Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 4 Film Favorites: Nightmare on Elm Street 1-4 (A Nightmare on Elm Street, Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddie's Revenge, Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Shop now Amazon Cash Back Offer conj2 conj2 conj2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Back to School



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 8, 2008
This is more of a review for the packaging than the movies, 'cause if you're here, you should know the drill on the movies. This set includes the classic first one and the so-bad-it's-good follow-up, as well as "Dream Warriors," which reinvigorated the series, and its lesser companion, "Dream Master." As Sean L. already stated, the first movie is the standard 1-disc edition, not the Infinifilm edition (A Nightmare on Elm Street (Infinifilm Edition)).

Combining these four movies as part of Warner Bros's "4 Film Favorites" series is a novel idea (and the second half of the series is available as a second "4 Film Favorites" set here: A Nightmare on Elm Street 5-8: 4 Film Favorites). All four movies feature the exact same transfer, menus, and features as the individual releases, but in a 2-disc standard-size plastic DVD case, meaning that this set takes up 75% less room than the individual releases.

However, what you save in space, you lose in packaging. As with all of Warner's "4 Film Favorites," there is no internal artwork, such as a chapter insert, and even the two discs themselves feature no artwork, as they're flipper discs, with 1 movie on each side of each disc. Because of this, the discs themselves look plain and are more prone to fingerprints and scratching.

So, do you care about space or about having the complete artwork for each movie? Personally, I'm a big fan of this "4 Film Favorites" series: I get to have all 7 Nightmare movies (and "Freddy Vs. Jason") in 2 regular-size DVD cases, and the movies themselves have the exact same quality and content as the individual single-disc releases. However, if you can't stand flipper discs, or if you're a collector and care about each movie (and want the 2-disc editions of "A Nightmare on Elm Street" and Freddy vs. Jason (New Line Platinum Series)), then bypass this one.
77 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
These four film favorites pack are an excellent value for fans who want to own all the movies and buy them at a reasonable price. $10.99 for four movies is a very good deal, especially when you consider that a single individual Nightmare On Elm Street film is almost the same price as this four-in-one DVD. Put it this way, this is a cost-effective way of watching and owning the first four films in the Nightmare On Elm Street series, however you lose packaging (you could also buy the Nightmare On Elm Street collection, a complete series box set with individual discs if you're a more serious collector). Unless you really wish to own each film separately, this may be the best way to own all the Freddy movies. This four pack has two flipper discs DVDs with A Nightmare On Elm Street (1984) and Freddy's Revenge (1985) both on disc one, and Dream Warriors (1987) and Dream Master (1988) are together on disc two. To me the best Freddy remains the original but Dream Warriors is an excellent sequel and I like Dream Master as well. I'm not a huge fan of Freddy's Revenge and consider it one of the worst Nightmares but with this four film favorites DVD collection, I still own them all for a reasonable price.

A second "Four Film Favorites" is also available which include Freddy 5-8 : Dream Child (1989), Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare, Wes Craven's New Nightmare (1994) and Freddy vs. Jason (2003). However, these are the lesser Freddy movies, the ones that are a bit more cheesy, too funny and over the top. Fans usually don't like all the sequels and 5-8 are the ones that aren't remembered too fondly. I say for the value this is an excellent deal, four Nightmares film for this low price is convenient for a movie fan and collector like me. If you don't care about packaging and the flipper discs and just wish to save money, go ahead by all means. It's pretty obvious that some of the Nightmare films are better than others but we're not rating them individually, therefore collectively and with the cheap price this collection is deserving of a five for including what I consider the best Nightmare On Elm Street films. 5/5.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
This is a collection of the famous film series from 1-4. In part 1, we are introduced to Freddy Krueger, a human male that was murdered by the townspeople for being a psychotic killer. He makes a deal with demons to be able to enter humans' dreams and kill them in their sleep. Some of the kids of Elm St. barely survive part 1. Part 2 is when Freddy wants to enter this realm from the astral world. One boy must fight the possession of Freddy in a supernatural and psychological battle! Freddy is beaten once again, but certainly not killed. Part 3 is the coolest of all the Elm St. films. WE FIGHT BACK HARD. Some kids discover that they can control and shape their dreams like in the other film Dreamscape(not an Elm St. movie). They use their dream powers to fight Freddy in the dream/astral realm. One heck of a fight but Freddy has more experience and still racks up a body count! One kid is different though and beats Freddy. In part 4, Freddy discovers that he has a young male relative that would make a perfect replacement for him if he ever dies. Too bad for Freddy because the girl who beat him in part 3 is guarding the boy! This is the astral war of the ages between a gifted psychic girl and one of the most scary film monsters ever! Action, horror, and even some macabre comedy on Freddy's part(one liners galore) make this some of the best horror you will ever see.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
the first four were always the best in the franchise to me and i could watch them all day everyday. brand new at a low price, i couldn't past it up. the first four really connected back to back giving in depth detail of the elm street legacy. the first touches on how freddy was a child murderer freed on a technicality and all the parents band together to torch him, setting him on fire burning him alive. then, he returns in nightmares killing their children. part two pays homage to nancy, the soul survivor of part one, leaving behind a diary in the house she stayed in on elm street which is soon discovered by freddy's next victim, jesse (whom he basically uses as a pawn to kill victims throughout the film) and jesse's love interest, lisa. it gives detailed information from part one of how scared nancy was and what happened during her struggle. 3 brings nancy back as an older psychiatrist who befriends a bunch of young teens dealing with freddy on a nightly basis the same way she did and she helps them put pieces together to counteract freddy's assault and onslaught of terror throughout the film. although 1 is the best in the franchise hands down, part 4 is my personal favorite-the dream master. kristen returns from part 4 as a gifted dream master who can pull people in her dreams much like she did in part 3. only this time, her gift is passed onto her best friend, alice, whom freddy uses as a prop to pull in her friends for terror torture. this is a must have for any nightmare/freddy fun and does not miss or disappoint in anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2009
If you want awesome packaging, detailed liner notes, or any of the bells and whistles you wont find it here. If you want the first four, and some of the best Nightmare movies made for a very low price, than look no further. A great little collection for any horror fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
These "Four Film Favorites" pack are a great value for fans of Freddy Krueger. This is a simple, cost-effective way of watching and owning the first four films in the Nightmare On Elm Street series.

As for the films themselves, well, obviously Nightmare On Elm Street Part 1 is the greatest of any Nightmare film. Part 2, Freddy's Revenge, actually gets a lot of flack and is sometimes called the weakest in the series. I disagree. I think it is actually one of the better ones as it carries nearly the same tone as the first. The third film, Dream Warriors, sets a precedent as it starts the "dream" movies as I like to call them. It loses the boyfriend/girlfriend dynamic of the first 2 movies and brings in a group of disturbed children to try to cope with and defeat Freddy. The fourth and last film in this collection, Dream Master, continues after the events of number 3 and again, a group of new kids has to defeat the menace that is infecting their dreams with such nightmares.

A second "Four Film Favorites" is also available which include Freddy 5-8 : Dream Child (1989), Freddy's Dead: The Final Nightmare, Wes Craven's New Nightmare (1994) and Freddy vs. Jason (2003). Buy if you are a Freddy fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
I bought the 4 pack of A Nightmare On Elm Street 1-4 and was not disappointed. I was 13 when the first one came out and it was great; I couldn't sleep the night I watched it, truly horrifying. To this day it still remains one of the best slasher films of all time. To me the first one is always the best one of a series; but I also liked Freddy's Revenge and the second best of the 4 is Dream Warriors. I was a little disappointed in 4; but it was still average movie. I thought after 4 the Freddy series would end and should of. I didn't like any of the rest in the series, because I thought they were lame; and eventually would hurt the series. I would recommend A Nightmare on Elm Street 1-4 to any horror fan; especially for any 1 who loved the first Nightmare. It is worth the money, time and U will not be disappointed.

Thanks,
Kris L. CocKayne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
Nothing amazing on the special feature front but I loved these movies as a kid and when I saw all four for $10 I was sold. Pleased I didn't have to hunt them all down at $15 a piece (there's what 8-9 of them now? And walmart doesn't quite carry elm street 3 every day of the week)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I love this movie and it beings my collection to a complete I have wanted these movies for some time I am a horror buff I gues I love scary movie the scarier the better thank you for making sure this happened and that the item was safe in shipping and got to be in record time thank you again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
The sound quality of this set is way, way, way bad. The music reflected the volume setting of my entertainment center, but the dialog seemed dull and almost muted. It was a pain in the neck to CONSISTANTLY have to worry about the volume while watching these films. I cannot recommend this particular set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse