Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on August 4, 2011
This book is more than 12 years out of date! Shame on me for not noticing the publication date! Shame on Amazon for selling this as new!

Out of date and does not match the program I bought it with. The 2011 FTM program is the newest version and the book is geared for Vs. 7. Waste of money.

Amazon should withdraw it from their stocks!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
This didn't work for me. I have family tree maker 2008 . I am not sure which one this works with. I really could use a newer version. Thanks
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
Book is too old. Talks to technology that is history. CD's and formats described are no longer used. Very little is germane to Family Tree Maker 2012.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
The book was copyrighted in 2000. The current version of FTM is 2013. The book is minimally helpful.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
Doh---- I have FTM 2014 and this book was published in 2000. BIG MISTAKE. Useless
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
Out of date--did not apply to my version of Family Tree Maker
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2000
Pluses: This book has clear instructions and good hints on entering family information, and some of the tougher jobs such as exporting and importing files. The book has a unique section, not in the "official" manuals or companion publications: Chapter 16, "Ten Ways to Avoid Calling Technical Support". Here there are hints here that have never been published. Chapter 15 "Ten Things That Can Save You Time" has more short cuts than in the "official" publications. The short cuts are either not in the manuals or hard to find. All users will find some of them useful. The book also covers some of the fine points of Genealogy and computer management: Cite sources and Back Up, Back Up are two examples.
Minuses: The authors examples are a ridiculous genealogy of household pets,"Greyhound Canine" and "Tabitha Zee Feline". Their example did not allow the complexity of a real family. The animal parallel was distracting from the excellent work explaining the program. Some information and relationships which are in many family files were not covered.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Book was not necessary purchase. Dated info, program has built in usage guide. Many good free websites to help you organize and start your search. I was a "Dummy" to buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
I'm a bit of a fan of the Dummies series of books so I especially enjoy this book. It's written with the typical humor of the Dummies books & it is a big help navigating the Family Tree Maker program. I recomment it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2015
i gave it five stars because the only problem was my fault, its actually a guide for the computer program, i should have researched more before i bought it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse