

"Holy cow! What a book! Easily one of my top 5 books this year! You will not be able to put this one down." (LaLa Life)

"EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE is in all sense of the word a page-turner. I couldn't put this book down. If it wasn't for work and personal obligations, I would have read this book from start to finish without eating." (Reading Books Like A Boss Blog)

"This is damn good . . . . This is definitely one to check out if you're into character-driven mystery stories or if you are in the mood for a psychologically-rich story with lots of seeeecrets." (Goodreads, 4 Stars)

"Everything You Want Me to Be (Emily Bestler Books) by Mindy Mejia grabbed me by the throat and didn’t let go until I finished the book. It was the quickest three-hundred-plus pages I think I’ve ever read!" (Write On Cindy)

"Edgy, evocative and addictively twisty—Mejia's tautly written narrative explores the deadly tangle of love, identity and manipulation . . . Fans of Ruth Ware and Mary Kubica will love this." (Vilma's Book Blog)

"This is a truly fantastic book and I highly recommend it to fellow readers . . . I promise, you will not be disappointed in this finely crafted masterpiece!" (Pretty Little Books)

"A story of misplaced affection, human frailties and ferocities, and the dark corners that all of those pinwheel emotions can take us to in the name of love." (Generation G Books)

"Masterfully written, captivating and unpredictable."  (Fort Madison Daily Democrat)

"Overall, EVERYTHING YOU WANT ME TO BE is an addicting page-turning tale about innocence, culpability, and manipulation. It’s a surprisingly quick read with a share of twists and turns that will keep you guessing until the final chapters."  (Comma Hangover)

About the Author

Mindy Mejia received her MFA from Hamline University. Her debut novel, The Dragon Keeper, was published by Ashland Creek Press in 2012. The granddaughter of Minnesota farmers, she lives in the Twin Cities with her husband and two children.

Product details

  • File Size: 3450 KB
  • Print Length: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books (January 3, 2017)
  • Publication Date: January 3, 2017
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01D8VHOY2
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,705 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Thriller Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on January 5, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
review image
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Everything You Want Me to Be: A Novel

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?