Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 20, 2014
Kate Messner's novel is set in a scary future where the world holds huge thunderstorms and tornadoes. These storms have forced most to move into safe areas with managed weather, but a few rebels hold out, trying desperately to keep their land. I love that there is a female protagonist, Jaden. She is the daughter of a scientist who runs this laboratory and who manages the storms using satellite power.

Jaden, on this her first visit with her father for a long time, manages to interrupt his work and to find his big secret operation is not so nice as she had thought. Action builds time after time as Jaden tried to repair what her father has already started. There are surprises in the book which satisfy and the sidekicks of Jaden who try to warn her that something is not right. There are some scary moments. I suspect if she had been any older, she would have been in even more hot water. It's an interesting idea to use huge storms as one of the ingredients of dystopian survival, to the point that many build 'safe' rooms, something like the old 'root cellars'.

It's a book worth reading, especially for the good science; maybe there is a giant tornado, or three, in our futures.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Well-written and clean, this is a perfect book for tweens today, especially any who are interested in our environment. A bit of science fiction mixed with a family story, as a young girl visits her dad with whom she hasn't been close for several years, she discovers that his scientific work to help control the weather has come much further than she had ever anticipated and is being used in ways that horrify her. She has to take action, but will it destroy the new relationship she is building with her dad? Super read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2016
There are no words to describe this book.

Every author works hard to hook their readers from the very first sentence. Few succeed. Kate Messner is the exception here in "Eye of the Storm".

This is that rare YA novel that us not-so-Y A's enjoy reading. Its futuristic setting and the challenges its characters face living within it, make it feel uncomfortably real, as though what is happening in this world is not far removed from what is happening in our own.

Woven into the science here is some very good fiction. Ms. Messner's character's are consistently rich and realistic. In this case, the voice of main character, Jaden (AKA "Weather Girl") is pitch-perfect, as is Ms. Messner's portrayal of Jaden's storm-chasing absentee father.

There's turbulence at every level here. The weather outside isn't great. But the inner weather that roils within Jaden is probably worse as she struggles with her love for and resentment of her tornado-obsessed father.

While technically science fiction, I suspect that Ms. Messner has some real-life insight into certain things in this book, particularly the atmospheric science and even, perhaps, what it means to be a kid whose parent seems perpetually distracted with something that isn't his child.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2014
True confession: I read the last 200 pages of this book in one sitting. That's how much this plot drives forward. Chock full of science experiments, research, data, and number crunching, at first glance it doesn't seem like Eye of the Storm should be such a page-turner. But Messner's skillful writing trumps all, ratcheting up the intensity with every truth uncovered and suspicious question revealed.

The only weak spot in Eye of the Storm is that the characters are a bit flat and almost type-cast:
* Jaden and Alex are nerdy problem solvers.
* Risha is a bit too boy crazy.
* Jaden's father is distant and fake.
* His new French-ballerina wife is happy to take care of the baby and have dinner ready for her husband.
Yep - these characters are thin. Still, it didn't bother me much because the focus is really on the plot and this crazy storm-filled future.

I absolutely loved this novel's action, suspense, greedy villains, and the way it made math science, math, and even poetry cool.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
This book is filled with so many exciting twist and turns! It's also written beautifully. When the the characters figure something out or are in a heavy moment it's like your inside the book! If you are addicted to reading like I am, like science, or enjoy some action and adventure in your books, this is the book for you. I would say this book is great for ages 11-14 .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Good product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
Good story line helped my girls get back into reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2016
This was on my granddaughter's summer reading list. She loved it!

More Ghostly Encounters of the Paranormal Kind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2016
The story line kept my attention, I felt as if the ending left "something to be desired".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Not great but at least an interesting story especially if you like weather. I won't pick it apart, I would just say that if you liked Twister you probably will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse