Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 49 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on November 22, 2012
I am a great admirer of MZD's work, and T50YS is no exception. I actually tracked down an original 50pg copy from the Netherlands last year for quite a hefty sum, and am both disappointed and delighted that it is now widely available at such a low price. Don't let the number of pages fool you, it is exactly the same story, just reformatted to a lofty 298pgs with more artistic inserts and less words per page. It is no mater, the novela is just as powerful, filled with eccentric characters and an intricately woven plot that is so mysterious it will keep the reader coming back for 2nd and 3rd helpings. MZD is one of the few authors who is trying to expand the medium of literature while simultaneously interact and engage the reader. MZD reminds us that literature can be more than just words on a page.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
With the exception of Only Revolutions I love everything that Mark Z. Danielewski has ever written. The Fifty Year Sword is my favorite book though because it isn't a gigantic mind f*** like House of Leaves, it's more of a twisted bed time story. It's a pretty quick read that keeps with his style that is both wildly unexpected and totally engrossing, not to mention that almost every page in the book is gorgeous. Seriously, buy it and read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
MZD, tells a story like no one else. The flow of this book is an easy read. A quick read. All told in a style that takes the reader straight into the story. It is a magical book, weaving in and out of characters and action. It is provocative. The story meanders along a winding road, taking the reader along for the ride. The Fifty Year Sword, is written beautifully and is couched in pretty graphics, swirling, flying images serve as the prefect backdrop for the story and in many ways, are actually part of it. A part of the delivery. It is a beauty of a book visually, and the story line seems timeless. A definite must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
It's meant to be a story told on halloween. However, it is a great story. Read it in one sitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2017
I'm not intelligent enough to give this a fair review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
Apparently I am one those who is enchanted with <i>House of Leaves</i> and hasn't liked anything else by the author. Pity.

Much as in<i>Only Revolutions</i> the art project typographical conceits of this work made it too difficult to read and I couldn't get interested. In HoL these were introduced subtly and built steadily in magnitude and weirdness as the work progressed, allowing the readers to adjust and emphasizing the descentsinto madness of the characters and plot. alike

In this work and OR it just starts off strange and I couldn't get any literary footing. It's rather pretty to look at and I'll keep it around for that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
This book is an incredible fairy tale. I loved everything about it except for the fact that It took me only at most 45 minutes to read. It is definitely not a novel but it is a truly amazing tale. The ending is gold old fashion Danielewski that lets you interpret how it all ends. The dust jacket and outside is awesome as well. I wish I could afford the deluxe edition which is even cooler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
I disliked nothing about this book. It's pretty much a short story filled out to book length with the formatting and illustrations. I was concerned about the whole quote thing but that didn't play out the way it was advertized. I expected the book to be nothing but dialog where I'd have to decode what's happening but the format was classic 3rd person storytelling and the quotes didn't really serve any function as I could tell. Maybe I missed something. I forgive his desire to make his books little works of art instead of just stories. He earns that with his excellent writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
This book probably works better in its original format, a reading or play to be performed on the night of Halloween. It has the usual MZD typographical whimsy. It's a quick read if you want your MZD collection to be complete.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2016
Starts off a little rocky with Danilewski's free-flow writing style and non-standard composition, but once the Story Teller arrives to the party, you'll be unable to pause reading until you're finished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.63
$7.56

Need customer service? Click here