Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.80

Save $3.19 (29%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Fangirl: A Novel by [Rainbow Rowell]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Fangirl: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.5 out of 5 stars 3,780 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.80

Length: 481 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $8.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
Age Level: 13 - 18
Grade Level: 10 - 12
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for "Eleanor & Park"
"This sexy, smart, tender romance thrums with punk rock and true love. Teen readers--not to mention their Gen X parents--will swoon for "Eleanor & Park"."
--Gayle Forman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "If I Stay" and "Where She Went

""A breathless, achingly good read about love and outsiders." --Stephanie Perkins, author of "Anna and the French Kiss" and "Lola and the Boy Next Door

""Sweet, gritty and affecting...an unforgettable story about two misfits in love."
--Courtney Summers, author of "This is Not a Test" and "Cracked Up To Be

""Rowell shows us the beauty in the broken." --Stewart Lewis, author of "You Have Seven Messages"

Praise for "Eleanor & Park"

""Eleanor & Park" reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book."--John Green, "The New York Times Book Review"
"This sexy, smart, tender romance thrums with punk rock and true love. Teen readers--not to mention their Gen X parents--will swoon for "Eleanor & Park"."
--Gayle Forman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "If I Stay" and "Where She Went

""A breathless, achingly good read about love and outsiders." --Stephanie Perkins, author of "Anna and the French Kiss" and "Lola and the Boy Next Door

""Sweet, gritty and affecting...an unforgettable story about two misfits in love."
--Courtney Summers, author of "This is Not a Test" and "Cracked Up To Be

""Rowell shows us the beauty in the broken." --Stewart Lewis, author of "You Have Seven Messages"

"Absolutely captivating."--"Kirkus Reviews" (starred review) on "Fangirl" "A funny and tender coming-of-age story that's also the story of a writer finding her voice...touching and utterly real."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review) "The magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling and triumphant relationships...Fans of "Eleanor & Park" and other bookish, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own."--"Booklist" (starred review) "A charming coming-of-age novel...filled with complex subjects (such as divorce, abandonment, and mental illness) handled in a realistic manner, and the writing effortlessly and seamlessly weaves these threads together."--"School Library Journal" (starred review) Praise for "Eleanor & Park"

""Eleanor & Park" reminded me not just what it's like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it's like to be young and in love with a book."--John Green, "The New York Times Book Review"
"This sexy, smart, tender romance thrums with punk rock and true love. Teen readers--not to mention their Gen X parents--will swoon for "Eleanor & Park"."
--Gayle Forman, "New York Times" bestselling author of "If I Stay" and "Where She Went

""A breathless, achingly good read about love and outsiders." --Stephanie Perkins, author of "Anna and the French Kiss" and "Lola and the Boy Next Door

""Sweet, gritty and affecting...an unforgettable story about two misfits in love."
--Courtney Summers, author of "This is Not a Test" and "Cracked Up To Be

""Rowell shows us the beauty in the broken." --Stewart Lewis, author of "You Have Seven Messages" --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Amazon.com Review

Rainbow Rowell's Playlist

Seth Kahan
Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl is a coming-of-age novel that is smart, funny, and genuine. Fangirl takes place during Cather Avery's first year of college, learning who she is when stripped down to just Cath--not the twins Cath & Wren and not Magicath, her fan fiction pen name.

Through all the changes, both difficult and thrilling, one part of her old life still makes as much sense in her dorm room as it did in her childhood bedroom--the Emergency Kanye Party. When the going gets tough in this story, the tough crank up Kanye West, sing out loud and dance until they feel better. Check out Rowell's Fangirl playlist below to see what other music played a part in this story.

"I Wonder" – Kanye West: So Cath, the main character of Fangirl has a Kanye West thing; he's sort of her Patronus. This song lays out how lost Cath is at the beginning of the book. "You ever wonder what it all really mean? You wonder if you'll ever find your dreams?"

"Cath" – Death Cab for Cutie: I think this song might be the reason I chose the name "Cath." The lyrics don't fit my Cath, but the feelings do. More loss, more lost.

"Heaven's on Fire" – The Radio Dept.: I use songs to help me get into the right mood and frame of mind when I'm writing a scene. This song, for me, is Cath's first few weeks of college – when she feels all caught up, and completely overwhelmed, by the activity. When she's overdosing on new and other.

"Paranoid" – Kanye West feat. Mr. Hudson: When things hit bottom for Cath, she throws herself an Emergency Kanye Dance Party. I can see her jumping on her bed to this song. "You worry bout the wrong things, the wrong things."

"American Boy" – Estelle feat. Kanye West: Required listening for every Emergency Kanye Dance Party. Plus, it's happy and bouncy, so that reminds me of Cath's friend Levi, who joins the party.

"Brandy Alexander" – Feist: When Cath finally falls in love, she almost resents how easy it is. She resents that she can't help it. This song is so sweet and seductive and irresistible – which is exactly how Cath sees the guy she's falling for.

"I See You, You See Me" – The Magic Numbers: This is another reluctant love song – about two people who sort of back into love. When it gets to "This is not what I'm like, this is not what I do" – I think of Cath and the way she tries to reject her feelings. Like she's allergic to them.

"Love Letters" – Jude: There's a part of the book when just about everybody regrets their behavior. "Love Letters" feels like regret to me – but also hope. There's so much longing in Jude's voice.

"Samson" – Regina Spektor: One of the love stories in the book is between Cath and her twin sister, Wren. Cath feels abandoned by Wren. Now that they're at college, Wren would rather party than hang out with her twin. But Cath is still so devoted to Wren, and worried about her. "You are my sweetest downfall. I loved you first."

"Landslide" – Fleetwood Mac: Every book I write has "Landslide" on its soundtrack, and always at the same point in the story – the part where the main character does whatever he or she has to do to grow and change. I play "Landslide" in my head whenever my life is changing in a big way.

"Hymn for Her" – The Magic Numbers: This is my happy-ending song for Cath. I'm not exactly sure what the lyrics mean, but I love how gentle and cautious it is, especially at the beginning. It's so reassuring for a love song. "It won't hurt to find love in the wrong place. I've been hurt before, but all the scars have rearranged."

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • File size : 1426 KB
  • Publication date : September 10, 2013
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 481 pages
  • ASIN : B00BMKH5NW
  • Publisher : St. Martin's Griffin (September 10, 2013)
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Screen Reader : Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Language: : English
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 3,780 ratings

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
3,780 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on May 28, 2019
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 15, 2018
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
9 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

@CeliaMoontown
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet and touching
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 21, 2017
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Roy
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the most boring book I’ve ever read!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 12, 2018
Verified Purchase
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mary Kingdom
3.0 out of 5 stars I have strongly mixed feelings.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ms. S. Grant
4.0 out of 5 stars Self reflecting
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
LJBentley
4.0 out of 5 stars Fangirl
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 6, 2020
Verified Purchase