Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 100 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 261 reviews
on May 5, 2017
It has taken me 17 years to get around to purchasing this modern Classic, and I have now watched it two nights in succession!! The colour, the imagery, the characters and the music (especially the MUSIC) are all first-rate. I also liked the re-visiting of 'The Sorcerer's Apprentice' segment, which STILL stands up today, as fresh and emotive as it ever was. I remember applauding (in my empty house) at the end of each segment, and not wanting the credits to roll at the very end. This has GOT to be a film to show our children, whether they be 4 or 64. Good Classical music only improves with age!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon October 11, 2002
With one small flaw, this is a wonderful, relaxing and exciting series of animated vignettes set to classical music. The only segment repeated from the original 1940 Fantasia is Mickey Mouse in The Sorceror's Apprentice. All the others are new and of inconsistent quality. Donald Duck is a Noah-esque hero set to Elgar's Pomp and Circumstance; butterflies dance to Beethoven's 5th Symphony; whales fly as we hear Respighi's Pines of Rome; Al Hirschfeld-esque drawings animate Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue; Saint-Saen's Carnival of the Animals is accompanied by flamingos with a yo-yo; Nature battles destructive forces to Stravinsky's Firebird Suite; and Shostakovich's Piano Concerto No. 2 lends itself to a depiction of The Steadfast Tin Soldier. The only weakness is that there are short celebrity introductions which are entertaining but it would be nicer to be able to play the DVD without the interruptions, particularly if you've seen the disc more than a few times.

Extras include: narration or captioning in English or French; two commentary tracks that include comments by the executive producer, producer and conductor or each segment's director and art director; a highlights program; a Making Of feature; and two 1953 cartoons that take place in a bird school and have to do with music (melody and rhythm).

This is a lovely dvd that will stand up to many viewings. Nice selection of animation and music. Very enjoyable indeed.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2010
Fantasia 2000 is one hour and fifteen minutes long and was released in theaters on December 17, 2000. This film is a full fifty minutes shorter then the original Fantasia. In the original Fantasia one host is used and in Fantasia 2000 there are a total of nine hosts\hostesses in this film and that is one too many in my book. Both films feature the same number of musical segments and The Sorcerer's Apprentice is the only segment to be featured in both films. Also another difference between both films it the production of the films. The original Fantasia was produced all at once while Fantasia 2000 segments were produced during gaps of full length feature films and that why Fantasia 2000 looks like is was done if a cookie cutter fashion.

Barring the negatives that I wrote above Fantasia 2000 art is great as well as the animation. The Steadfast Tin Soldier lead characters are completely computer animated as well as the flying whale, which the exception of the eyes, in Pines of Rome. There are over five dozen different colors used in this film alone. Still I was left wanting more. Fantasia 2000 gets a C+.

DVD EXTRAS

Play
Bonus Material
1. Roy Disney Introduction
2. The Making of Fantasia 2000
3. Audio Commentaries
4. Showcase Program-Highlights from the Feature
5. Adventures In Music: Melody
6. Toot, Whistle, Plunk, and Boom
Chapter Selection
Set Up
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
I've had this one for some time and it is a favorite view both for my grandchildren and for me. I have Fantasia as well, but, unlike some professional reviewers, consider both the artistic and production values of the animations in this sequel to be superior. In particular, it has taught me to appreciate a piece of music I previously disliked. I have to admit that in watching it I generally skip the introductions and commentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
Like the orginal Fantasia (which so far has not been offered on DVD in its ORIGINAL form without changes save perhaps digital restoration to my knowledge) this has many elements of story set to music, from the humorous to the sublime. Once watched, one will never hear "Pines of Rome" or "Pomp and Circumstance" without thinking of whales and Noah's ark with Donald Duck as Noah's assistant! It is enjoyable as far as the music goes, but the one detraction is the multitude of famous narrators, a new one introducing each segment. Most are enjoyable, but some could be done without, which detracts somewhat from the overall enjoyment. But this is still well worth purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2008
Roy E. Disney has worked tirelessly to bring Fantasia 2000 to the big screen. Created as a continuation of the dream of a concert movie experience created by Walt Disney 60 years ago with the original Fantasia this new film provides eight more animated segments presented with classical music.

The musical selections are unique. Many of them first broached by Walt Disney himself when making selections for the original film in 1940. Starting with an abstract rendering of Beethovan's Fifth Symphony, the selections include Ottorino Resphighi's Pines of Rome showcasing flying whales, Gershwin's Rhapsody in Blue (a New York story rendered in Hirshfeild line drawings); Piano Concerto No. 2, Allegro, Opus 102 by Shostakovich; Carnival of the Animals (Le Carnaval des Animaux), Finale by Saint Saens; Dukas Sorceror's Apprentice (the lone holdover from the original film); Pomp and Circumstance, Marches #1, 2, 3, & 4 by Edward Elgar and Stravinsky's Firebird Suite, 1919.

The animation techniques are quite good and varied in style and technique. The film was designed to be viewed on the Imax system and the print is nearly flawless. The sound carries over quite well on the Dolby DTS track that I listened to. The disc features quite a few outstanding extras including an hour long making of feature called Fantasia the Legacy Continues; two excellent commentaty tracks featuring Disney, Conductor James Levine and Producer Don Ernst and the second featuring the animators and art directors; a production reel and two shorts.

This one is well worth seeking out to complete your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2000
Oh yes, Walt Disney is a great innovator. But... Fantasia 2000 is a marvellous concert. All the pieces are great music and great animations. The ideas are funny at times, dramatic at other times. The Tin soldier is beautifully rendered on a perfect music. The Jack in the Box only gets what he deserves and the one-legged tin soldier can finally bring his love for the balerina to a real start and fulfilment. I rediscovered the Sorcerer's Apprentice with awe and admiration. It has not aged one single minute. Noah's ark with Donald Duck gives a happily sad version of this famous character of Walt Disney, our dear and beloved Donald Duck. It is dramatic. It is poignant. It is a piece of pure sweet pleasure. The moment I prefer though is the closing tale about that volcanic eruption and the coming back of life from one or two tears from the sad eyes of Nature when she looks down on herself and finds everything destroyed and covered with ashes. Life is eternal. Yet, may I suggest that it is a little bit too optimistic for a western audience, especially a young audience, because it seems to imply that the environment is no real issue, that it will always manage to survive any kind of catastrophy and destructive fury. I could say the same thing about the opening piece, marvellously constructed to its music. We see with pleasure those whales and their kind of eternal survival. They even become mythic. But mythic may mean living in our memories and dead in real life. The endangeredness of the species is not at all addressed as a real problem. I think that Walt Disney is a lot more conscience-building in other films, even if naively. Here there seems to be no conscience-buildingness and that is a regret on my side. This film is for kids. It wants to open young children to classical music or to jazz (What a beautiful piece on New York City with that phenomenal Rhapsody in Blue), but it seems to aim only at entertaining the eyes along with the ears of our children, and little their conscience and reflection. Thinking, social-mindedness and altruism have to start early or they will never be anything but a varnish on top of deep indifference. Dr Jacques COULARDEAU, Paris Universities II and IX.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2017
Bought as future Christmas present for daughter - this is a great video, can't wait for her to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
Disney withholds this from the American market, so had to buy it "used" which can be chancy. This specimen was perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
LOVE! I use this in my music classroom and it helps the music make more sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse