Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

An Excess of Pleasure / The Winged Lion Original recording reissued

5.0 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Original recording reissued, August 1, 2008
"Please retry"

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Unlimited Streaming with Amazon Prime Start your 30-day free trial to stream millions of songs FREE with Amazon Prime. Start your free trial.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Aria Sopra La Bergamasca
  2. Ayres For The Violin: Aria Spagnuola A Due Corde
  3. Diverse Bizzarie Sopra La Vecchia Sarabanda O Pur Ciaconna
  4. Broken Consort In D: Pavan
  5. Ayre
  6. Galliard
  7. Ayre
  8. Saraband
  9. Divisions On John Come Kiss Me Now
  10. Sonata In A: Slow
  11. (Untitled)
  12. Brisk
  13. Sonata
  14. Ciaconna
  15. Scots Airs: Auld Bob Morrice
  16. Lady Ann Bothwell's Lament
  17. Sleepy Body
  18. Ayres For The Violin: Andamento Con Divisione
  19. Aria
  20. Grave
  21. Ground In D
  22. Two In One Upon A Ground
  23. Bizzarie All'Imor Scozzeze

Disc: 2

  1. Sonata Duodecima
  2. Ciaconna
  3. Sonata Quarto
  4. Concerto In F Major RV 100: Allegro
  5. Untitled
  6. Allegro
  7. Suite: Gagliarda Seconda
  8. Corrente Terza e Quarta
  9. Brando Terza
  10. Avanti Il Brando
  11. Brando Quarto
  12. Canzon
  13. El Amor
  14. La Jota
  15. Sonata a Tre
  16. Concerto In D Major RV 84: Untitled
  17. Largo
  18. Allegro
  19. Aria Undecima Detta Il Caporal Simon
  20. Aria Decimaquarta Sopra La Mia Pedrina
  21. Aria Decimaquinta Sopra Le Scatola Da Gli Agghi

Product Details

  • Performer: Palladian Ensemble
  • Composer: Various Artists
  • Audio CD (August 1, 2008)
  • Imported ed. edition
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Format: Original recording reissued
  • Label: Alliance
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #439,030 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Sid Nuncius TOP 500 REVIEWER on March 18, 2011
This is a really good double CD reissue of two of the Palladian Ensemble's discs from 1993 and 1994. These recordings have attracted several prestigious awards (including two Diapasons d'Or) and they sound as good now as they did when they were first issued.

The music is taken from the 17th Century repertoire of pieces for two melody instruments and basso continuo, the two melody instruments here being violin and recorder or flute. The effect is a delight - charming and exciting by turns - and the programme is rich and varied. The Venice Collection seems an odd name for this compilation: although the second disc (The Winged Lion) is Venetian, the first (An Excess Of Pleasure) is of music by English composers and Italians who lived and worked in England or whose pieces were sold and played there. However named, the music is uniformly excellent - some by very famous composers like Vivaldi or Purcell, some by much less well-known composers. It's a really enjoyable collection.

The playing is simply terrific. The four musicians here are the original members of the ensemble: Rachel Podger, Pamela Thorby, Joanna Levine and William Carter, all of whom are outstandingly good and who play together with real empathy and obvious enjoyment of each other. The effect is to bring already very good music to life wonderfully, and the joy and enthusiasm in these discs is utterly infectious. I love them.

The recorded sound (as one would expect from Linn) is excellent, the packaging attractive and the notes full and interesting. It's an excellent set all round and very warmly recommended.
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
The reviewer who preceded me here sums it up exquisitely, and that same word in adjective form certainly applies to this reissue set. There's really little for me to add. The music is marvelous and the small ensemble renditions just delightful. These are warm pieces, alternately sprightly and plaintively reflective, and as that other reviewer noted, the sound is excellent. Highly recommended.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category