Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 141 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 199 reviews
on July 18, 2016
The verbal section of the MCAT is about practice. Add this baby in with computer based practice. Just keep practicing and honestly you can do well or do better. I got accepted and you can too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
It's not bad for practicing your timing going through the passages but the EK method for going through the passage based questions didn't really work for me when I tried them on non-EK verbal practice sections. I found that the real MCAT didn't phrase the questions the same way as EK did, which makes their method not very useful for answering questions on the actual exam.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
Best way to study for MCAT verbal is to pretty read passages and do questions. This book has a good amount of passages but still not enough but the difficulty is a little higher which is a plus during MCAT prep I believe. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
I just got this book. Can anyone (seriously) explain the "raw score conversion" on page 443. This indicates that a score of 60 corresponds to a '15', a score of 37-40 corresponds to '8'. There are only 40 questions in a single test. There are no additional instructions or explanations regarding this conversion system. Either this whole page is an error, or I am missing something so obvious that I don't even deserve to take the MCAT.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2016
This was by far the best practice book I came across for the New MCAT's Verbal Reasoning section. There is a lot of material in this book, which should keep most people occupied and satisfied throughout their preparation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
This book didn't help me that much with my verbal score. I think honestly that verbal is something you have to work at for years in preparation for the MCAT. Read, read, read from many types of writing. This is something I wish I did more of throughout college. MCAT format is changing so this book will probably be obsolete anyway. With that said, I didn't find any other verbal book that was any better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2014
Has errors and poor choice of questions/answers. The book is riddled with errors, including the first set of answers, which distracts a lot from studying efforts. AAMC practice exams will be much more helpful for working with passages. Cheers
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
This book is good for practicing the timing and other verbal strategies such as gathering the main ideas and predicting, but that is all this book is good for. There are many typos including labeling correct answers as incorrect and then later labeling them as correct in another place. The reasoning for some of the question's correct and incorrect answers is weak at best. Contrary to what the book will tell you the questions are not on par with the ones seen on actual AAMC exams. The questions in this book tend to be much more ambiguous often with answers only faintly supported by reason.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2017
This book is absolute GARBAGE. The questions and explanations don't come anywhere close to AAMC's. I wasted way too much time answering their practice tests and going over their faulty logic. PLEASE do yourself a favor and use the official AAMC material and TPRH verbal instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2015
I scored in the 99.9% percentile on the old MCAT exam pre-2015. I attribute this success largely to EK. As an MCAT tutor, the new test is not very different and although EK has not put out their new 1001 questions, when they do, they will once again be the go to source for all matters MCAT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse