Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 29 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 82 reviews
on April 8, 2016
This was the first LaVyrle Spencer book that I have ever read and now I am a fan for life. I've been really getting bored with writers like Nora Roberts who change the names of their characters and release the same stories over and over and there's never anything that causes the reader to remember the book when it's finished. The same can never be said about Family Blessings. From the first paragraph to the last sentence, it's very hard to put down. It's a sweet and funny story at times, but at times the characters rip your heart out. It's, without a doubt the best book I've read in many years. I hope that as I read more of Ms. Spencer's books, I will find many other treasures just waiting for me to love as much as I loved this one. Highly recommended to anyone who loves to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2015
this is an awesome book. Lavyrle Spencer has a knack for building characters and the story isn't without it's moments of my getting angry on Lee's behalf; the way her family treats her when she's trying to get through figuring things out. Everyone has an opinion and that is the thing that makes me nuts. It reminds me of some people I know who have relatives with a "self-entitled" idea on how someone should live their life... With that being said, this story line is so "real" - this is a situation that can and does happen. I'm glad that the show of "this is my life - mind your own and don't worry about mine" wins in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
An old favorite book. I'm sorry it wasn't available in Kindle yet. This is a great story, the kind of book that gets read over and over again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2015
I read this book the first time more than six years ago....I loved it then and now. Six years ago I lost my 42 year old son.....reading this heart blessing story this time was emotionally difficult, I shed many tears and wondered whether I could finish it....but the beautiful love story took over and carried me through. I too am a florist who designed my son's flowers....This book reminded me of my sorrows but was so beautifully written that the joy of the love story left me knowing that a mother's love can go on to find happiness in the aftermath of tragedy.....kudos to Ms Spencer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
Since I myself am married to a much younger man, I enjoyed reading a romance with a large age discrepancy in a non-traditional direction. I have only reread the book starting at page 110. The beginning describes so accurately the deep grief at the loss of a loved one, I could only stand to read it once. However, the gradual slide into love and all the obstacles the protagonistas face are well worth more than one read. LaVyrle Spencer is a genius at capturing the Midwest setting and mentality. Having grown up in the Midwest myself, it feels like home. This book is a winner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
I've now read this book twice. And, it's worth the read. It does feel somewhat dated in 2015. But, the emotion and characterization of the book still lives up to the test of time. This book is a good study on how to do grief and loss in a book that makes sense and makes the characters seems as if they could be anyone. I love that about this book. I do sometimes get annoyed at the constant reference and the repeated argument in the age difference between the couple. It makes two strong characters weaker. All though the reactions of the family would likely happen in my own family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
This is an excellent book, one of the best I've read in a long time. It is a very emotional book, both happy and sad (have the Kleenex box ready). I'm looking forward to reading it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2015
Mrs. Spencer has well developed and well thought out characters. This a must have and read book for fans of Mrs. Spencer and her work. This is one of 22 books that she worte.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
A good story, full of joy and sadness, surprise and conflict, with lots of love and fun to chase away jealousy and hurt!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
This is probably the fourth time I've read this book. I gain something new every time. Chris and Lee just belong together. To the chagrin of her family (except Joey) she marries a man over a decade her junior. A wonderful story of love, barricades, family and death. I've been a fan of LS since my mother gave me one of her books. I was hooked. She grabs me on the first page every time. LS if you're reading this, please come out of retirement to write just one more... then one more after that. Your fans love and miss you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.43

Need customer service? Click here