Kindle Price: $2.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Fall of Neskaya: The Clingfire Trilogy, Volume I by [Bradley, Marion Zimmer, Deborah J. Ross]
Kindle App Ad

The Fall of Neskaya: The Clingfire Trilogy, Volume I Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 42 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in Clingfire Trilogy (3 Book Series)

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 458 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

This month's Book With Buzz: "The Lying Game" by Ruth Ware
From the instant New York Times bestselling author of blockbuster thrillers "In a Dark, Dark Wood" and "The Woman in Cabin 10" comes Ruth Ware’s chilling new novel. See more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Darkover, Bradley's popular series of the planet of the Bloody Sun, rejoice. As Bradley's health was declining, she and Ross sketched the new Clingfire Trilogy, set in the aftermath of the Ages of Chaos when the Hundred Kingdoms used vicious telepathic laran weaponry to annihilate their neighbors. This solid opener, like others in Bradley's canon, centers on the coming-of-age of a laran-gifted youngster, Coryn Leynier, who becomes under-Keeper at Neskaya Tower, a powerful hub of the psi Tower network, and eventually finds himself pitted against both evil human foes in battle and black psionic wizardry in the Overworld. Ross has fleshed out Bradley's encyclopedic vision of the Darkovian Dark Ages into a competent, fast-paced narrative congruent with the late author's familiar 1960s theme: "make various kinds of love, but not nuclear war." Ross also seems to have mastered the familiar Darkovian vocabulary, though perhaps not injecting it so frequently, as well as Bradley's absorbing minutiae of life under the Bloody Sun copper butterfly hairclips and all. With ancient Neskaya Tower crumbled in the cataclysmic conflict between Coryn Leynier and his enemies and Bradley now gone, the next two volumes of the Clingfire Trilogy should showcase Ross's literary strength her sensitivity to human needs and talents even more clearly. (July 10) FYI: Bradley also collaborated with Diana L. Paxson on a final sequel to The Mists of Avalon, Priestess of Avalon (Forecasts, Apr. 30).
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist

During the era of the Hundred Kingdoms, when Darkover is splintered by constant border conflicts, the laranzu Rumail, ambitious and power-hungry King Damian's Tower-trained brother, is sent to Verdanta to examine young Coryn Leynier and his sisters for evidence of psychic ability. While examining Coryn, Rumail buries a weapon of destruction deep within his mind. Rumail knows Coryn's laran is strong and gambles that the boy will become a Keeper, the highest rank among the Tower-trained. As such, Coryn would be perfectly placed to unwittingly bring down Darkover's most powerful dynasty, the Hasturs of Thendara, putting control of Darkover in Damian's hands. Coryn does indeed become Keeper of Neskaya Tower, but Rumail fails to reckon on the power of love to intervene. Yet when Neskaya falls, will Coryn and his lover, a Hastur queen, be equal to the near-impossible task of stopping Rumail's abominable abuse of laran? Completing this new novel of Darkover after Bradley's death, Ross succeeds in keeping it true to Bradley's style. Paula Luedtke
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Product details

  • File Size: 1268 KB
  • Print Length: 458 pages
  • Publisher: DAW (July 1, 2002)
  • Publication Date: July 1, 2002
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B002IPZG0Y
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #285,060 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on March 28, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2002
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2002
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2017
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Fall of Neskaya: The Clingfire Trilogy, Volume I
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Fall of Neskaya: The Clingfire Trilogy, Volume I