Your Garage World Book Day STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services Bosch Bosch Bosch  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Price:$16.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 131 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 151 reviews
on January 16, 2011
Previous reviewers have complained about the quality and usability of this product. Clearly, from my perspective, the problems with the earlier versions have been addressed by the manufacturer. The scribe now has captured screws that do not turn when tightening the thumb screws. Setting the scribe is easy and secure. The flat back keeps the distance consistent. Once the adjusting screws have been tightened, the tool keeps its setting for accurate scribing. A very useful tool for anyone who needs to fit one irregular surface to another, especially when the surfaces are not flat and square.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
Well designed and easy to use. Great construction and durable. Made scribing easy and helped make the project go much faster and more accurately place cabinets against walls
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
I bought 2 and gave one to a friend of mine, it is plastic, but it doesn't feel flimsy.
I haven't use it a lot but so far so good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2017
Brilliant thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2007
I have been impressed with other products from FastCap but this one is a loser. It fell apart the first day. I glued it back together but then experienced the loosening thumbscrew problems. I'll go back to the drugstore compass...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
works well is as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2005
Why didn't someone think of this sooner, it gave an perfect duplicate scribe of the wall I was installing a counter top against. Now all my workers want one.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2007
The leg that holds the pin is made up of two plastic halfs and nothing holds them together. As a consiquence, the pin keeps falling out and the two halfs split apart.
I tried to contact the manufacturer, Fastcap, and complain but the URL stamped on the product is not a working website. I guess they are so proud of their products they want to hide.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
All in all this thing is a mixed bag. The bottom is nice and flat and it's very adjustable, so it can be great for scribing base to uneven floor or cabinets to uneven walls.. However I've found it to be simply too large and bulky to get into tight areas, and the flat wide bottom is not good for scribing tight turns. For example I needed to scribe a piece of trim that butted up against a bow front tub, but the base was too wide to accurately follow the contour of the tub. Worst off though is that it seems cheap and plasticky, and it's stiff when you need to adjust it. Mine also broke in half when I dropped it from 6ft onto some tile. I probably won't bother with another.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2016
I hope I just got a lemon, but mine did not hold up very well. I had to replace the main pivot bolt and nut after less than a year of use. It does work pretty well for scribing though... It's kind of handy having the option of a point or a flat for different surfaces
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here