Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Fangoria Frightfest Presents - The Tomb
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 11, 2016
Fangoria Frightfest my ASS! I have bought a few of the FF movies and the best part of them are the previews. I am so disappointed because the ACTING was BAD and the movie was BORING also. Madsen and Roberts SUCKED in this so called SCARY movie. I have seen better acting at a 4th grade play. I have seen some good previews about newly released FF movies but I think I will pass. (Make a movie with just previews it might get 3 stars.) If you want to waste about 90 minutes of your life watch this. If you can have RELATIONS with someone instead you will be glad you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
I had just watched Santa and the Ice Cream Bunny, so granted I was probably feeling spoiled and entitled by the art form, but this movie (The Tomb) was the biggest and most steamy pile of garbage. I've decided the performances were uniformly awful because someone let them read the script beforehand and they were embarrassed. Should have sprung it on 'em. I'm not sure the goth boyfriend character was even awake in any of his scenes. Just blech.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2012
I was shocked to see this movie was 90 minutes long. It felt like 4 hours! Slow, boring, confusing, irritating.... I'm amazed I possessed the sheer willpower to make it all the way to the end of this dreadful piece. An extremely tough movie to get through. It doesn't really offer anything in the way of entertainment. If you have nothing, and I mean NOTHING, better to do then you could give it a shot. Otherwise there are hundreds of thousands of superior films. Such as Under Siege or 2012 or Cops and Robertsons or Boomerang or Troll or..... Well you get the idea. Just be warned, two stars was VERY generous.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
The film opens with the losing of a spirit in Romanova Manor. It jumps to the present as Professor Jonathan Merrick (Wes Bentley) gives lectures on 19th century literature. He is engage (Kaitlin Doubleday) but his eye roams to the exotic looking Ligeia (Sofya Skya) and before long he is no longer engaged, drinking absinthe and buying a castle for our antagonist soul stealer.

The film moved rather quickly, never allowing for character build up. Indeed, I found myself rooting for evil, because that was the only personality in the film. The dialogue and acting were bland. This is one of the lesser offerings of Fangoria. with killer Bees, Michael Madsen and Eric Roberts.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, and nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 15, 2010
Jonathan Merrick (Wes Bentley) has it all: a beautiful girlfriend, a successful writing career, the respect of his colleagues. All of this is put on the line, however, when he unwillingly becomes entangled with a student, Ligeia (Sofya Skya), who has become unhealthily interested with him through his lectures on the macabre. Unbeknownst to Jonathan, his returned infatuation with Ligeia comes not from her Eastern European beauty or sexy accent, but from the black magic which she practices in order to seek the immortality that her ancestors before her could not attain.

In recent years, there have been a huge number of indie straight-to-video adaptations of Edgar Allan Poe stories & poems, including literally a dozen versions of 'The Tell-Tale Heart.' Poe's story 'Ligeia' has only been the source material for a few adaptations, though, with the most well known being the Roger Corman/Vincent Price matchup 'The Tomb of Ligeia' (1964). There are reasons why 'Ligeia' is not as popular to adapt as other Poe pieces like 'The Fall of the House of Usher' or 'The Raven.' For one, it's not as popular a story as some of those others. But, the real reason is that it's simply just a difficult story to adapt. The original source material does not spread far with plot and it's told, like much of Poe's work, within the head of our narrator. Therefore, there are a lot of additions that a screenwriter would have to make to be able to make this an interesting and entertaining film. Unfortunately, writer John Shirley ('The Crow') did not succeed there in the slightest.

To be memorable in the independent sector of horror, a film must either be very bad or very good. There are hundreds of horror films released each year and the wide majority of those will go unseen by even the most dedicated horror fan. This is why mediocrity is just about the worst curse for a horror film that wishes to be appreciated, or even remembered. For rookie director Michael Staininger, the graveyard of mediocrity is sadly where his first film will be laid to rest. This is because nearly every aspect of 'Ligeia' falls in the ranges of unimpressive or subpar. The acting is bland and boring, even from typically dependable actors like Michael Madsen, Eric Roberts, and Wes Bentley, who has performed well in the past with films like 'American Beauty' and 'P2' (though, his recovery from drug abuse may be a cause of this downfall). There is very little creativity with cinematography, even though the crew did have quite a few excellent locations which would have played nicely with talent behind the camera. However, the real reason for the film's lackluster quality is, without a doubt, the main creative components: the script & the directing. It's sad to see John Shirley, who started his film career with a bang penning the cult classic 'The Crow' in the '90s, sunk to the level of straight-to-video boredom like this film. Also, the rookie director's lack of ability to properly execute anything special with the mundane material also crippled the film's chances. These two components, as they would for any film, killed all opportunity 'Ligeia' had from ever reaching anything worthwhile.

To sum up, other than the intriguing concept and the various settings, there isn't much to see with this film. It's poorly executed, boring, and boasts some truly disappointing performances by a usually impressive cast.

Final Verdict: 4/10. Not a good start to the Fright Fest.

-AP3-
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2011
Ever wanted to see a movie which has no causally related events? Want to see attractive young actors flatly read some of the worst dialogue ever written? Enjoy seeing empty plot-bots run around like talking cardboard? Well, there are plenty of options in the horror section, but this one is among the worst. Really, if you smash protons together you'll find more realistic character motivation than in this movie.

The plot to this movie, based loosely on "Ligeia" by Edgar Allen Poe, jumps from scene to scene without the sort of connective tissue that most movies use to explain the change (professionals call this a "story"). What is it exactly that motivates Ligeia to do... whatever it is that she's doing? All of the sex, violence, forgiveness and love happens only to fill screen time, with none of it coming from who the characters are. Ok, so this isn't supposed to be high art, but this clearly crosses the line from B-movie horror to offensively bad.

There isn't much else to critique. It's not good-bad, as horror fans will be looking for, it's just flat.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the 2nd FRIGHTFEST I've seen out of the 8, and I hope the other 6 are better.
Loosely based on Poe's somber poem, THE TOMB is snail-paced, predictable with surprisingly poor performances from Wes Bentley, Eric Roberts and Michael Madsen.
Not frightening at all and dull as dishwater.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2011
I had seen all 8 Of the Fangoria Movies, Except for this one, and reading the reviews on here, i wasn't going to rent it. But, I figured since i had watched 7/8, i might have well, rent this one. So i watched it, and i was so happy i did. I Didn't think it was boring at all, i actually found it a bit exciting. I Don't understand, why anyone Can't see the film for the true genius that it is. A Great Edgar Allen Poe Adaption. The Acting was good also. I Am deffinatally going to buy this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
A great update on an older movie. Creepy and sexy but it never lost Poe's "feel".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2010
What else can I say about this film? This is dumb, dumb, dumb, Bad acting, bland script and a stupid story. There just isn't anything good to say about this film. It's a stupid, poor attempt at a horror film. It fails miserably.
I've seen quite a few Fangoria Frighfest movies and I haven't cared for one. Hence, this is the last one I will see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse