Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Josh Ritter Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 931-940 of 71,454 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 84,880 reviews
on May 9, 2017
I have seen the transformation on the characters throughout the three books on different aspects and levels of complications presented here. Yes there is a lot of sex but there is the psychological effects of C G rotted in what he endured on those important first few years of his life. As for A S her shyness and at the same time her strength and curiosity towards the unknown. I would recommend this books to anyone who would like to explore the many shades of sexuality, emotions and commitment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2017
Many of my friends suggested I read this trilogy, but I was not interested in what I thought the series was about. Don't be mistaken, there are very steamy scenes, but it's the underlying love story that kept my interest throughout the epilogue of the final book.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
I'm not going to lie. I heard many things about this book for at least a good year until I finally decided to see what all the fuss was about. I was incredibly disappointed. I expected so much more from Christian Grey considering how women were swooning in the streets about they wished they had their own. The writing was ridiculously subpar. I don't have a particularly good reason for it, but I feel like if an individual is adult enough to be writing mature content, then they should be able to pull it off without sounding like a 15-year-old. Anna just comes off as whiny and annoying. She agrees to the freaking lifestyle of being a sub, but then she is back-and-forth every other day about whether she can really handle it or not. It's not like Christian wasn't upfront about what he wanted in the first place. I can't even really start talking about Christian or I'll start to uncontrollably rant. So I'll keep it short and sweet-he is, without a doubt, the most unbelievable character I've ever read about. I mean just what I say. I couldn't believe that anyone would write a character like that as if it were plausible that this man existed in real life. To be classed as erotica, it was very boring sex scenes. I read more interesting sex scenes in the regular non-erotica romance books I like to read. Overall, I would never recommend that anyone read this drivel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2014
Do they have Cliffs Notes for this? I bought this book 2 years ago and I couldn't read past chapter 1 without fading away. So I decided to listen to the audio (which is torturous) before the movie comes out. I am now halfway into chapter 12 and really want to just throw in the towel. The writing is really poor that's all that can be said for this. I think people who love this book either have nothing erotic going on in their lives or are pre-teens or inexperienced adults looking for some fantasy. E LJames is a lucky lady who's cashing in. OK concept, but the execution is poor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
I bought into the hype and got this book because I had heard SOOO much about it. What a disappointment. The plot is bland and predictable. The characters are shallow and boring. I mean, come on, a young, tall, copper-haired rich man takes interest in a mousy, never-been-kissed brunette. How is this not "Twilight"? And for a virgin, she sure is adventurous! Let's be honest here, this is porn for women. Pure and simple. While I enjoyed some of the steamy "love" scenes, this is not what I would normally be interested in reading. I didn't even bother to pick up the other two books. I can't believe they are making this into a movie. I won't be wasting any of my money on that either.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
Seriously. I think the reason I couldn't put this crap down was because it was such a train wreck!!!!! OMG!!!! I was CONSTANTLY rolling my eyes at EVERYTHING.

The dialogue is so ridiculously stupid, dull, and unimaginative. Someone that is the CEO of a company, worth billions of dollars, would not talk the way he days. He does NOT sound sophisticated at all and it's so frustrating and unrealistic.

The characters are very poorly developed. I can't stand it. The only person we learn ANYTHING about is Christian Grey. I mean, there's SOME background story to some of the characters, but not even Anastasia gets that much background story. FRUSTRATING!

This woman's writing is also EXCEEDINGLY ATROCIOUS!! Her word choice is unimaginative, her sentence structure is appalling, and, again, the dialogue... ugh!! The dialogue is so redundant. I just want to punch something every time I read the "sexy" dialogue between Christian and Anastasia.

Also, the whole possessiveness thing... come on. Give me a break. And lets not even go into the rape-y undertones.

The only reason I give it two stars instead of one is because of how much sex there is. Sadly, the sex is still very unimaginative due to the lack of better description, but oh well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
I read all 3 of these. I have this OCD where I have to FINISH a story if I start it, despite whether it sucks or not.
I disliked the blatant copying of the Twilight characters, mannerisms and story lines. I also thought the writer was awful. She really lacked the depth of vocabulary to stop her story from feeling repetitive. Every sex scene (there's like 5,000) ends with "And then he found his release". Guh, I wanted to puke every time I read that. Real creative.
With some serious editing this could have been a pretty decent story line. I found out later on, this is Twilight Erotica Fan Fiction. I probably would have been less disappointed if I knew, going into it, that she intentionally copied Stephanie Meyer. I suppose I feel like if you're going to bother publishing your own book, make sure it's YOURS. Too much piggy-backing on the hopeless love story Meyer wrote.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
This is a modern day Cinderella story with a slightly perverse and twisted prince, and that's the best part. Anyway, I found the writing to be somewhat redundant, and after a while the sexual setups rather predictable, but kept on reading and found myself sympathetic to Christian and Ana. I think this would make a great TV movie, but it would have to be edited so severely you would lose the basic premise of the story. It was rather fantastic with all the rich, jet-setting backdrops which gave it that glamorous but not real believable Hollywood story; truly a work of fiction and not very realistic, but a fantasy every girl dreams of - er, most anyway. I found Ana frustrating, but she's so young I found myself forgiving her for her sometime reckless decisions, and my feeling was from the very beginning that this wasn't going to end well given the number of intense pathologies Christian possessed, and I found the change in him not very believable, but it is fiction, so I went along for the ride. It has a happy-ever-after ending, but being in my 60's and having had a fair amount of perverse, controlling and possessive men, I can't say it's a message I would encourage most women to pursue. With men that have this level of possessiveness and controlling nature, they're pretty dangerous, and it's highly unlikely you can just love them into being the man of your dreams, a wonderfully, warm family man. Never seen it happen, or heard of it happening, but in fictional novels, I think that's where you'll find success. I hope this message of reality isn't lost. A dangerous game, completely submitting to someone you don't know well and whose only desire and obsession is to hurt you, and he did do that to a number of women. I do find myself thinking about it days later, a sign I did enjoy it and wish it would continue, but I think at this point it has run its course since there is no way to go but the rigorous and predictable routine of everyday life in a family with kids. Can't say that would hold my attention for very long.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2012
I purchased this book reluctantly, as my book club was interested in reading 50 Shades of Grey and as I was interested in seeing what all the fuss was about. This book is poorly written, the characters are underdeveloped, the language used is terrible, and the story line is flat. The only well-written parts of this book are the incredibly descriptive sex scenes. I'm not sure why it's called a book actually. It should just be called the pornographic writings of a bored housewife.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
When i read the sample i thought the book sounded really interesting, and this was before the book was becoming popular. I bought the first one to see what i thought of the series and i found i was thoroughly annoyed and at times bored with the story. I often felt like i was reading about Twilight characters as the descriptions of the characters often seemed cut and pasted from Twilight and i also got annoyed with the amount of times the characters were having sex and ended up skipping pages until a proper story line began again. I did not get any more of this series as i heard it does not get any better.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse