Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 332 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 418 reviews
VINE VOICEon June 20, 2017
Working Girl meets What Remains in this New York Times bestselling, behind-the-scenes story of an unlikely friendship between America’s favorite First Son, John F. Kennedy Jr. and his personal assistant, a blue-collar girl from the Bronx. Featured in the documentary I Am JFK Jr.!

From the moment RoseMarie Terenzio unleashed her Italian temper on the entitled nuisance commandeering her office in a downtown New York PR firm, an unlikely friendship bloomed between the blue-collar girl from the Bronx and John F. Kennedy Jr.

Many books have sought to capture John F. Kennedy Jr.’s life. None has been as intimate or as honest as Fairy Tale Interrupted. Recalling the adventure of working as his executive assistant for five years, RoseMarie portrays the man behind the icon—patient, protective, surprisingly goofy, occasionally thoughtless and self-involved, yet capable of extraordinary generosity and kindness.
She reveals how he dealt with dating, politics, and the paparazzi, and describes life behind the scenes at George magazine. Captured here are her memories of Carolyn Bessette, how she orchestrated the ultra-secretive planning of John and Carolyn’s wedding on Cumberland Island—and the heartbreak of their deaths on July 16, 1999, after which RoseMarie’s whole world came crashing down around her. Only now does she feel she can tell her story in a book that stands as “a fitting personal tribute to a unique boss . .

My Thoughts: As a fan of all things Kennedy, I relished the opportunity to look behind the scenes at the prince of that clan, and the one least known to me.

We all recall him saluting at his father’s funeral; we were there while his mother was trying to protect him and his sister from the paparazzi while they were growing up; and we watched while he started his magazine George, hoping to carve out his own niche. And then grieved as he and his wife and sister-in-law lost their lives in that fatal plane crash in 1999.

I did enjoy the author’s voice as she described the working relationship she had with John while serving as his assistant, and also the friendship that developed between her, John, and Carolyn, sometimes even mediating their disagreements.

I would have loved seeing some personal photos, and having a greater insider view of their personal world…but no one book can give us everything we want about the life of someone we admire and want to know more about. I liked the author’s writing style, which felt like a conversation between the reader and the author, so despite what was missing for me from Fairy Tale Interrupted: A Memoir of Life, Love, and Loss, I give this book 3.5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2017
I listeded to this on Audio and appreciate the fact that the author read it herself. Unfortunately I found it to be slow-moving and ultimately not very interesting. It was nice to learn that Kennedy was a warm, kind person who treated her well and that his wife Carolyn was also a kindhearted girl's girl who loved to plop down on the couch for a chat. Maybe this felt a bit flat to me because I had just finished the poetic and beautifully written book What Remains by Carole Radziwell and this could not compare. If you are interested in learning about John and Carolyn from an insider, and you appreciate a well-written book, I encourage you to give that one a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2017
It is hard for me to be objective about anything having to do with John Kennedy, Jr even after all these years. I lived through his father's presidency -- short as it was - and in awe of his mother who doted on him. He was the anointed prince of Camelot, and his untimely death was devastating. That being said, I think RoseMarie Terenzio did an excellent job of depicting both John and his wife as down to earth people. She describes both the maddening and the endearing characteristics of John Kennedy and does so well. Clearly, RoseMarie thought the world of John, but she manges to portray him honestly as a man and a human being.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
A very sweet (both delightful & sad) written by John's assistant during his marriage and editor responsibilities at his magazine, GEORGE. Guess who was responsible for packing up his lidhings after he and his wife died so tragically? This authors, so trusted by Caroline & Ted. Witty & heartbreaking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
I am always amused by those who read Kennedy related memoirs and either slam the Kennedys (why oh why are you reading this if you hate this family?) or are furious the person doesn't provide information outside the sphere of their connection with the family (seriously! It's a "memoir" - get a dictionary). So if you fall in camp A or Camp B like the other negative critics here you won't like this so move along and try something else.

BUT

For those of you who, like me, are interested in the Kennedy family AND are hoping to gain insight from another angle then this is the book for you.

RoseMarie writes candidly and openly about her relationship with not only John and Carolyn but her broader family and friends. She has a wonderful way of expressing herself and I quickly developed an emotional connection with her and found tears rolling down my face twice during the book. As you'd expect the book is peppered with information about the trivial incidents which make up everyday life that paint a strong picture of not only John and Carolyn's lives but RoseMarie's life as well - which is also very interesting!

This is an easy read by anyone's standards (it took me less than two hours start to finish) but is definitely well worthwhile. I thoroughly recommend it (and if you love this do try Carole Radziwill's "What Remains").
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
Although the Kennedy family fascinates me, I always find most books about them to be very gossipy and full of speculations, non-facts and hearsay.
This book, however, changed my mind. I loved that RoseMarie told her story from her heart, a very honest place that you won't necessarily see from books written about this famous family. I appreciated that it wasn't salacious and didn't dive too much into the marriage of Mr. Kennedy and his wife Carolyn. She did paint a beautiful portrait of love and flaws that are abundant in each and every one of us. It humanized them and I loved that. Very honest, fair and heart wrenchingly painful that I felt lumps in my throat throughout. What a book! Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
John F. Kennedy Jr. had an extraordinary life. One that was forever in the public eye, until it was tragically cut short by a plane accident in the waters off Martha's Vineyard in July 1999.

Leading up to that fateful day, there was much speculation about his marriage to Carolyn Bessette, whom was also lost on that flight, along with her sister, Lauren. And whether the magazine founded by John F. Kennedy Jr., 'George', would survive the brutally competitive magazine industry.

It took more than 12 years for John and Carolyn's closest confidant and friend to write a book about their fairy tale, that was so heartbreakingly interrupted.

'Fairy Tale Interrupted' is a memoir by RoseMarie Terenzio, who first met John F. Kennedy Jr. when she was working at a boutique PR agency in New York City. Mr Kennedy started making frequent visits to meet her boss, secretly plotting a new venture. It wasn't long before John moved into their offices that the two of them struck up a mutually respectful and trusting relationship.

The blue-collar girl from the Bronx was ultimately offered the role of assistant to John who became the editor-in-chief and co-founder of the new socio-political magazine named after the first President of the United States, George Washington.

Ms Terenzio paints an intimate portrait of her relationship with not only John, but his wife, Carolyn Bessette. How they all became close friends and how often-times, RoseMarie acted as a go-between for the couple. Organizing appointments, arranging travel, and being the steadfast gatekeeper they both needed to cope with the demands of their professional and personal lives.

Contrary to media reports circulating at the time, especially after John and Carolyn were secretly wed in Georgia, the author describes Carolyn as a loving, caring and protective woman, who not only doted on John but also supported, inspired and confided in RoseMarie.

It's true this so-called 'royal couple' had arguments and fights; they were largely about the harsh public life Carolyn had to endure, which John had learned in his life to just shrug off and take in his stride.

A revelation in the book is how brutal the paparazzi were toward Carolyn. Suggesting she wasn't good enough for John F. Kennedy Jr. and often calling out curse words and names at her, just to get a reaction. The kind of behavior and attention Carolyn struggled with.

In the book, RoseMarie, explains that Carolyn was "exhausted" and didn't want to go to Hyannis to attend a family wedding with John. He desperately wanted her to be there, and solicited help from RoseMarie to talk Carolyn into making the trip. Now, in hindsight, the author regrets she had succeeded in convincing Carolyn to go on that fateful flight.

It was RoseMarie who was staying at their New York City apartment that weekend John's plane disappeared. She writes of how she first learned of the missing couple late that Friday night. A moving, memorable account of suspended disbelief and denial. They must have changed plans, the worst couldn't possibly be happening.

Asked why it took so long to write this book, RoseMarie explained although she had earlier been approached to tell her story, she wanted more time to pass. To write about 'her' fairy tale interrupted, to be true to John and Carolyn, and not write the kind of scandalous story that was expected at the time.

Reading through 'Fairy Tale Interrupted', I often thought of the tribute given by Senator Edward M. Kennedy, John's uncle, at the Church of St. Thomas More in New York City, July 23, 1999.

Senator Kennedy said that John had "found his shining star when he married Carolyn Bessette."

"His beautiful young wife -- the new pride of the Kennedys -- would cheer for John's team and delight her nieces and nephews with her somersaults."

"We dared to think, in that other Irish phrase, that this John Kennedy would live to comb gray hair, with his beloved Carolyn by his side. But like his father, he had every gift but length of years."

Like a true friend, RoseMarie Terenzio, in writing this book, has lived up to her responsibility of protecting a legacy and enlightening us.

This book is one that would have made both John and Carolyn proud. At times funny, loving, fascinating. But also, deeply moving and heart breaking.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
I gave this book 5 stars. It was a very sweet,honest tribute to John and Carolyne Kennedy. Some people responded regarding the authors "Choice of Words" and suggested it was all "About herself". But I saw it different and that is what made it sweet and honest to me. It showed that John Kennedy was "HUMAN and not thinking of himself" as some "GOD" who had never hear a four letter word before. For those who dont know ( His mother also had some Choice Words she used at time also,but not in public) It also showed that the author was her "True Self" as she had no shame,only pride in showing how she was raised. Yes she told things about the two and their marriage. But it wasnt "Trash Magazine" type things. "Remember No Marriage Is Made In Heaven" (only in our dreams) She gave John and Carolyn credit for helping her to believe in herself, showing her how to take pride in herself and helping her to learn how to prepare herself for a better life in the world. What more could we want from "True Friends" and the sadness of losing them. It was a very interesting look into a side of all their lives and it also made it a joy to read. If people only was to read "DIRT" this isnt the book for you to read. M.G.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2012
I always read reviews prior to ordering a book. After all, why waste your time on something that has an overwhelmingly bad rating? Well, this is one book I am so very pleased to have read. I was curious to learn of the intellectual side of John Kennedy, Jr. and this book certainly lets you see just how intellectual he was, despite the names he was called during his post-college years - especially when the press referrred to him as "stupid" or "dumb" because he had to take the bar exam multiple times before he passed. No, the book does not let you in on the everyday details of his love-life, nor does it shed more than a passing light upon his relationship with his mother, sister or other relatives. What is does reveal is his sensitive side, his caring for his friends and employees, his generosity and his dedication to his magazine venture: "George".

Yes, being written by his personal assistant, from her point of view, it is a lot about her. She reveals her personal feelings a bit more than she reveals every little nitty-gritty minute detail about John but that is part of the charm of this tale. You will learn an eye-opening lot of facts regarding John and his business world and you will learn a lot more about his girlfriend, and then wife, Carolyn. The insight into Carolyns' personality was delightful. I would have been disappointed if this had simply been a "tell-all" book. Instead the author draws you in to her world: first her life & personal background and then into the world she shared on a daily basis with her boss John Kennedy, Jr. It is a happy book and of course a sad story when the tragic accident happens. I am so glad that I had the chance to see, from an insiders view how it all played out.

Do not nit-pick any vocabulary mistakes, or run-on sentences -- just read and enjoy. The author was not Ivy League educated nor born with a silver spoon in her mouth. She comes across as a very sincere woman who just happened to be in the right place at the right time to meet the son of American royality. Her book is a sincere account of her life and the wonderous days she spent working in the enchanting world of a Kennedy until the fairy tale was indeed interrupted. I do so highly recommend reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
It was awesome to read about someone I had heard so much abut about. This book Gave great inside to the man behind the headlines.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse