Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 75 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 115 reviews
on July 29, 2014
For the record..I almost never like the CDs of bands who reform years after their heydays. Dunno if it's because bands and their music are so contextual...tied to a time and place, or if the almost unavoidable changes you can hear in the musicians destroy the illusions of their former glory and youth.

I'm also usually disappointed with unplugged sets of my favorite bands. All of that said, CD 1 The Acoustic Set, really works for me. No, the tracks don't have the fervor and passion of their highly produced and polished legacy hits. Obviously, many of the original members are gone from this lineup. But damn if this new singer can't sing! And the arrangements are very nicely put together and highly entertaining.

It's not the head-banging, dashboard pounding music of our youth. If you want that, put the original CDs in the player. Bam. You're happy.

However, if you're interested in hearing several of your favorite Foreigner hits stripped down to their essence, with the lyrics fully understandable, with soaring vocals and the core melodies upfront and center...you will probably like this set.

Now, CD #2...the remakes. At first I didn't want to like the newly recorded versions. But the novelty of them grew on me over time. Still, there's a certain tinny brightness to the tracks, which may be due to over-compression. The dynamics just aren't there like in the original recordings. A certain warmth is missing. Still, there is a lot to like in the arrangements, the singing and the overall production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
A lot of core Foreigner fans are not accepting Foreigner's current line-up. They tell themselves, Mick Jones shoulda kept Lou Gramm in the band. If he woulda done it, they would still be selling a crap load of records. Mick and Lou coulda gotten back together and been Foreigner once again.

But the truth of the matter is that Foreigner now sounds better than they ever did, ever since Gramm permanently left the band several years back. And Lou has lost most of his singing ability, so Kelly Hanson is actually a true blessing to the band. He perhaps sounds the most like Lou Gramm than anyone else out there whom I've heard, even Lou Gramm himself (in his current condition).

I empathize with those who say that Foreigner is no longer Foreigner with Mick being the only remaining original member. But the current line-up does a wonderful job of cranking out the old tunes. My biggest complaint with Foreigner is that Mick Jones continues to push his band toward Pop music, when everyone knows that deep inside him, that rocker is just waiting to burst back out!
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
If you own classic albums like "DOUBLE VISION" or "4" and believe that Mick Jones and Lou Gram are the only alignment acceptable , you might not want to buy this album. Any band without original members, can not reproduce the original feel of classic albums. I do not belong to the era in which they gave live concerts. Some fans are really displeased calling it Mick Jones and his band playing "Foreigner" songs.

I have all their classic albums, and I don't regret buying this album. It's an additional experience, and yes Lou Gramm is not here ,but give the vocalist an opportunity, the vocalist made an effort to match the original. My respect goes to this band trying to please their fans, offering acoustic well crafted versions of the original radio hits, and re-recorded versions with a classic feel.

For inexperienced bands, reproducing again their radio hits with 2 different approaches (acoustic, and re-recorded), with many studio hours, different members, and the pressure of the executives to sell "tunes" usually leads them to disaster.

This band is no beginner,and even though only 1 original member remains, the instruments are well harmonized and the vocals will give a bit of nostalgia of their classic albums. If respected musicians like Bonham accepted to be part of this project(as associated act), it could be exciting to see this band come back and record new albums with musicians of this size.

Try the CD only if you are open to the idea that you will not hear compilations in the original tempo with the original members. They could have offered more of the same HITS, and instead they went to the studio to re-record their songs, knowing that some fans would like it and some others wouldn't.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2017
I'm not sure what's 'wrong' here, it's foreigner, sort of! I don't know if they were just too old when they recorded this or what, but it's not the foreigner most expect, it's sorta, but something's just off. I can't place it but it's just, off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2017
If you are expecting remastered songs with Lou Gramm singing you will be disappointed. All the old songs are sung by the new singer who does not have the vocal range of Lou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
Interesting album idea. Foreigner went back and re-recorded their classic hits and put it on this album -- sort of a fresh recording for a best of album. People cannot play, sing, perform the same way they could when they were 20-30-40 years younger and I was immediately impressed with how great this album sounded. Listened to it three times and I was left with a positive feeling -- it is the songs you know and love, but are not a new take them but it's not just a simple remaster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
good deal, works great, fast shipping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Plays great and fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
Good One
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
The Amazon product info lists this is as 1 disc, audio CD. In fact it's three discs: two music CDs and a full length concert DVD.

Yeah, yeah, yeah, so it's not Lou Gramm. It's still great rock and roll. And if you've seen them in concert recently, most of the guys on this disc set are the guys you saw in concert. The main disc is mostly a re-release of classic Foreigner songs with a newer band lineup. The acoustic CD is very interesting. And the concert video has excellent picture and sound.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here