Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 196 reviews
on December 9, 2014
I was apprehensive about this book. I read it out of necessity for a class about sex. As with 90% of the books assigned, I had a nagging feeling this book was going to be both terrible and boring. Much to my surprise, it was neither. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It puts an intriguing spin on how we perceive just about everything about sex except sex itself. As it turns out, everything is about sex except sex. Sex is about power, and both genders have that power.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2014
Before reading this book, I wasn’t completely aware of what role some women played in the objectification of women. I think Levy does a good job at pointing out attitudes and behaviors that are often viewed as empowering but that are actually exploitive. It’s pretty sad that chauvinistic attitudes are so accepted in today’s society that most people fail to understand the difference between empowering and exploitation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
As someone new to learning about feminism I enjoyed the way ideas are laid out and explained. helps me to understand why something is sexist even if presented as liberating. Particularly sexuality (image of sex) vs sexual (engage in sex) is put under the microscope. Motivates me to learn more and be more aware in my daily life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
This book is important for many reasons. All women should read this and really start looking around at what society and our culture has become. It's not just in back rooms, or major cities that this is all happening in. It's in every aspect of our lives now, and the damaging effect on our children (and thus our future) is shocking, to say the least.
This book highlights just how much is still needed to be done. We are not Post Feminism, it's not over, it's not something of the past. It needs to become alive again, but with real purpose, not the fake ideals we've been shouldered with and now accept as normal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
This book is a bright light upon the pitfalls of viewing and participating in raunch culture as sexual progress. I identify with the confusion of feeling the need to objectify myself and other women to gain acceptance, as well as the disgust of watching others engage in this exact behavior. What I appreciate most about this particular body of feminist literature is that it doesn't vilify raunch culture for feminism's sake. Rather, Levy points out that the missing component of a woman contributing to raunch culture is that she doesn't typically do it for her own true sexual satisfaction, and that is inherently disingenuous to herself and her body.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
I've seen this book before and passed it up... and now that I've read it, I'm sorry I did! It's insightful and she perfectly captures the social paradoxes we American women find ourselves ensnared it.
We're drowning in raunchy sexuality but we don't even understand our own bodies or how to please ourselves.
We're putting women down (slut-shaming, claiming to not be like "other women") in attempts to earn a seat at the exalted men's table as an equal.
We feel forced to pretend to enjoy other women's bodies in superficial ways (imagine a stripper and her female viewer kissing) to please men but not to really explore that sexuality. (This doesn't apply to bisexuals, bicuriouses, lesbians of course. This applies to the pressured girl at the party when the whole party is demanding a show of girl on girl kissing).

This book was well-researched and written. I appreciate her equanimity in writing it in times where the message is probably the least welcome but the most desperately needed. Thank you, Ms. Levy.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
I highly recommend this book. I was nervous, based on the title, that it would be judgmental toward other women, but it really wasn't. Very eye opening. I loved her snarky writing style. Felt like I was having an honest conversation not just reading. I read it cover to cover in a few days and promptly passed it on to my sister!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2017
Ideally recommended for young men and women who seem to think that their worth is justified by sex and marketable images. A broad look at sex and beauty that's insightful and accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
Reading this book made me reevaluate my whole thought process. I had previously thought of myself and feminine, independent and enlightened but I still compared my strong points to being "like a man." It is odd how brainwashed you can be and not even know it. Ignorance is bliss I suppose.

Anyway, this is a great novel on feminism that won't make the reader uncomfortable. It makes you question some of our culture and assess your own personal thought process. It also made me think of the adult industry in a different light. It's like a beginners look at today's take on feminism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2011
"We skipped over the part where we just accept & respect that SOME women like to seem exhibitionistic & lickerish, and decided instead that EVERYONE who is sexually liberated ought to be imitating strippers and porn stars"

I chose that quote because it illustrates what drew me to this book. It examines our fascination with raunch culture without being A) a prudish lecture telling us all to behave, cover up and be good little girls or B) trying to convince us that by acting as wild, slutty and uninhibited as we can we are really showing how empowered and liberated we are. This is something I haven't really seen accomplished before and makes reading it worthwhile. The writing itself does come across a bit like a series of articles; however it didn't bother me very much at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse