Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 14, 2013
I've been reading BP for years now and this is a nice little addendum to the annuals. For a person well-versed in sabremetrics a lot of material in this book is already common knowledge to me, but there were several sections that added to my knowledge and enjoyment of the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2012
This book is a must-have for those interested in all aspects of baseball. The essay format worked really well for me as it allows for analysis and commentary on a wide-range of issues from steroids to Jack Morris (who I'm now convinced doesn't belong in the Hall of Fame). Some chapters are better than others -- the Baseball 101 chapter may be the best while chapter on evaluating managers may be the worst -- but this is an excellent resource overall.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
Baseball Prospectus generally puts out a decent product, but Extra Innings was lacking on actual mathematic/economic/statistical research to back up many of the claims made in the book - especially the chapter on pitcher health and durability.

Not a terrible book, but nothing genuinely interesting, either.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
Great insight and awesome prespective on baseballs most debated topics.. Well worded, do not have to be a sabr guru to grasp the concepts. Topped their 1st installment " between the numbers" which was a classic in itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 15, 2012
I LOOVE detail -- I LOVE taking things apart and learning about their innermost workings -- and i LOOOVE BASEBALL!! This wonderful book is an example of the innermost workings of baseball statistics and why someone with a lousy batting or fielding average JUST MAY BE the one who keeps a team alive and in the standings. Relief pitchers - are they worth their salary? Home Run Hitters -- do they perform for the maximum benefit of their team? Promising recruits -- how are they groomed in the Minors, to become the stars they show the promise of becoming? And WHAT truly makes a GOOD manager!!???

All this (by various authors) and more -- with some wonderful trivia thrown in as well -- I looove this book!!!

Scuze me -- I must sit down with a hot dog a pretzel and a beer and read this book again. Catch me later-- at the 7th Inning Stretch.

Cheers!!
bACEball Ace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2012
I love baseball. While I was at a game with a friend a few years ago, he suggested I check out Baseball Prospectus, and I can't thank him enough for that recommendation. Their books are a must-read for anybody who loves the game. Insightful, entertaining, and well-written.

The newest addition on my bookshelf is Extra Innings. If you are already familiar with Baseball Prospectus, you'll probably buy this book no matter what I have to say about it. But if you've never read one of their previous books, then you should know that you can pick this one up and enjoy it from start to finish. If you're still hesitating, then I suggest you check out the excerpt from Extra Innings that has been published on their free website [...]

I would strongly recommend Baseball Prospectus and Extra Innings for every baseball fan. You can buy it for yourself, of course, but I especially recommend it if you're buying it as a gift for someone else who loves the game.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2012
I've been a fan of Baseball Prospectus since the very first annual and there's something for everyone in Extra Innings whether you've been a diehard follower from the early days or just have recently discovered them. Extra Innings covers a wide variety of topics, from the Steroid Era and its impact on the Hall of Fame to the scouting/development aspect of the game to bullpen management (as a Rangers fan, this cuts deep. Thanks Wash..) and many more topics. The Jazayerli piece on age and the amateur draft is fascinating and could, if it hasn't already, impact the games for years. There's enough here for just about anyone interested in any aspect of the game and the wide variety of authors and styles should keep you entertained for hours.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2012
For anyone who misses Bill James's annual baseball abstracts, this book provides a heavy dose of sabermetrics. The authors explore nuances within the game that any sabermetrician can enjoy. I can't get enough of this stuff. Do yourself a favor and buy this book along with its predecessor from the authors of Baseball Prospectus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
This Book Will Take Baseball To The Next Level and will definitely have something for everyone.

* Latin America drafting
* The Myth of manager Impact
* How ERA and BA are Outdated.
* Tommy John injuries and Pitcher Abuse

And Many more. For a HUGE Baseball Fan, HIGHLY Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
the book came in excellent shape! content was great too.
M
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here