Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

  • List Price: $17.95
  • Save: $5.10 (28%)
FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Exposure (Twisted Lit) has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: (COVER: MEDIUM WEAR) (PAGES: MEDIUM WEAR)
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Exposure (Twisted Lit) Hardcover – January 18, 2013

4.0 out of 5 stars 56 customer reviews
Book 2 of 3 in the Twisted Lit Series

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$12.85
$2.62 $0.01

Best Books of the Year So Far
Looking for something great to read? Browse our editors' picks for the Best Books of the Year So Far in fiction, nonfiction, mysteries, children's books, and much more.
$12.85 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • Exposure (Twisted Lit)
  • +
  • Anyone But You: The Third in the Twisted Lit Series
  • +
  • Tempestuous (Twisted Lit)
Total price: $44.55
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Death, betrayal, ruthless plots to seize the 'crown' - all the seeds of stage tragedy take root and flourish in this clever modern-day homage to Macbeth. High school is rife with just enough passion and treachery to set a suitable stage for some Shakespearean-level drama." --Kirkus Reviews

"Fun-filled escapades into Shakespeare's The Tempest and Macbeth . . . they're an absolute riot! You don't have to be a Shakespeare fan (I'm not) or even have read these plays (I haven't) to fall in love with these books. I can't wait for the next Twisted Lit adventure. It's the best new young adult series of the year!" --Jack and Jill Magazine

"Askew and Helmes' adaptation adds a certain zest to the original play. Through well-paced writing, complicated romance, and a relatable protagonist, the reader has the ability to view a literary classic in a new and enjoyable way. I would recommend Exposure to readers that are interested in modern adaptations of Shakespearean plays in the young adult age group." --Blogcritics

"Exposure clicked with me right away. There's a lot to like in this novel...the events fell into place not by design, but as a series of choices, actions, and reactions that led naturally from each other. Equal parts teen drama and classic adaptation, I could definitely see this actually being a movie on par with 10 Things I Hate About You." --Drown My Books

"In the second book of the Twisted Lit series, Kim Askew and Amy Helmes brings an interesting adaptation of Shakespeare's Macbeth. Overall Exposure is a great read. It says so much about ambition, guilt, betrayal, and love in an enjoyable well-paced story that'll definitely leave you satisfied." --SAB Book Reviews

"After reading the witty and enchanting Tempestuous . . . I was beyond excited to read Exposure. Exposure turned out to be a great follow-up novel . . . fun characters, a little romance, and a tad bit of mystery. Exposure is another fast paced and fun read, perfect for fans of Meg Cabot." --Lauren's Crammed Bookshelf blog

"A fun YA twist on Shakespeare in the same modern vein as the movie 10 Things I Hate About You." --Excellent Library blog

"Shakespeare is hot again. Merit Press . . . is basing two of its first five debut releases on Shakespeare retellings. Tempestuous [is] a humorous reimagining of The Tempest. The Twisted Lit novels hope to . . . make Shakespeare more appealing to today's teens. Expect to see Shakespeare throughout all forms of media in 2013 as a new generation of media consumer rediscovers the timeless literary treasures of William Shakespeare." --Forbes.com

"This is an entertaining read.... Readers don't need to be familiar with the play in order to enjoy this, but students who have read it will appreciate the many Shakespearean references throughout." --School Library Journal

About the Author

Kim Askew, whose work has appeared in Elle and other magazines, is a content manager for the Webby-winning teen site www.FashionClub.com, covering the Teen Choice and MTV awards.



Amy Helmes, coauthor of Boys of a Feather: A Field Guide to American Males, also is a weekly contributor to "The Rundown," a daily e-mail service that keeps subscribers informed on what's new and cool in LA.

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: Twisted Lit (Book 2)
  • Hardcover: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Merit Press (January 18, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1440552614
  • ISBN-13: 978-1440552618
  • Product Dimensions: 1 x 6.2 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (56 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,910,643 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Related Media

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Skye is a bit of a wallflower, a shutterbug who prefers to see life through the lens of her camera instead of from the center of the action. When a student is found dead at a party Skye attends and she knows who might be involved, she has to deal with the idea of being an accessory to murder. As relationships shift and change around her, Skye starts to really take a look at her life, and she doesn't like what she sees. Can she really change herself now, or will harboring her secret destroy her first?

While not as good as Tempestuous (Twisted Lit) was, Exposure was another great retelling of an old classic. Macbeth is probably one of Shakespeare's more difficult stories to try to modernize. While subtle, the homages to Macbeth were cleverly woven into each page. If you go looking for a flashy retelling, then you might be disappointed. Exposure was written in such a way to make a Shakespeare buff smile without alienating someone who has never read Macbeth. I believe that it was done well enough to make it easier to understand if you can match these new characters to their old counterparts.

The characters weren't as nice as I wanted them to be. Skye felt unlikable to me. For her to be "stunning" and not know it, and for her to be so tall and people to just overlook her, it didn't feel realistic. If you are "stunning" and tall and have model potential with a little bit of makeup, then how do people not notice you? Skye actually asks this same question in the book at their Prom. Everyone kept telling her how she was so beautiful and how they didn't recognize her, but what, she was ugly the day before?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Based on Shakespeare's Macbeth instead of The Tempest, this second in the in the Twisted Lit series is a little darker than its predecessor with themes of ambition, deception, murder, and mental illness, but Exposure shares the clear-eyed wit and literate style that made reading Tempestuous such a pleasure. Both books have loose connections with their source play, which is a good thing because it allows each story to evolve in its own natural but sometimes unexpected direction.

With its unusual and starkly beautiful setting of Alaska, Exposure has a wonderful sense of place. It's senior year for high school honor student Skye Kingston, a photographer who prefers dark rooms to digital photography. Photography has helped hone her skills of observation and insight, but before senior year she had a history of hiding behind her camera a little too much. Now she is starting to speak out, especially to Craig, the boy who became her best friend and secret crush when he moved to town the summer before their sophomore year. Once school started, Craig became part of the popular crowd and started dating the intensely controlling Beth, so the friendship Skye shared with Craig went largely underground. Now as a senior Skye is starting to call him on that hypocrisy, and she's coming out of her shell enough to become closer to three artistic and independent minded girls whose bond is based partly on their Eskimo heritage. The varied and interesting characters are one of both book's many joys--I hope there'll be a third Twisted Lit variation.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
After I finished reading Tempestuous by the same authors, I just couldn't wait to read Exposure. I was immensely impressed by the writing style of these two ladies with their first Twisted Lit novel, so naturally I had high expectations of Exposure, and I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. Admittedly, I haven't read Shakespeare's Macbeth, so I can't draw any comparisons to his novel, but on its own, Exposure is - in my opinion - a literary masterpiece. There were so many things I loved about this book I hardly know where to begin.

What instantly drew me into the story was Skye's character. I liked that she wasn't the stereotypical, rich-kid beauty queen with a bevy of followers who ruled the school with an iron fist. Her introverted, behind-the-scenes nature made it easy for me to connect with her, and her daily struggles will strike a chord with many readers. Surprisingly, even though I didn't like her at all, I also felt sympathy for Skye's nemesis, Beth. I appreciated that the authors took the time to develop her character not as a cold-hearted antagonist, but as one with weaknesses and teenage angst, and one who is also a victim of circumstance. Overall I found all the main and supporting characters to be three-dimensional and written with depth in such a skilful manner which allows readers to effortlessly establish that connection on an emotional level, and thus draw them deeper into the story.

Although the blurb may be interpreted as this being a murder mystery, there really is so much more to this multilayered novel than what I originally thought it would be. Skye and Craig go through such transformation in the space of a year, that by the end of the book they aren't the same characters as the ones we meet at the beginning.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Exposure (Twisted Lit)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Exposure (Twisted Lit)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?