Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 221 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 418 reviews
on May 24, 2017
I am a fan of James Rollins. His style is gripping and based loosely upon facts, combined with some fiction. A fast and enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2016
Not one of the better novels Mr. Rollins has written, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
Another great story from Rollins. Intriguingly tantalizing, suspenseful and sprinkled with science and history, this story is a wonderful read. I literally could not put it down.
What starts out as an archaeological dig quickly turns into a disaster. Dual stories on opposite sides of the earth come together to make for a phenomenal finale.
Love Rollins' style. He can make the most outlandish story line exciting and believable.
If you enjoy exciting action with some science fiction thrown in then you will love this story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2016
I decided to give this book a try, since the summary sounded interesting. I am so glad that I did. The book was fantastic. I usually don't like when a story jumps from one character's POV to another, but this book wouldn't have worked any other way. There were plenty of thrills and chills, and the entire premise was very interesting. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys thrillers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2014
An exploration under the Antarctica that takes you for a ride of a lifetime. You meet people from a different life span and find their community surviving in the caves. The dwellers did not have a lot of unrest as they had to work together to survive. A lot of intrigue and frighting animals trying to kill the explorers, and find when they return to the surface they find a military takeover going on. Lots of action and hard to put the book down. I lost a lot of sleep trying to find out what was going to happen next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2016
Will definitely be reading this book again. I bought it used and it was in excellent condition. James Rollins has a great way of hooking you in quickly and making you want to finish the book as soon as possible. I love that his endings make you wonder what could happen next, but don't leave you mad with a huge lack of details.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
This is an older book than the others I've read of James Rollins' and it was still every bit as good as his more recent releases. The characters, as always, are easy to fall in love with, developed just the right amount. The only thing missing from Excavation was the Fact v. Fiction part that is usually at the end of his books. This could be because it is 100% fiction as stated in the forward, but there were definitely some scientific concepts that are real, so some expansion on that would have been cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2000
I bought this "page-turner" after having enjoyed "Thunderhead" by Lincoln Childs and Douglas Preston. I was not seeking Great Literature, but merely another lightweight archaeological thriller appropriate for vacation reading. *Excavation* is indeed an action-packed tale that occurs in an exotic locale, the Peruvian Andes; so far, so good. However, as I compulsively turned those pages, I ultimately found myself more annoyed than entertained by Rollins' saga.
You see, I believe there is such a thing as too much action and too outlandish a plot, and this book represents a perfect example. There are so many Indiana Jones-esque booby-traps, heretofore unknown menacing creatures, blood-curdling screams, and in-the-nick-of-time escapes that the whole thing actually becomes laughable after a while. The last straw for me was not so much the screaming naked ape-bear-cannibals nor the roving killer mob of albino tarantulas. No, it was the inclusion of a gratuitous passage in which a large bat gets tangled in the female protagonist's hair. The bat-in-the-hair bummer is possibly the oldest nature myth around, and yet Rollins actually saw fit to throw it in here. Has he no shame?
Meanwhile, the characters are one-dimensional and wooden, veritable cardboard cutouts about whom I found it difficult to care. The romantic interest aspects of the book are downright corny, with the highly predictable trajectory of the two heroes' love relationships portrayed in formulaic, clichéd fashion.
Overall, I might recommend this book to a very young reader who is attracted to stories composed of frenetic, nonstop 'action' without the necessity of a lot of heart or intelligence. But everyone else beware: this book makes Childs and Preston seem like Faulkner and Hemingway by comparison.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2017
The book had the last 20 pages missing. Plot wise: It is like any other James Rollins book, the story line is catchy however the character development needs work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$6.44
$5.56

Need customer service? Click here