Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 157 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 394 reviews
on March 5, 2017
Love this movie and Matthew McConaughey.......I would love to have seen it made with another actress though...Sarah Jessica Parker is not an actress...Sorry, but I'm a better actress when I need chocolate....hahah
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
This was really a good movie - Funny, entertaining, good acting. Laughed my butt off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2012
First time I saw this movie, I didn't like it too much. I don't know what turned me off about it then, but I decided to grab it off my shelf and watch it again since it's been a while. And... quite the turn around I'll say. I liked this movie, and this is coming from a dude. A proud man who admits that he's a sucker for rom-coms. I think some people need to chill on rom-coms a bit. Most people stay ranting on and on about how predictable and cliche all rom-coms are. "if you've seen one romantic comedy, you've seen them all...", as they all say. Who cares anymore? It was sweet and simple, like all the other rom-coms that came before and after this one. In fact, on the front cover it says "...a bright and breezy romantic comedy" and that's exactly what it was. I expected nothing more, nothing less. Anyone who expected anything else other than "bright and breezy", all I have to say is... wow. It's a rom-com. It had romance in it and it made me laugh. So in my book, it surved its purpose and I was satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
This movie is not good. I love Matthew - but that's all this movie has going for it. Don't waste your money!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2012
Okay as many of you also saw...the commercials didn't really show this movie at its best light. I would have never gone to see this movie because of the trailer. BUT I just happened to catch it on TV the other night and DAMN it was awesome. Of course all romantic comedies are slightly cheesy but beyond that this was one of the funniest movies I've seen. I was surprised how well Sarah Parker and Matthew M. got along. Their chemistry was awesome. Zooey was awesome as always, and Matthew M.'s sidekicks in the film are hilarious too. So many memorable moments that I kept posting them to Facebook lol. I mean come on lol Kathy Bates and Terry Bradshaw are the guy's parents lol!!! Wait till you see the naked room lol hahahaha. It was so great. Quirky, sweet, inventive and the animals are hilarious lol. I purchased the dvd so I could watch it over and over. Great movie for when there is nothing else on tv or just for the heck of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
Great movie and a great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
very happy with the service and the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2007
If you have ever found yourself attracted to a bipolar person check out Paula's sidekick played by Zooey Deschanel. I agree with the other reviewers she is the funniest thing in the movie. But her character also made me see "bipolar" differently. Sure, some of them are impossible and this was only a movie, but they have a bad rap in a society that over emphasizes politically correct under-reaction. Zooey is Jungian complete. She is not dominated by one way or another of reacting to something. She will see and express both pleasure and annoyance at the advances of her suitor. And by the end of the movie, they seem to be having the most fun compared to the lead couple who turn out to be boringly traditional after all.

But I disagree that the main point of the relationship between Paula and Tripp is that it's based initially on deception and falls into that category. This would have been cleared up rather easily. The subtext here is that Paula's entry into the relationship is based on her own past unreliable experiences with men and she tries to substitute a financial relationship for a personal one, like an exotic dancer or an escort. She's a glorified escort by another name. She goes to bed with her clients and does this for money, for crying out loud, how can you gloss over that? :D

This is an exaggerated case, of course. Most women in that situation just get bitter and become casual users of men, not actual escorts. I think the movie manages to explore this issue, its causes, and its cures (which seem to involve seeing the whole context of friends and family), while staying light and funny. We aren't even aware we've been sociologically educated. That's a big achievement. With that plus the wonderful bipolar subplot I had to give this movie 5 stars!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Works great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
Enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse