Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition $99.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 30, 2011
While there is no new "game changing" idea in the book, it is a good compilation of no-nonsense, practical ideas. Also, I like books that are less than 200 pages long. This book qualifies. The chapters are definitely single sitting reads, so it is easy to read this book is steps without losing continuity.
I am withholding 1 star (ideally I'd have given it a 3.5) because I did ask myself "Is this it?" after finishing the book. May be few months from now I will feel that that is indeed the case, but for now I was looking for insights I had not seen elsewhere.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2003
This book is unquestionably the best organized, to the point, and clearly stated book Debra has written. In this book, Debra offers the "keys to the kingdom" for maximizing personal presence. Folks who take the time to learn and use the material in this book will undoubtedly finish the book a better person than when they started. Considering the positive feedback that I myself have received since applying the techniques in the book, there's no question of its immense value.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2016
Bought this for a class Benton taught. Great read, and she is great to hear talk and learn from!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
Great book, easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2009
I've read this book several years ago, but I still take it out every now and then and review my notes. D.Benton's books on leadership and personal branding are never outdated. She teaches you confidence, challenges you to achieve so much more and explains how your personal brand will help you achieve success and stand out. So many tips in every one of her books!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2009
This was a good read.
There is no such thing as a silver bullet to political or organizational problems, but this was interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2008
The techniques written in this book should be practiced every day by every single person in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2003
D.A. Benton's Executive Charisma is the sort of book you might hate to love. Just like her previous books How to Think Like a C.E.O., and How to Act Like a C.E.O., this is a quick-reading, bullet-pointed, favorite at airport book stores around the world. But despite the initial appearances, Benton is an experienced executive coach who delivers much more than the simplistic titles and the dumbed-down prose seem to promise at first glance.
Everyone knows that recovering from addiction requires 12 steps, but Benton has reduced being an effective corporate leader to just six. As you read Benton's research and real-life anecdotes about such steps as, "stand tall, straight, and smile," or the slightly more challenging "slow down, shut up, and listen," you might constantly find yourself thinking, "I already know all this; this is common sense; or, this is too simple to be of any value to me." Just wait. By naming and then re-framing certain key success behaviors in a totally non-threatening way Benton's book may subtly change your perception of yourself and others. Suddenly you will notice these key behaviors everywhere; or perhaps worse, you will notice their absence everywhere. Most importantly, you may find that her key ideas are like cheerful pop songs, once you've heard them you can't get out of your head. They may actually start helping you remember to change the way you behave - which is the point after all.
This is a great book to share with leadership "high potentials," or to give people struggling with particular success behaviors. Especially useful in our Turkish business context is Benton's step two : "expect and give acceptance to maintain self esteem." This advice alone is worth an entire volume. Readers in Asia and the Middle East also need to take some of Benton's suggestions with a grain of salt. Her experience is almost entirely grounded in the American business culture, and as a result, some of her suggestions -- such as "ask questions and ask favors" -- may have slightly different impacts for us than they do for her target audience of American middle managers.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2006
Deborah Benton is a serious student of what makes successful business people successful, and her book 'How to Think Like a CEO" reflects the seriousness and depth of her work there.

This book, on the other hand, is a very long hike for a very small picnic. She has essentially re-worked very familiar ground for her into a book that simply doesn't have enough to say to fill its length.

There are times, for example, when while reading, one realizes that the last paragraph has been nothing but semi-connected quotes from people in the large archive of Ms. Benton's interview files. It doesn't really go together and it doesn't really make any new points.

I would strongly recommend 'How to Think Like a CEO' but I would definitely not recommend this book.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon February 29, 2004
Remember everything your mother told you. Stand up straight. Pull your shoulders back. Be outgoing. Smile. If you've forgotten these lessons, this is for you. It's not what you know, it's who you know - and what they think and feel about you - that makes all the difference in your career. Be human. Ask for favors. Ask for information. Pitch in. Have a sense of humor. Speak slowly and listen carefully. Author D.A. Benton's presumably deep, probing interviews with 500 executives convinced her that charisma isn't inborn. She believes that everyone can learn to be charismatic. Just follow the six steps that can turn even the most repulsive excuse for a manager into a charming, charismatic executive. So, read this and practice. There's no harm in it, and it might do some good. However, while recommending this basic manual, suspects that the nature of charisma is a bit like the way a jazz musician explained the nature of jazz - if you have to ask what it is, you'll never know.
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse