Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on February 22, 2013
I first became acquainted with the story via Leon Uris's novel, Exodus. The actual story is much more dramatic than the fictional account. British behavior during and after World War II, whether under the Conservatives or Labour, was reprehensible. It was characterized by gross anti-semitism and pro-Arab bias (the US was not any better until the end of 1947). The captain of the Exodus was an American - and he was murdered by the Brits in international waters. People who survived Adolph Hitler and the Nazis were shipped back to German concentration camps, only this time with British guards rather than Germans.

The book is well written, originally published in 1947, and I would recommend it toall who are interested in how the current mess in the middle east developed. The Brits screwed up in every area they colonized, whether it was the United States, South Africa, the middle east, India, or Kenya (where about 500,000 Kenyans perished in British concentration camps).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
Long after the novel and movie have taken a back place in our memories, this FACTUAL account of the events that lead up to the voyage of the Exodus, the hardships of the refugees before, during, and after the trip, reminds us of the capacity of the human spirit. The text and the many accompanying pictures are a powerful reminder of events we should never forget.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
I highly recommend this very interesting book to anyone who would want to learn - firsthand - about the Exodus to Israel after WWII. Ruth Gruber is amazing. There are fabulous photos in here - many - it is a quick read, and very informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2012
This is about the world's shame and our shame about wounding our Jewish friends over and over again after the Hell they had already been in. Ruth Gruber tells the story with clarity and compassion. Excellent book, stuck forever in my memory.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
This book has rare photos showing everyday life in Jewish detention camps run by the British. Ruth Gruber tells the story in pictures when she is able to interview the people. When she can't interview them, she writes the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
First hand account of remarkable survival and offers a great insight as to the Israell people. The fact that the author was there adds historic authenticity. Written in a very objective manner. Haunting photos
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
I read this book with a surface knowledge of the topic. This book took me into the details of the birth of a nation. Since I like history, especially world history from 1900 to 1980, I found this book to meet my interests. The threads that started at the end of the second world war became important issues in my life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
Wonderful photos by a great lady who tells it as I believe it happened. Gruber is a remarkable woman with an incredible story to tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
OK, but if you know the history, then not a lot of new info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
An excellent story of the road to Israel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse