Kindle Price: $5.99

Save $1.00 (14%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Face of Death (Smoky Barrett Book 2) by [McFadyen, Cody]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Face of Death (Smoky Barrett Book 2) Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 117 customer reviews
Book 2 of 4 in Smoky Barrett (4 Book Series)

See all 24 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle Book
$5.99

Length: 466 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Never miss a new release from Robert Dugoni
Follow Robert Dugoni for new book notifications, email exclusives and more. Learn more
click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

A June 2007 Significant Seven Editors' Pick: Don't let the title fool you. Cody McFadyen's The Face of Death is not just another scary-as-hell serial killer novel (although it is that in spades). Drawing a chilling portrait of a child stalked by a serial killer seeking revenge, McFadyen's second novel is surprisingly moving, standing out in an already packed genre by focusing on victim Sarah Langstrom and her struggle to survive. McFadyen knocked our socks off with his first book Shadow Man, but this arguably better sequel gives readers more time with Special Agent Smoky Barrett (Harris fans should imagine a stronger, more deeply scarred Clarice Starling). Barrett is a remarkable character--a ferocious survivor and reluctant heroine who only realizes her true potential in the face of unspeakable tragedy. Shocking, gruesome, and terrifying as it may be, the big kicker of this second novel is that it may also move you to tears. Easily one of my favorite thrillers of the year so far, The Face of Death is a perfect book for fans of Deaver, Koontz and King. But don't let me convince you, have a gander at the first chapter and decide for yourself. --Daphne Durham

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. McFadyen's outstanding sequel to his debut, Shadow Man (2006), provides a chilling reminder: "However bad things may become, evil men only triumph in the most important ways when we let them." FBI Special Agent Smoky Barrett is barely back in fighting form six months after killing the man who murdered her family and best friend before she must deal with another threat. "The Stranger," a serial killer seeking revenge for a miscarriage of justice, has targeted 16-year-old Sarah Langstrom, who asks for Smoky's help after the Stranger kills Sarah's latest foster family. The Stranger's murder spree actually began on Sarah's sixth birthday with her biological parents and dog. Smoky's crackerjack L.A. Violent Crimes Unit whirls into action to catch a monster who inflicts pain on Sarah by systematically killing anyone she loves. Smoky's fierce first-person narrative and Sarah's eerie diary excerpts, supplemented by a great cast, lift this scary thriller far above the usual serial-killer norm. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Product details

  • File Size: 1078 KB
  • Print Length: 466 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0553804669
  • Publisher: Bantam; 1st edition (May 29, 2007)
  • Publication Date: May 29, 2007
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000QW7R8K
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #80,784 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Thriller Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Business & Economics Books
3.9 out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on April 13, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on June 22, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on June 22, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on August 20, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on July 31, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on October 14, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|
on July 20, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
1 helpful vote
|

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Face of Death (Smoky Barrett Book 2)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Face of Death (Smoky Barrett Book 2)