Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Fifth Profession has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by Sosa Media
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Ex-Library rental. Disc(s) are professionally cleaned and may contain only light scratches that do not effect functionality. Includes disc(s), case, and artwork. Disc(s), case, and artwork may contain library/security stickers and ink writing. Case and artwork may show some wear. ARTWORK MAY BE UNORIGINAL AND PRINTED BY LIBRARY. Case may not be original packaging. All disc(s) are authentic.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Fifth Profession MP3 CD – Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged

3.8 out of 5 stars 70 customer reviews

See all 27 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
MP3 CD, Audiobook, MP3 Audio, Unabridged
$24.95
$20.94 $9.44

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Author interviews, book reviews, editors picks, and more. Read it now
$24.95 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 1 left in stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gripping adventure, suspense, and espionage are standard ingredients of Morrell's novels. Hired by wealthy and powerful clients as an executive protector, Savage is assigned to rescue Rachel Stone from her sadistic husband on the Greek island of Mykonos. Joined by Akira, his Japanese counterpart, Savage discovers this case extends far beyond merely protecting and safely delivering a client. Pursued by unknown outside forces, the threesome struggle to stay alive and solve a mystery that spans continents and brings horrifying memories to the surface. Bizarre circumstances involving psychosurgery, samurai, and CIA intrigue create an incredible, fast-paced thriller. The plot--if far-fetched--is strong, and the characters are wonderfully drawn. --Nancy Bard, Jefferson Sci-Tech, Alexandria, VA
Copyright 1990 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From the Inside Flap

The Bookcassette® format is a special recording technique developed as a means of condensing the full, unabridged audio text of a book to record it on fewer tapes. In order to listen to these tapes, you will need a cassette player with balance control to adjust left/right speaker output. Special adaptors to allow these tapes to be played on any cassette player are available through the publisher or some US retail electronics stores.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"Love Warrior" by Glennon Doyle Melton is the highly anticipated new memoir about the story of her journey of self-discovery after the implosion of her marriage. See more

Product Details

  • MP3 CD
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio; MP3 Una edition (July 20, 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1597377694
  • ISBN-13: 978-1597377690
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.5 x 6.8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 3.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (70 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #5,018,133 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By A Customer on September 23, 1999
Format: Mass Market Paperback
" The Fifth Profession " by David Morrell is a non stop page turner full of action and a twisting plot through out. The novel is about the adventure of two "Ronin" (bodygaurds) sworn to find the answer behind their nightmares. Savage is an ex American Navy Seal who is a professional bodyguard who takes high risk jobs. He specializes in security, hand to hand combat, and weaponrey. Akira who is also a Ronin is a brilliant Japaness who is a master of samuria and protection. Both men are subject to a shocking event when they meet for the first time on a job. Months later they suprisingly meet each other again and embark on a journey to find out what or who pulled them through hell and back. This book takes you from the streets of New York to Japan, this mystery is full of intrigue and great action. Thought you don't learn any morals from reading this book you learn alot about Japaness folklore and culture. A must read for any adventure/mystery reader.
Comment 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
"The Fifth Profession" by David Morrell is an intriguing tale of two bodyguards stuck with "false memories". They both believe they saw something traumatic, but find that item after item in their recollections did not actually happen. I've run a feudal Japan newsletter for over 10 years, so my main interest in this story was with the Japanese samurai tradition covered, as well as the bodyguard ethics.
The main teller of the story is American, but his counterpart is Japanese, and there are many interesting aspects to his personality and background. Part of the story takes place in Japan, in various areas of both city and country. The bodyguard was trained by a skilled ninja-type (of course) and the descriptions of their fighting style are also intriguing.
The narrative examines the background of Japan as the plot wends its way here and there. Readers learn various stories such as the 47 ronin, and backgrounds of the tea ceremony, zen gardening, bushido, and more.
While this book is not really meant to teach about Japan, the writer did a good job of researching his topic and slips much of the information in as casual background to the story.
If you can accept some of the plot holes at the end of the story, and don't worry very much about details that do not quite match up, this is a very enjoyable book!
1 Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
The first David Morrell books that I read years ago absolutely enthralled me. "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" blended action with logic (the reader knows the logic that the protagonist is using to make each move) and threw in touches of Western and Eastern spirituality. What a combination! Expecting the same quality of books, I recently read some of Morrell's newer books. Wow...was I disappointed! It seemed that Morrell had gone the way of Sidney Sheldon and some other talented writers. Producing quality books had given way to cranking out manuscripts as quickly as possible. "The Fifth Profession" represents some of Morrell's best writing. Most readers who enjoyed "The Fraternity of the Stone" and "The Brotherhood of the Rose" will love this one.
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I've read several of Morrell's books and have become quite a fan. While I've gradually given up the thriller novels, I still like to read Morrell for his clever plots and skilled writing. This book, however, was a severe disappointment. Sure, the plot was decent, if a bit more far-fetched than Morrell tends to be.

My biggest problem was the dialogue. Morrell is too talented of a writer to let him off the hook for this. None of the dialogue is natural. Rather than describe things in the narrative, he uses the dialogue. It was painful to read.

Check out Brotherhood of the Rose and Fraternity of the Stone, two of his best.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on August 12, 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This book was full of action and suspense. I just couldn't put it down. After reading it, I went back and reread my favorite parts. The author did an outstanding job of keeping my attention and wrote a great story. I recommend it to anyone who likes books with action and a strong plot.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Morrell delivers yet again with his knockout which plunges the reader into a gigantic labyrinth of switchbacks as we are introduced to the characters, their lives, their countries, and their cultures. Breathless!
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I have read many books by David Morrell, and this is one of the best ones. The book is filled with interesting characters, exotic locations, thrilling chases and mysterious events. Morrell clearly knows what he's writing about, filling the story with realistic details about professional security experts. Highly recommended.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This was the first Morrell book I ever read and to this day it remains my favorite. I have read it 3 times now over the years and it still locks me in. I probably read four of Morrell's books before I even realized that he was the author of First Blood. I wish they would make a movie out of every book he has written.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Fifth Profession
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Fifth Profession

Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: mystery books