Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 315 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,608 reviews
on July 14, 2017
I have been waiting for a repress of this for so long. I got into the vinyl craze well after the purple version was sold. It must have been pretty exclusive because I only see that copy for around $90. When I saw that this was re-released, I jumped on it immediately. The album sounds so good. Much better than what I expected for a repress. I still want to get my hands on that exclusive press but it will take a little time.

Also, if you are a superfan, check out the whole discography that was released. It is a bit pricey but it comes with a ton of content, including this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Amy's voice + the Evanescence band = Amazing sound. I love her soulful almost anguished voice.

As someone else pointed out, the first few songs are the best, but as you listen through the cd a few times, you start to enjoy the other songs just as much, because it furthers the experience. At this price you are paying less than $1 per son, it's worth it!

Some of the best songs on the cd include...

My Immortal, Going Under, Tourniquet, My Last Breath, and Haunted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
What an incredible CD. Every song is musical Perfection Amy Lee's voice is beyond beautiful. Great guitar riffs sad lyrics everything you want out of music. I never thought I would like their goth style tunes but they amazed me I highly recommend you buy this CD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 3, 2003
This is one of the moments where there isn't a bad song on the disc. The producers have done a good arrangement of the tracks on the album - each song compliment the next.
Amy Lee's vocals is very powerful. Her voice stands out, yet blend perfectly with the instruments. It's not like a typical pop/rock band where everyone tries to compete with each other and all the impression we get is the typical teen angst. With Evanescence you feel the energy going in one direction.
"Going Under", is a very clever first track to introduce the band. They slowly introduce everyone starting with Lee's voice and guitar, followed by drums, keyboard, etc. until everyone starts to jam together - all within 25 seconds. Check it out and see how the instruments slowly piece together within that time.
"Bring Me To Life" will always be the most powerful song. It's the reason why I bought the disc, but definitely the only song worth listening to. You think it's a slow song because of the piano intro and slow vocals until the drum kicks in and background vocals shout "wake me up!".
"Everybody's Fool" follows the rocking mood.
Then "My Immortal" slows things with a haunting violin in the background. "Haunted" will bring the pace back up, with "Tourniquet" kicking things in full gear. Of note in this track are the drums and guitar. As the song ends "Imaginary" takes over, with no pause between tracks.
If you think you're in for a slow ride, "Taking Over Me" will continue the rocking pace. It's "Hello" that gives us a moment to pause. Piano, vocals and violin - that's it.
"My Last Breath" brings the whole band back. It's like the last song until they give out one more encore song "Whisper". Definitely not a quiet track. A good ending that leaves you wanting more.
My suggestion, leave the disc in the player and set to "repeat all". Make sure you have good speakers or audiophile headphones to appreciate the hi fidelity of the instruments and vocals. Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2003
Trying to decide whether to buy "Fallen"? I'm almost 50 y.o. and like selections from Switched on Bach to Jethro Tull to Benny Goodman to Michelle Branch ... you get the picture.
"Fallen" is terrific: fat high-distortion chords in familiar progressions on electric guitar, sometimes backed by a wonderful choir, and led by full power female vocals that soar. The rhythms are familiar to alternative and hard rock fans, with variations that catch and please you. It's fabulous to immerse into this music -- and study the lyrics to divine their subtle meanings ...
One thing I liked: the electric bass is, for the most part, *not* loaded with distortion ... and thus stands apart with its own creative musical line, giving the songs just a little less of the heavy effect. Also nice is the piano that wanders in and out of songs with seemingly improvised figures, just under the surface.
Someone pointed out that "Fallen" contains songs that are similar or repetitive, in instrumentation, rhythms, effects, vocal lines, and lyrical themes. At first I was inclined to agree ... though I remained quite willing to rock out repetitively :-)
It occurred to me, however, that the CD is not a collection of "songs" -- it is a *suite* -- and when understood that way, the common elements interconnect the pieces, just as do the repeating themes and structures in any of Bach's Brandenburg Concertos, Handel's Water Music, or nearly any of Vivaldi's popular works.
So, that point having been established, I feel entirely justified to
TURN IT UP LOUD !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2003
Every so often a female vocalist will burst onto the scene and everyone stops to take note...Amy Lee where have you been all our life ??!! The album explores both amped up rockers and dark somber love scorned melodies and Amy's tones are strong and genuine....you can feel what she's trying to sing...the pleading, the sadness, the yearning...its all in there !! As for the band, Evanesence offers solid axework and decent bass and drums...although the credits seem to indicate a lower billing for the supporting staff...possibly even studio musicians. Anyway, the guitars are powerful and use the "drop in" timing element (made famous by Linkin' Park) to create effect, but they improve on what others of the day are doing because they don't stomp on the distortion pedal, preferring the raw, neat and clean sound to back-up the lovely sprite at the helm !! The piano is masterfully used as a lead in and fade out and is mainstay throughout !! This album rocks and crys and will drive you through rush hour traffic or provide you with something to think about while you veg on the couch. It provides a nice departure from what everyone else in the industry is doing !! And kudos to the producers for giving the listener clean volume...which makes it nice to listen at any volume...but most will like it loud !! Amy's vocals alone could carry this album but the songwork and musicianship is solid and definitely worth the purchase. Highlights include: "Taking Over Me", "Whisper", "Tourniquet" and of course "Bring Me to Life" !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2003
"Evanescence" means fading from sight, but that is something this band will not do. Contrary to popular belief, they have been making music together for many years, releasing independent albums of their sound. Unfortunately, not very many people were able to get their hands (or ears, if you prefer) on these indie EP's. My hope is now that they have been signed to a major label, all of those wonderful songs that were lost will get re-released. Their main first album was "Origin," which does not differ too much from "Fallen." If you are familiar with "Origin," you will see repeated songs: "My Immortal," "Imaginary" (though a slightly egdier version), and "Whisper" (also slightly a different version). The rest of the songs on "Fallen" hold up the expectations of "Origin," following in the footsteps of its predecessor. If you loved Evanescence before they got big, you will love them even more now.
Individually, the songs each have a life of their own. This is not one of those CD's that you pick up and once you've heard one song, you've basically heard them all. Each song is crafted with its own unique feel and message. Some are heavier, some are softer; some feature the usual guitar/drum combo, some include Amy Lee's wonderful piano playing and orchestral instruments. But don't let the piano and chamber choir fool you--this is an edgy, powerful album. You can't help but be moved by it. It is a dark, gothic collection of pensive, brilliant songs that will not disappoint the real music lover.
Amy Lee is always great, and Ben Moody is her perfect complimentary element. Being signed to a major label has not altered their powerful lyrics or heart-stopping music. Evanescence surely has nothing but a bright future in store for them.
**Highlights of the Album: Track 1) Going Under, Track 2) Bring Me to Life, Track 4) My Immortal, Track 5) Haunted, Track 7) Imaginary, and Track 11) Whisper. Though, in all honesty, each of the tracks on this album is very likable and pleasing to the ears.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2005
Geez I really wish I could give the album 10 stars!!!! After hearing Bring Me To Life, I fell completely in love with their music. I bought the CD, and I fell in love with EVERY one of their songs!!!! Most of the other people's songs I've heard are like they sang to you, but Evanescence's songs feel like they are coming out of you, like you burst out your soul with every lyrics, beat, rhythm instead of absorbing them. And Amy Lee is simply amazing in all of her vocals!!! Evanescence is not depressing, it's soul baring. Most of their lyrics are just feelings described in a dark way, but not really describing a depressing incident. You want to hear depressing music, go hear Avril Lavigne's second album; it has TONs of depressing stuff in it. I heard Evanescence is finally gonna release their second album!!! Yay I can't wait!!! By the way, why does people always pick on popular artists??? It's like there's a group of people who watches for breakthrough artists and then to put them down! Geez, get a life will you guys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2005
Geez I really wish I could give the album 10 stars!!!! After hearing Bring Me To Life, I fell completely in love with their music. I bought the CD, and I fell in love with EVERY one of their songs!!!! Most of the other people's songs I've heard are like they sang to you, but Evanescence's songs feel like they are coming out of you, like you burst out your soul with every lyrics, beat, rhythm instead of absorbing them. And Amy Lee is simply amazing in all of her vocals!!! Evanescence is not depressing, it's soul baring. Most of their lyrics are just feelings described in a dark way, but not really describing a depressing incident. You want to hear depressing music, go hear Avril Lavigne's second album; it has TONs of depressing stuff in it. I heard Evanescence is finally gonna release their second album!!! Yay I can't wait!!! By the way, why does people always pick on popular artists??? It's like there's a group of people who watches for breakthrough artists and then to put them down! Geez, get a life will you guys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2017
The haunting melodies mixed with the soothing lyrics bring a new sound to the world of music. A person can literally listen to this CD for hours without growing bored. Each time you listen to a track, you can discover something new. Great work for their debut album! If they keep up the good work, Evanescence will become one of the most popular musical groups ever to hit the music scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here