Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 132 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 239 reviews
on June 24, 2016
I had high hopes for this novel to be an epic for feminism. Instead I found it is about a woman undecided between 2 men. And I don't think this is a problem particular to women. The main character also goes between different stages of her life with men with flashback chapters scattered in the main story. I didn't see a deep point there either.
This being said, the book is quite readable and there are some nice anecdotes that I underlined.

But overall I wasn't impressed with neither the characters nor the events nor any psychoanalysis that was seeped in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2016
A rare read that embodies the soul of women struggling against a world designed by men for men. Sadly, centuries later, the struggle still lives. What? You mean women still don't have the right to decide what to do with their own bodies?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
This story, Fear of Flying, is told from the perspective of a woman so I found it awkward being a man reading its words and imagining in this frame of reference. It is a wildly told tale that anyone with extended psychotherapy under their belt can appreciate. This is what that will do to you. I waited thirty five years from the time my curiosity was piqued by a high school classmate who was reading it, and I'm both glad I waited and I'm planning to order the other book I remember that girl reading, The Story of O. I want to know but don't ask to have to experience any of this. I also started being curious about what she wrote in her other book, Fear of Fifty, just trying to keep an open mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2014
This book was quite controversial when it first came out, so I probably would have given it 5 stars back then. Reading it in 2014, I'm disappointed that the female character feels she needs a man so bad that she freaks out when she thinks she may lose both men that she is pursuing. Interesting male characters: the stuffy but dependable husband vs the bad boy. Soooo many women have a hard time choosing on this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2015
This book caused such a sensation when it came out, but I wasn't old enough to read it then! I wanted to see what was so radical about it. Now it seems dated, but it illustrates how hard it was for women at that time to bust out of gender specific roles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I read this book when it first came out and was quite a sensation. I was in high school and it was the ebbing age of feminism. Re-reading it, I see the extraordinary writing skills of Erica Jong - the language, the depth of her observations, her knowledge of herself and of the human condition - particularly from the feminine perpective. Great characters and locations. I have not finished it yet but it is a thoroughly engrossing read - never mind the language here and there - and I think it has stood up to the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
I read this book by an accident of fate. A new kindle I got for other reasons, a $2.99 kindle edition special offer, and I had just seen some interview footage of Erica Jong in a documentary on Deep Throat. (And then I always remember Erica Jong from Dylan's Highlands.)

What a happy accident!

I would expect this book to generate some polarized reactions. For me, it was certainly a masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
I first read FEAR OF FLYING in 1977. I was 15. My algebra teacher nicked it from my hand, threw it in the trash can and told me it was pornographic garbage, but I was already halfway through the book and smart enough to know that wasn't true. I rescued the book and spent a few weeks in detention, but it was well worth it. FEAR OF FLYING blew my tiny mind on several levels.

Because of the open discussion of sex in FEAR OF FLYING, some of the other important themes get back-burnered. For me, having been raised in the 1960s attending Wisconsin Synod Lutheran churches and schools that were dominated by German culture, the greatest impact of the book was how it made me rethink everything I'd been taught about Jews. (Unscrupulously greedy. Killed Jesus. Automatically going to Hell.) Here was the fresh antidote to the heartbreaking guilt of Anne Frank and Corrie ten Boom, along with an electric cattle prod of enlightenment for a child indoctrinated with the party line about how Jews caused the Holocaust by telling Pontius Pilate, "Let his blood be on us and our children!"

Erica Jong's brilliantly wry descriptions of her family, observations about psychoanalysis and running inner dialogue about desire, ambition, pleasure, displeasure, sanity, insanity and womanhood freed my mind in a way that every 15-year-old mind needs to be freed if the 50-year-old to come along later is to be anything close to happy. Erica Jong's wit and intellect profoundly impacted my understanding of literary craft, and I went on to consume everything else she wrote. My evolution as a reader serendipitously coincided with her evolution as a writer. I consider her body of work a major element in my education as an author.

So now I'm 50, and I just now finished rereading FEAR OF FLYING for the first time since I rescued that battered paperback from the trash. It holds up beautifully, despite the intervening years. The world has changed, but the human heart has not. It never has and never will, and that's what blew my tiny mind this time around. FEAR OF FLYING is a book that begs to be revisited and deserves a place in every enlightened woman's library. Highly, truly, passionately recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2016
I thought this was about thongs. It's not
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2016
There was always excitement, risk, challenges and adventure in Erica's writing. Never a dull moment. Traveled the world meeting interesting people....all a dream for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse