Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 182 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 409 reviews
on April 24, 2016
I give 5 stars for the way paranoid pictures was able to get it together and tell the story well. The movie itself is good, a very interesting window into the world of both street artists and obsessive human beings. It does a good job portraying how everybody is not cut from the same fibers concerning art, why it interests them, and why they do it. It also shows you how some artists use their art as a way to bolster or reinforce their ego, while to others it is a from of expression that they don't necessarily do for other people, even if it is in public. I'd recommend it to those who appreciate the work of people like Shepard Fairey or Banksy, or those who like underground counterculture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
Funny, sharply satiric documentary about the modern art world, especially
that of the street/graffiti artists who now command hundreds of thousands
for their work.

The film started out as a documentary about street artists like Banksy, being
made by a very eccentric unknown amateur French film-maker, without much
obvious talent. But somewhere along the way, the tables turned, and Banksy
took over and made the film about the film-maker, who himself finds success
(still not showing much talent) as a street artist.

Endearingly weird, perhaps partly a set-up or a put on (who could know?) this
is almost like an Andy Kaufman performance piece.

But along with the laughs, it has something serious to say about "what is art" and
the awful interaction between art and commerce that can drain all the art from "art".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
Funny, sharply satiric documentary about the modern art world, especially
that of the street/graffiti artists who now command hundreds of thousands
for their work.

The film started out as a documentary about street artists like Banksy, being
made by a very eccentric unknown amateur French film-maker, without much
obvious talent. But somewhere along the way, the tables turned, and Banksy
took over and made the film about the film-maker, who himself finds success
(still not showing much talent) as a street artist.

Endearingly weird, perhaps partly a set-up or a put on (who could know?) this
is almost like an Andy Kaufman performance piece.

But along with the laughs, it has something serious to say about "what is art" and
the awful interaction between art and commerce that can drain all the art from "art".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2016
Fans of this movie will enjoy the little "gifts" that you get with this version. The "2D glasses" are fun. They have a rainbow/kaleidoscope effect when the wearer looks at any source of light. This version also comes with two stickers and two postcards - also very fun.
The Region description for this DVD read "All Regions."
Wasn't entirely confident in this description. But, for anyone with similar suspicions - don't worry, it DOES play in a Region 1 DVD player.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2015
A friend recommended watching Exit Through the Gift Shop, but I held out for awhile. Finally after a lazy Saturday afternoon, I saw it pop up on my Amazon Prime Instant Video and decided to give it a go. Long store short, I found it intriguing and loved it! This documentary is about the inception of how a street artist -- Mister Brainwash -- seemingly becomes a "hit" over night; you see his progression from amateur videographer, in the loosest way, filming anything and everything, to following street artists such as Banksy, to becoming a street artist himself. It's definitely an interesting watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
I saw the Celebration cover of Madonna's CD and thought "looks ugly compared to her other covers". Did not think anymore about it until surprised to see it pop up at the end of this documentary. This is a good peek at street art and also a unique inside look at the art world. I can't decide if I am more astonished at MBW's sheer audacity and utter lack of talent OR the pretentiousness of those buying his work. Thank you Banksy for this film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 19, 2010
Much like the elusive UK graphitti artist himself this super documentary, loosely focused on 'street art' is hard to catch. I missed it for a very brief arthoise run in New Orleans theaters and now it is already listed ad out-of-stock on Amazon. I feared this limit release and preordered, don't give up, keep checking here for it, it is worth it. I'd highly recommend it, although it is on instant in Netflix independent genres I'd further recommend getting the DvD like we did, because it comes with Banksy decals & postcards also in the extras: the original movie the French "film-maker" (who is the film's real focus ) made before Banksy concludes the Frenchman may be mentally ill & made his own movie. Tje film's footage contains behind the scenes of actual street outtings with Banksy, Invader even Shepard Fairey ( the real force whether it be tounge-cheek, behind much of Obama's underground success as a presidential contender). Amazing studio footage and bits you may have seen on YouTube and wondered "where and how did they get this?"...somewhat explained before Banksy turns tables and makes his own movie while making his own monster, turning
a quirky wouldbe movie maker into a street art sensation M.B.W. I can't recommend this movie enough....get one ...OBEY.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
Probably the best "discussion" of the definition of art I've come across.

The best answer I ever heard is the dumbest: art is what artists make. Therefore an artist whose qualified in the eyes of others as an artist, is an an artist, and makes art. But what about Theiry? Banksy said it best when he listed 3 options to explain the phenomenon of Mr. Brainwash when he said a) Perhaps he was a genius all along b) He got incredibly lucky or c) Art is a big joke.

It's sickening and amazing all at once. You're happy for him and hate him for it. This documentary always leaves me spinning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2011
I know there is a lot of controversy surrounding this movie whether it is true or not, but leaving that out of the review this is a great movie either way. I have always been a huge Banksy fan so I went and saw this movie in the theaters when it came to the states, it is a really great story, regardless of if it is true or not. The movie shows off how talented street artists are, I haven't got a chance to watch all of the special features but there is a short documentary just about Banksy that I got a chance to watch and it is really great. In the dvd case (which looks like a piece of artwork in itself) you get two postcards that are Banksy artworks, a pair of star glasses and a sticker, all this alone makes the movie worth the purchase. This is a must own movie for any fan of street art, documentaries, or movies in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
I already owned the movie, and I was purchasing this copy for a friend. My copy is the digipak all cardboard packaging with the Mr. Brainwash swag inside the sleeve, which I thought was so cool. So, I was expecting the same packaging for THIS copy, and it was just the standard DVD packaging. It still served its purpose. I assume the DVD plays well, but don't know for sure, since it was a gift. But I was really disappointed that it was a different packaging, and wish that that had been part of the description for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here