Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 192 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 314 reviews
on March 8, 2015
The ultimate classic vampire story of old. There are many things that occurred on the set of this movie, including the meeting and proposal marriage of Roman Polansky and the Late Sharon Tate. The Charles Mansion Cult murders of the Folgers heir to the billion dollar fortune and of course Sharon Tate and the infant still within her womb. The case drew such public attention over the last 40 years again the movie was over shadowed and because of the fact that the movie was titled as thus...The Fearless Vampire Killers or Pardon Me Your Teeth are in My Neck. thus the subtitle. The wonderful heavyset woman that is the aunt of the sex enthralled dirty old man is Ringo Starr's aunt, a star of many extras in movies and of course the rest if the cast all award winners in their own rights. Ive watched this movie maybe 10 times in my life the first in 1968, the last before this hd letterbox and I have to say, The movie never even looked that clear in the theatrical release. Superior acting, scenery and serious aforethought in the plot, and fortunately we had a chance to witness the acting talents of the late Sharon Tate in her last act.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2017
Plucky, fun vampire film with a lot of grit too. The environment really looks bitter cold and dark. Love the ending. It makes me giggle every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2011
Director Roman Polanski's masterfully brilliant, "the Fearless Vampire Killers," (1966) is a loving tribute to earlier Hammer Studios horror films, ala', "The Horror of Dracula," it's sequels, plus a multitude of other Vampire films the studio released.

"The Fearless Vampire Killers" is in my opinion, the first modern day horror/comedy, or should I say, comedy/horror? Sure, you had earlier films like "Abbott & Costello Meet Frankenstein," "Ghost Breakers," "the Old Dark House (both versions)," even "the Munsters" & " The Adams Family" on TV. These films were geared more towards a younger audience, both in their horror & comedy, where" the Fearless Vampires Killers" is a much more adult & sophisticated in it's comedy & horror, but that is not to say it can't appeal to most age groups today in this environment.

"The Fearless Vampire Killers" is about the bumbling adventure of professor Abronsius (Jack MacGowran of, "The Exorcist" - "There's a alien pubic hair in my gin.") & his assistant, Alfred, played by director Roman Polanski, looking for Vampires in Transylvania. Professor Abronsius is a expert on the bat, & has wrote a paper on the existence of Vampires, but is the laughingstock of his peers, so off he & Alfred go to Transylvania to prove the existence of Vampires & exterminate their plague. These two are so hilariously inept, that they make Abbott & Costello look like Batman & Robin!

The movie starts out with a sleigh ride in the snowy forested mountains of Transylvania, with wild dogs chasing them. Alfred beats them off, while professor Abronsius sleeps, or at least we think he is sleeping, but when they get to their destination, a boarding house inn, the professor is frozen solid, something that happens quite easily to him. Once thawed out at the boarding house, they find garlic hung all over, as the professor smiles & points at all the cloves hung up & asks about the garlic, but to no avail, & our story starts.

(Spoilers)

"The Fearless Vampire Killers" is just filled with one hilarious scene after another. Especially funny is the scene stealing, Shagal, the innkeeper, played by Alfie Bass! When Shagal isn't ogling his female maid, Magda, or sneaking in to her room only to be rejected by her & hunted down by his 400 pound wife, Rebecca, he is kicking his beautiful daughter Sarah (Sharon Tate) out of the bath tub, as she takes two or three baths a day! Sarah taking her ritual bath is attacked & kidnapped by head Vampire, Count von Krolock, played with great tongue in fang by Ferdy Mayne. She's whisked off to the Counts Castle. Shagal goes out to rescue her, but is himself turned in to a Vampire, a Jewish Vampire, which leads to one of the funniest scenes in the movie, as Shagal goes up to his maids room, Magda, to bite her & she pulls out a cross, "Oiee, oiee! You got the wrong Vampire," Shagal giggles & feigns off the cross with a gesture of his hands.

All this eventual leads our dynamic duo, professor Abronsius & Alfred to the Counts castle to kill the Count & save Sarah. Here Alfred meets up with the Count's son, Herbert von Krolock, who takes a shine to Alfred. Yes, the first gay Vampire in movies! Alfred does not know if he is more horrified that the Counts son is a Vampire, or gay, that wants to put the bite on him, literally, LOL! There is a hilarious chase scene between Herbert & Alfred, that just has to be seen to believe! Later, Count von Krolock describes his son as," a sensitive youth," & as I said earlier, one hilarious scene after the other ensues! But, "The Fearless Vampire Killers" does have it's share of down right eerie scenes & a soundtrack that is truly eerie, & in turn, funny at all the right times. A soundtrack that is as original as the movie, & one that is memorable! The film would only work two thirds as well with out it.

True, "The Fearless Vampire Killers" could be construed as a comedy with sprinkles of horror, but the two work so seamlessly together, that the film is a part of both genres, as a whole, & truly the first of it's kind! Many films have copied it, followed it, but few have matched it, & none have surpassed it. "The Fearless Vampire Killers" is just a master work of acting, script, plot, & direction. All the cast members are perfectly cast. It's cinematography truly amazing! This is a film that is beautiful to watch! It's sets, magnificent! It's setting, lonely, eerie, cold, & beautiful! This film begs a top notch transfer to Blu-ray!

"The Fearless Vampire Killers winks at you, as it bites your neck, but you don't mind. If anything, it will be your tummy that hurts from laughter, & not your neck when you watch this film!

5 Stars = Masterpiece
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
You know by the complete title not to expect a serious film in THE FEARLESS VAMPIRE KILLERS OR: PARDON ME, BUT YOUR TEETH ARE IN MY NECK. I've read that it was during this film that Sharon Tate fell in love with Roman Polanksi and they began a tragically doomed romance.
Polanski stars in and directed the film. His boyish looks and innocence give him a charm that betrays events in his later life. I can see why Tate was attracted this quirky man. Tate is stunning in her beauty but again is a film that doesn't give her a chance to show her acting skills. She provides the beauty and the cleavage in a sometimes silly but occasionally humorous film.
Noted Profession Abronsius, who bears a strong cartoon-like resemblance to Albert Einstein, and his slow-witted assistant Alfred go to Transylvania to track down vampires. The assorted array of idiots at the inn deny that their town has a vampire problem but soon the Professor and Alfred are on the trail. Alfie Bass as the innkeeper provides a lot of the light-hearted fun in the film as he tries to protect his lovely daughter Sarah (Tate) from the vampires while he pursues another lovely lady in the inn.
THE FEARLESS VAMPIRE KILLERS has it moments of fun but this silly farce really is notable for it being one of the few film roles of Sharon Tate. Seeing Tate and Polanski together brings up the question of What if?
Would Sharon Tate have become a major motion picture star or would she have settled down to raise a family. Sadly, we'll never know.
Again, this silly film has a few enjoyable moments. It's early in Polanski's career, but it is hard to believe from this film, this director went on to do ROSEMARY'S BABY and CHINATOWN.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
First saw this on late night tv in the early early 70's at the age of maybe 8 with my grandmother. I've always been a night owl and a horror movie fan and my grandmother...being 1 of the 2 most awesome grandmothers anyone could ask for...indulged me!! So not only is this a great mix of horror and comedy (my other love) but it brings back great memories of my Nan and I know she's probably sitting on the couch, trying not to fall asleep, watching right along with me in spirit!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2012
I first saw this film on tv a couple of years after it was released. I've always been a fan of horror films since i was a kid, so naturally I approached this film with that mindset the first time I saw it. It was probably thirty years until I saw it again, with a more mature eye, and it struck me very differently. Most of the reviewers here and elsewhere address the comedic aspect of this movie. That is the main focus, of course, but there is much more to it. Polanski, though born in France, knows how the poorer people live out in the east European countryside; this shows in Shagal's inn scenes and adds authenticity. The sets and settings throughout are gorgeously intricate and engrossing, as is the musical score.
The thing that really grabs me is the underlying creepiness inherent in the film. The count is powerful and sinister without overtly trying to be; the exterior and interior castle shots are stunning. Beneath every comedic scene is an undertone of malevolence that makes you feel uneasy. I sometimes wish that Polanski had made this as a pure horror movie rather than a comedy; it certainly has the foundation for it. As a comedy it is a bit weak, and can't be compared to "Young Frankenstein" (which I also love). It could have stood out as a classic horror movie, rather than being relegated to the cheap comedy bin as it has been by so many reviewers.
Just a wonderfully quirky, different sort of film, worth seeing and owning if you are a fan of the genre at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2017
old campy movie, husband wanted it, he knew what he was getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2016
I have never seen this movie even though I was and am still a fan of Sharon Tate which is surprising that I never got around to viewing it until now. I really enjoyed it. Roman did a good job with it and I think it is a gem. I totally enjoyed it. Such a shame and waste of losing a talent like Tate so young. Who knows what heights she could have gone on to but thanks to those evil Manson druggie killers, we will never know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
There is neither horror nor more than the slightest degree of suspense common to comedy vampire movies. Roman Polanski does get to show his talent both as actor and Director in this satire on the subject. A talented cast makes the most of the script which is more chuckle-full than laugh out loud. It is much in the tradition of Bob Hopes two efforts with the wonderful Paulette Goddard save that the ghosts/vampires/zombies are real, movie-real. that is. At the current Amazon Prime price for the DVD it will provide a pleasant though not WOW couple of hours ( and, similarly, for other low cost methods for watching it).
I enjoyed it and recommend it to those in the general audience. The reaction of devotees of the horror genre I cannot predict.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
This is a tongue in cheek jab and the vampire genre done in Polanski's unique style and sardonic sense of humor.

It's Polanski, okay, so expect the unexpected. The film combines the vampire genre with beautiful cinematography, slapstick comedy, and witty dialog culminating in a film that is unlike just about anything I've ever seen, asking such perplexing and timeless questions as, how does one ward off a Jewish vampire?

What's unique about this film is that it combines photography and direction that creates an atmosphere on the level of the best Hammer films with a comedic script culminating in a dissonance and tension that kept me pulled into the film, unsure from moment to moment as to whether I should be frightened or laughing! The music enhances this approach. Composed by the amazing Krzysztof Komeda, the music itself is beautiful while at the same time camping up themes found in traditional horror scores. Really brilliant in my opinion. From my perspective, only the score to Knife in the Water surpasses this one.

Jack McGowan gives an amazing performance. Polanski is great as an actor/director, and Sharon Tate is absolutely stunning.

Free from the pretentiousness and romanticism that is often linked to this genre, The Fearless Vampire Killers may not be for those looking for the dark sexuality associated with vampire horror/dramas. But if you don't mind seeing that pretense stripped away and made fun of, this film will satisfy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99
$3.99
$4.99

Need customer service? Click here