Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on February 10, 2015
Ok, so I had to read this book for class, it was so informative. Anyone who is aware of the fact that racism exists should read this. At times this book will make your blood boil. At times this book will be a double dosage of sleeping pills. Either way it is an amazing book and will tell you just what race is, as well as what race is not! Great book!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
A refreshing sounded argument for neoracism of our society. She walks you through a short history of race and slavery and paints the future of our society based on current mainstream ideology of biological "race". She anticipants all of readers' questions. You will see thinks differently after this book. No matter who you are and what you believe, you will benefit from reading this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Partly the raves convinced me to read this. I was already on the bandwagon on the "There are no human races and it's destructive to keep talking like there were" thing. This book tied it up with a bow on it. Once you read it, you'll have your opinion set in stone. In my reading experience it was like Gould's Mismeasurement of Man and the New Jim Crow. And I doubt if youi'll ever be at loss for an argument when the subject comes up. Fundamentally, it asks "if there ARE no human races, then what good sevice does the concept serve?". This book makes the answer incredibly clear: NONE! I'd suggest it even if you're already a believer.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2016
The most important book to come along on race and science, especially as they relate to the possibilities of the human genome.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
Clear, piercing take-down of the invention of race
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
Dorothy Roberts’ new book, Fatal Invention: How Science, Politics, and Big Business Re-Create Race in the 21st Century is a must read for all human beings desiring to witness the beginning of the end of racism.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
Anything Dr. Roberts is involved in is going to be powerful!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2015
Great material, well researched with a wealth of bibliographic info
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2017
Great and informative read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2014
Roberts, a professor of law and sociology, has written an exceedingly well-informed and wise book about race in the post-genome era. She tackles subjects from medical stereotyping and pharmacogenomics to the misguided appeal of ancestry testing. Roberts is equally aware of the immense power of race as a social phenomenon and its worthlessness as biology. Should be read by everyone, but especially by health care professionals and pre-professional students.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse