Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
Face-To-Face Networking: It's All About Communication
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 25, 2012
I have bought a TON of books on networking. Working in the financial sector in Beverly Hills, I have HUGE numbers to meet and really need to network. Every book I purchased wound up being a motivational book... which is not what I need. I'm outgoing, friendly, social.... I needed to know WHERE to network. This book addressed that and the author even started the chapter with: "A networking book wouldn't be complete if I didn't tell you where to network". It seems like every other author forgot about that.

In addition as to where to network, she had useful tips for networking events. Although I'm already outgoing, these tips make it even easier for me to approach people. I'm very pleased with this book and there is a reason every single customer has given it 5 stars so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2012
I have been networking my entire business life of 25+ years and this is the first book I have read on networking that actually made sense. Not only does it give you the perspective of someone who networks successfully but does it in a very down to earth way that you can put into play in your own networking development. Additionally, I did learn new ways to look at developing relationships since I learned at the "old school" of networking. Whether you are just starting out or a nuanced networker - this is a great book for brushing up or learning whole new strategies. Kudos to Kathy for putting this together for us!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
I appreciate Kathy's down to earth approach to networking. She makes things easy to understand, with real world advice you can put into practice. She's a no-nonsense kinda gal who writes just like she talks. Technology hasn't changed how individuals interact, but enhanced it. In the end, "it's all about the little things."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2014
Really useful, up-to-date primer for those who have to network -- and do it right!! wbs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2012
Networking is about making connections and building enduring, mutually beneficial relationships. Kathy puts it all in context that is easy to read and easy to apply!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2014
good read for basic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2012
Face-To-Face Networking: It's All About Communication

Face-To-Face Networking: It's All About Communication by author Kathy Condon is a gem of a book. Unlike many books that recommend that you go to an event and collect as many cards as possible, the author is much more about the quality of interactions with people you meet than the quantity. For example at an event, she recommends spending an hour to meet three people. Contrast that with some of the frenetic networking events we have all been to that resemble business square dances.

The author is all about the basics such as how to shake hands properly and how to wear a nametag for maximum impact. These are things you probably do not even think about, but can have a tremendous impact. Ms. Condon also makes a counter intuitive proposition: In this age of email and social networking, if you really want to make an impression send a hand written note. And no, don't fake it by using computer generated cards because the personal touch is what it is all about.

In short, if you want clear and actionable suggestions to succeed in business and personal relationships buy, read, read, and reread this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
This book is a quick and easy read sparked by the author's witty humor. Page by page, Kathy Condon reminds us that some things never go out of style - the art of communication is truly a one-on-one conversation. While smartphones, social media sites and other Internet based technologies are useful tools, they cannot replace the warmth of a human smile embraced by eye contact and a friendly outstretched hand.

As a baby boomer, I need only to remember how my parents' generation socialized and greeted each other. For boomers, this book offers both a refresher course on etiquette and simple tips on how to profit the most from meeting new contacts.

If you are looking to expand your social network and make a lasting impression, learn from a master and get ready to put Kathy's wisdom to work. Without a doubt, I have enriched both my business and personal relationships.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2012
I am currently reading Face-To-Face Networking, by author Kathy Condon, and I am really liking it! Despite the current trend to network virtually and increase our social media presence, there is a unique and unparalleled value in the act of meeting someone in person. Kathy manages to distill the essence of the art of networking in person and presents it to the reader in a clear, simple, and easy to use guidebook format. I appreciate that her writing style is personable and inviting. Each chapter of the book addresses a separate aspect of networking as an individual subject. This makes the book extremely useful when you might want to brush up on one particular skill. If you are learning networking skills for the first time, looking for a job, interviewing for college admissions or internships, or merely wish to polish your existing face-to-face speaking skills; then this book is a must have addition to add to your toolbox.

Face-To-Face Networking: It's All About Communication
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
Face-to-Face Networking is a short, easy read packed with dozens of simple tips anyone can use to create strong relationships.

The information is just as applicable personally as it is professionally.

Anyone who finds themselves more comfortable texting the person sitting next them, or emailing the co-worker in the next cubicle or super-glued to a chair at an event will learn painless and sure-to-not-backfire ways to connect with people face-to-face.

It's especially useful for people who are unpracticed or out-of-practice talking to strangers: this book will save you from embarrassing yourself so that instead, you become a star who stands out as someone who "gets" people.

Kathy's writing style and easy-going ways bring a refreshing wind of kindness, courtesy and authenticity into getting to know people. She reminds us through her many true stories that net-"working" doesn't have to be work. It can be fun, and it can bring joy into our lives and those of others.

And yes, those connections can lead - often in very surprising ways - to sales.

Most importantly, it leads to a fuller life because when you network Kathy's way, you're making new friends.

I recommend the book to everyone who wants to be better at creating strong relationships. It's a great value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here