Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $15.00 (60%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Fields of Exile by [Gold, Nora]
Kindle App Ad

Fields of Exile Kindle Edition

3.9 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 427 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

The author of a previous well-received collection of stories titled Marrow, Gold is a highly competent writer and reportedly the first to focus on the shocking anti-Israel climate now prevalent on many Canadian and American campuses. (Canadian Jewish News)

…the great strength of this novel is Nora Gold’s spot on portrayal of the shock of encountering antisemitism, the dizzying dismay of finding that howling hateful horde even here in Canada. (Jewish Tribune)

Gold offers sensuous descriptions of the Jewish homeland … (Quill & Quire)

Given the climate of anti-Israel hatred, this book is an excellent choice for book discussion clubs and interfaith and inter-political dialogue. (The Association of Jewish Libraries)

Fields of Exile is a novel that tackles some difficult questions. What exactly is terrorism? Does Israel have the right to defend itself against suicide bombers? Are those who attack Israel’s responses to terrorism anti-Semites? What can be done to properly and fairly state Israel’s case on Canadian campuses? Even so, the novel is not political in nature. This gripping work of fiction is also the very touching story of a young woman faced with the challenges of life, both on campus and at home.

(TimesofIsrael.com)

Review

Nora Gold's Fields of Exile is a fine novel: poignant, passionate, compelling, and funny, an adventure of the heart and mind. I don’t think anybody has nailed the way anti-Israel feeling gives the licence for antisemitism as well as Gold has here, and you won't find a more unflinching examination of the terrible ironies inherent in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, or a more compelling portrait of the personal toll exacted from those who face these ironies with courage. This is an emotionally fraught, distinguished novel, often as humorous as it is harrowing. (Steve Stern)

Nora Gold’s Fields of Exile restores one's faith in the possibilities of the novel. It is truly a novel of ideas, a brave book that ventures into territory from which nonfiction has shied away and even obscured the truth. With a lyrical flair Nora Gold has delivered a novel that casts a light onto the ivory tower in ways that should unsettle the faculty lounge. (Thane Rosenbaum)

An engrossing read.… A revealing and searing portrayal of moral courage and commitment amidst hypocrisy and betrayal … seen through a cross-cultural looking-glass. (Irwin Cotler Emeritus Professor of Law, McGill University)

'My heart is in the East and I am in the far, far West.' Seldom has anyone expressed so well as Nora Gold the yearning for Zion that remains within every fibre of one who has been torn away from a life of fulfillment in Israel and condemned unwillingly to return to the anti-Zionism/antisemitism of exile. A brave book that courageously takes on the ambivalences of Jewish life in the Diaspora ― ambivalences that mirror those of the protagonist, torn between two very different lovers. (Alice Shalvi Israel Prize Laureate)

A novel about a difficult subject ― antisemitism in the university ― written with passion and fervor. (Ann Birstein author of Summer Situations and The Rabbi on Forty-Seventh Street)

Nora Gold's Fields of Exile is a gripping tale. It is also a novel of ideas in the tradition of George Elliot, Doris Lessing, and Marge Piercy, but one that is filled with real characters, a literary sensibility, and a powerful example of the near-fatal consequences of anti-Israel aggression. The heroine Judith's vulnerability, dreaminess, erotic imagination, and knowledge of Jewish traditions in both kitchen and yeshiva drew me close and kept me there, and I could not put this book down. I wanted to scream to her, though: 'Danger Ahead! Proceed with Caution,' but she could not hear me. I hope and pray that this novel's readers do. (Phyllis Chesler)

In Fields of Exile, Nora Gold succeeds fully in making her characters debate social and political themes as an expression of their personal complex contradictions. They are luminously alive. This novel is about men and women who are trying to understand and define their relations to each other, as well as their place in society. Wonderful reading. (Naïm Kattan author of Farewell Babylon and Reality and Theatre)

The yearning for true peace and human compassion blooms in these fields of exile. Judith, the protagonist, much like Nora Gold, the author, searches relentlessly for ways to fix the flaws of our world. This is a novel written with an open heart and a loving hand, and with the hope that literature can somehow make amends. After crossing many fields of exile we, like Judith, shall finally find our way home. (Nava Semel author of And the Rat Laughed and Paper Bride)

Product details

  • File Size: 1036 KB
  • Print Length: 427 pages
  • Publisher: Dundurn (April 14, 2014)
  • Publication Date: April 14, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00DGCHNXG
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #951,925 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Religion & Spirituality Books
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
World Literature
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Literary Fiction
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on February 17, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Fields of Exile
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Fields of Exile