Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 114 reviews
on July 30, 2017
A story about an aircraft disaster that pits agency against agency (FAA, NTSB, ALPA, affected Airlines and affected Aircraft Manufacturer) in an attempt to find who or what was responsible for one (landing) aircraft crashing into another (about-to-takeoff) aircraft ... and, as there were many lives lost, the stakes are high not to be the one found to be responsible for the tragedy.
Author John Nance has given us a story with well-developed characters, an interesting and believable plot, and enough action (both, in and out of the cockpit) to make this a must-read for aviation-thriller enthusiasts, everywhere.
This was the first book by John J. Nance that I've read, but now that I've discovered this author (and see the other books of this genre that he's written), it, surely, won't be my last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2016
We all buckle in. We all hope for easy transitions. Not once do we dwell on the "politics" of flight. Luggage, a window seat, and time amusements dominate the act of flinging ourselves into the air. The safety net of people and machines are invisibly woven below us.
What do you do when even a parachute wouldn't have helped this moment, suspended in time, surrounded by strangers all hoping to just get from one spot to another? This author has nailed it. The "it" being the intricate dance moves of being human. The delicate chances and choices made every day that have instant consequences for those sitting in the silver tube. Justice has a very bumpy ride so tighten your belt and open this book it will not disappoint. CJ
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2016
Terrible weather with lots of lighting strikes, wind, rain – an A360 Airbus, on its second attempt at landing at Kansas City National Airport, develops some king of problem and finally crashes into a 757 on the runway, killing some, but not all, passengers. Both pilots survive, but both have their issues. So does the Airbus Industry. Is this pilot error? Or is it faulty equipment of some sort? Or – perhaps something entirely different? The terrible scenes of first responders trying to save as many passengers as possible reminds me of many movies with few survivors – horrible to contemplate. But this book would make a great movie just the same! There were lots of technical details but I found them not too hard to understand. Nance also gives us a good look into the workings of the airline industry and the NTSB board. All the characters were very interesting and I loved following them – especially Joe Wallingford, the initial investigator. They were well woven together. This was a great read – great mystery – great excitement and good characters. It is the first of John Nance’s books that I’ve read and I’m very glad that there are so many more to read.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
Final Approach starts with happy family boarding the regular flight with their plane then stuck on the ground because of awful weather and another plane crushing into it at landing killing nearly all passengers in both planes.
Terrible scenes of attempts to rescue survivors, grief of those lost their loved ones in that accident and long investigation of what exactly happened...

The story is deeply troubling because it is a story of people's negligence, irresponsibility, bad management and lack of care for flight safety.

The truth about the cause of that accident eventually comes out in the end, however the bitter sorrow for lost lives of innocent passengers stays with you for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2016
It's a superbly written story. I read it in one day, and I stayed up late.
You'll notice it's an old novel, because no one has cell phones, they use pagers, and they fly on 727's.
Boy do I miss those, you know, comfortable seats, three pilots, half empty and the airline made money?
At one point, a flight attendants served breakfast! Families go to the gate to watch the plane depart! How long has that been?

Anyway, there's lots of side influences that get in the way of NTSB's investigation, politics at the top of the list. I had empathy for our hero, who is truing to get the truth while everyone, it seems is throwing roadblocks in his way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2017
John Nance knows aviation well, it comes out in the accuracy and the details of the technical points in his writing. Final Approach, like other books by Nance, is well paced and suspenseful. A good overall read even for non aviation enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2016
This book is a combination of exciting, suspenseful, and thrilling from beginning to end. The characters are well-drawn and believable. You care about what happens to them. The investigation of the crash really shows what the NSTB is all about. If you watch TV shows like "Air Disasters" you will be just as intrigued by this book. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2016
Great read, indeed. As I am not involved in the airline industry, I cannot attest to the accuracy of the interaction between cockpit crew. If airline Captains relate (even remotely) as described, with airline executives covering their unqualified acts....and government agencies playing politics with passengers lives, all involved should be legally liable. Never the less a real "page turner"....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2016
Not disappointed, I am a former FA and enjoyed a well written, exciting , hard to put down book written by someone who knows the industry. Whomever it was that gave this book one star does not know what they are talking about! The Airbus 320 is a wide body airplane the 737 a narrow body.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2017
Arrived on time and as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.99
$13.99

Need customer service? Click here