Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Red and Rose nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon startrek startrek startrek  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now



on May 16, 2015
Elizabeth is an amazing storyteller and also on the ground and in the thick of it. She's got a lot of courage in writing about this subject, but also in the time and energy she dedicates to being with these scientists in some inhospitable places.

Climate change is it folks. The big IT. This will become more apparent as the decades pass and we realize that the time to act was 20-30 years ago. Our children and grandchildren will be bewildered at how inactive and/or in denial we were. Let's hope more Elon Musks (and less Jim Inhofes) pop up soon or else civilization, as we know it, is over.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2017
Excellent read! Depressing subject matter. She does a great job organizing the information she shares, as I believe she is a journalist, not a scientist. She lays out all the information a very readable, and even interesting manner. This book is an easy quick and easy read. It definitely should be "required reading" for ALL High School Seniors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2017
Had to get it for school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2016
This book outlines from many different viewpoints the nearly inevitable climate disaster looming in a very few generations. We are running out of time to take adequate corrective actions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2015
Kolbert as always writes clearly and convincingly of the environmental disasters we are exponentially experiencing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 26, 2015
It's an important book and she's an excellent writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2014
When deleterious changes happened in history, survivors had some place to go. Now, somebody's already
there!! The chances the skeptics take with their grandchildren and ongoing generations is horrific -- In the
reckless mindset of mankind. Even if the climatic and environmental changes taking place are primarily due
to "natural geo-variability", no one's sure. And even if so, any increment by man into atmospheric fouling,
marine meddling, and "land-lacerations" (such rain forest removal) . . . is an "elective" increment threat . . .
of chaos and carnage as the lilting prelude to the main extravaganza performance of extinction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2015
I seldom read non-fiction and this book certainly does not read like a fiction book. But, I was gripped from the moment I began reading it. The writing is clear and concise; I didn't need an advanced degree in science to understand it. Miss Kolbert has a rare gift in that she could present facts in an accessible form, a gift much needed in today's world on this timely topic. We, as a nation, must pull our heads out of the sand and become more aware of what is happening to our planet. On this matter, we cannot afford to be isolationists. We've got to do our part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2014
This is an excellent review of the science of green house gases (GHGs) and radiative forcing, and how we got where we are today by changing the (GHG) composition of the atmosphere, and the dire straits we are in the very not too distant future. If you want to be able to explain this science (and politics) to someone who isn't as scientifically inclined, this is the book for you. I'm also considering Requiem for a Species, which is the story of how we got into the mess we're in, and ignored the very science that told us not too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I read Elizabeth Kolbert's three articles in The New Yorker from which this book developed with fascination and alarm. This book is even more riveting. In prose which is always lucid and calm, despite the serious nature of the subject, Kolbert describes her visits to region after region around the world where climate change is no longer debatable but a daily challenge to life.

Reading Kolbert's descriptions of how present day life (and life centuries ago in ancient Akkad) has been affected by climate change made her final chapters, in which she illuminates ways in which present day governments are and (are not) taking the problem seriously even more frustrating. The fecklessness of the present US Administration on climate concerns is especially infuriating. Some reviewers compare this book to Silent Spring. It is my fervent hope that this book, along with The Weather Makers and The Winds of Change, will indeed inspire a new generation of advocates for our world.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse