Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 380 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 456 reviews
on February 4, 2016
This is the first book in Philip Margolin's Dana Cutler series. I enjoyed it immensely and read all but the last few pages in one sitting. Dana Cutler, an ex-policewoman is now a private detective who is asked to follow a young college student, Charlotte Walsh, and to report her travels and actions back to the person who asked her to take the case. The young woman is working for the competitor of the President of the United States, who is up for re-election, Charles Farrington. Dana follows her to a dark corner of a mall where she sees her meet, of all people, the President himself. To Dana's horror, the next morning Charlotte Walsh's mutilated, dead body is found, and Dana becomes a suspect since she was seen there the night before. When Pres.Farrington was governor, a similar murder happened to a teenage girl who worked with him. The awful question crosses Dana's mind that what if the president could be a serial killer? The murder of Charlotte is attributed to the D.C.Ripper. The question arises why did the president have such young girls working for him?

Across the country in Oregon a young lawyer is taking the case of a man who is on death row for a series of murders, but is trying to exonerate himself of one he declares he didn't do. Even though he will still be executed, he doesn't want to die for one that he didn't commit. Clarence Little swears he didn't kill the young girl who was working for then governor Charles Farrington but has been framed. Young lawyer, Brad Miller has a difficult case on his hands just as Dana Cutler does when all fingers point to the highest position in the land.

This is a fast-moving book with a lot of characters that I tend to get mixed up. Thus the four stars. However, it is an excellently written legal thriller that is fast paced and one I liked a lot. This book has been waiting patiently on my bookshelf for quite a while and it's about time that I read it. I'm very glad I did!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2015
Welcome to Dana Cutler's world and, oh, what a world it is. Dana lives in DC. She was a cop, a bit damaged, and is now a PI. So, what could be the big deal with Cutler surveilling a college co-ed who works on a political campaign? Plenty, especially after the co-ed is found dead. To complicate matters, add in Brad Miller, a new attorney from Portland, who is assigned a pro bono case of someone on death row who reveals a huge political bombshell.

There you have it. You might be in for a good ride when the case Cutler is following collides with Miller's assignment. All-in-all, Margolin delivers great political drama as the president seeking re-election becomes a murder suspect. Is there, after all is said and done, an executive privilege allowing the mighty and powerful to escape responsibility for their actions? Or is he being framed?

While the characters are very good and the plot and sub-plots keep one involved in the story, the main drawback with this tale is the somewhat predictable ending, though that is not enough to make me say that I did not enjoy reading the book. Because, as it turns out, I did enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
Very interesting. Timely at election time.
Well written and a very enjoyable read.
Certainly would recommend.
Looking forward to reading the next nook in this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2013
Several young women murdered, not one but two serial killers, an idealistic attorney, political maneuvering, and a rogue PI come together in this political thriller.

Washington, DC, ex-cop and PI Dana Cutler is handed an assignment by a local lawyer with high level connections in political circles. The client is anonymous, but the job seems simple enough: follow an American University co-ed and report on her movements. Where the co-ed goes is somewhere that takes Dana smack into a secret meeting she'd be better off not knowing about. Her instincts prove to be correct when a couple of goons show up at her apartment with deadly intentions. If that wasn't enough of a clue that she's in over her head, the co-ed she had been following turns up dead in a Dumpster in suburban Maryland the next morning.

There are enough twists, turns, and surprises in this book to take it out of the category of a run-of-the-mill political thriller. Shades of "Silence of the Lambs" hints of "The Manchurian Candidate" and even a small touch of Woodward and Burnstein-like investigative journalism are sliced, diced, and blended to create an action packed page-turner of a novel that goes coast to coast both figuratively and literally taking the reader along for a wild ride.

Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
Dana Cutler is hired to follow a young female intern who works for a campaign headquarters. She is hired by an attorney who won't divulge his client's name to the P.I. he hires to follow this young woman. But Dana can use the job and follows the young woman out to a country estate where she is shocked to see who she meets. She has to hit the road to save her very life when she's discovered. Meanwhile a young lawyer working across the country in a prestigious law firm is assigned to meet with a serial killer who claims he didn't kill ONE of the victims he's accused of killing. Why this law firm has taken the pro-bono case was a weakness in the plot but the young atty goes into the evidence and begins to think the serial killer is right. It won't get the killer off death row but the atty decides the best way to get his client cleared of this one murder is to find out who the real murderer is. How do these two stories tie together? Well it does, and it's a fun all-nighter. So be sure you have the time, when you start the book because it's hard to put down. I don't remember there being anything inappropriate so I think I can recommend it to just about anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
All writers of mystery and suspense stories leave you a trail of breadcrumbs, either intentionally or otherwise, that lead you to figure out "who done it and how". You will think that you have this one figured out, but YOU'RE WRONG. Margolin keeps the action and the plot twists going rapidly enough that you won't want to put the book down. He's a new author to me and I'm so glad I found him. The main characters are complex and well developed. You really empathize with the P.I., but the murderer on death row is absolutely loathsome. Margolin's account of the interviews with the murderer create a chilling picture of a psychopath. Then there's the lawyer who fled across the country to escape the memories of a broken relationship.

The plot is thick and meaty, and at times I had to put the book down so that I could settle down enough to get some sleep. The only downside to the book is that it ends! AAAHHHHHH! I'll have to buy more of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
It has a hot, kick butt, female PI, a couple of ethical lawyers, a few unethical lawyers, some great action, an interesting Detective and a couple of terrific FBI agents. Oh yeah, it has, as the primary suspect, THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES. This is a wonderful book I got on my Kindle.

I live 4 blocks from the beautiful, bikini laden, Caribbean where the weather is mostly perfect. I felt so guilty sitting on my porch reading Executive Privilege but I could not stop reading it to go to the beach! yeah, it's that good.

So much mystery, so much action, a little (not too much, but just right) romance. Great characters and, many, from the highest levels of our Government. A lot of surprises (especially the ending). The twists and turns will make you dizzy.

I'll be reading more books by Phillip Margolin for sure....

Read this book.....then meet me on the beach for a tequila so we can talk about how great it is
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2017
Phillip Margolin does it again! Too bad he's not a politician he would definitely get my vote!!!! His characters are fabulous!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2013
I read an earlier review that hammered the book's ending as being too simplistic. However, I do not share that thought and completely enjoyed Phillip Margolin's storyline! I think in most stories reviewers can certainly find "nick picks" and "Executive Privilege" has a couple. For example, I think it most improbable that anyone would simply drop off a beautiful woman late at night in an abandoned mall parking lot then just drive off before making sure her car was started and moving. Especially a Secret Service Agent, but other than giving me a smile, it didn't affect the book's building suspense.

I enjoy books written by criminal defense attorneys like Margolin as they always bring in subtle details that reflect their insights through experience. Phillip Margolin spins a good tale and generates plenty of empathy for several of his characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
If you have never read a Phillip Margolin book, you are in for a treat. If you've read him before but missed this one what are you waiting for? It's free! How sweet is that?

Good pacing, good character development, an ending that you might or might not see coming.

NO formating issues (this is my pet peeve with Kindle books) in the main story; however, this offers a preview of his forthcoming book and I just could not believe the misspellings (Although they are slight, they are deadly. For example: of for off) and the mysterious missing letter T thoughout the preview. Hopefully this will be better proofed and edited before it's turned into a Kindle ebook (and before going to press).

Like I said, snag it while it's free. You won't be sorry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse