Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 108 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 206 reviews
on June 6, 2014
pros:
-the class system was interesting, fun to learn
-gameplay was not difficult to pick up, and not overly explained
-good graphics for this style of game
-challenging bosses
-surprisingly a lot to explore/secret areas/etc. there were lots of places that i saw at early levels that were blocked off, and was able to come back to later, and they usually had some cool boss or secret item, which is cool

cons:
-extremely repetitive grinding. and you can't really not grind in this game, with the way classes are designed. i fought so many dumb level one goblins when i was upwards in the 50-60s, just mashing a distractedly while i was doing something else like reading or playing another game.
-the repetitive gameplay can be kind of depressing. you think, 'why did i spend so much time doing this?' and that's never a great thing to think when you're playing something. the best games are the ones where you don't question it. of course i spent 150+ hrs on persona 4, how else would i have gotten 100%? not the case with this one.
-story is lame
-game overs are frustrating and more frequent than i would have liked
-related to ^, no way to save in dungeons- ughhhh

i haven't played it in a while and i don't remember anything about the music, so it was probably forgettable/inoffensive

that said, i had a lot of fun playing this. i didn't want to replay it or go the extra mile with post-game challenges, but i enjoyed the run.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
This is a 3D remake of the NES version of Final Fantasy 3. FF3 never got a release in the US, so this is the 1st official release of this game in our market,(not to be confused with FF6 for the SNES, which got released in the US as FF3). This version follows the original version pretty well, but also gave personalities to the main heroes and expanded the story. The graphics look really great and the character models have a very adorable look to them, I assume as a tribute to the adorable Onion Knight from the original game. The game plays similar to the earlier Final Fantasy games. You control your main heroes through towns, explore and talk to other characters to get quests and proceed through the story. Through a world map you can direct your main heroes to new towns and dungeons, where randomly you will enter a combat screen. Your character level and learn new abilities allowing them to learn new jobs titles which have different abilities and weapons for combat. During combat, you select through a menu what actions your heroes should perform such as attacks or magic abilities. It’s a great game for any fan of Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest games. A retro game with a modern look.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 25, 2012
There are some good and bad reviews here, but I think overall this is a great game. Final Fantasy 3 was probably the best NES game not released in the US. (NES not SNES... that would belong to FFV). So for the wonderful DS, we get a shiny new release (from the same crew who did FFIV DS and FF Heroes of Light). And it rocks.

I actually lost my original DS copy after playing through to about Viking Cove. I played through most of the game on my NES emulator afterwards and then stopped when I decided to re-buy the game and re-start on the DS.

The DS version keeps the heart and soul of the original. The music is a remastered version of the original, so it's nice to hear the beeping original sounds replaced with a more orchestral sounding score (despite the limited DS hardware). Graphics are improved while retaining the traditional feel of the original. Things are a tad more 3-d, but it's still overall a top down view with the ability to 'zoom in' and check things out. Look for those sparkles for secrets!

Battles are different though. Originally you could face off against up to 9 baddies. Now you go against 1-3 normally (though there are instances where you might face 4). The baddies are tougher. Mainly their hp is a little higher and they are a bit harder to kill. Spells can all hit multiple targets. Good and bad since spells like poison and silence can hit your entire party as well! Stock up on those items!

The ability to change jobs on the fly is great. I love the customization aspect of this title. All of the jobs are equally impressive. I enjoyed playing with a warrior, red mage, black mage, and white mage through the first part. White mage is the weakest job until you get a fire (or other spell) rod and can then hit baddies with some hurt. If you switch jobs, there is a slight 'down time' where your abilities are weakened and it takes a few battles (up to 10) to get over the reduction. Makes it tough to switch jobs while deep in a cave or high in a tower, but that's life! Also if you switch from a non mage job to a mage job, you have zero magic points. True even if you switch from mage to non-mage to mage again. You lose.

Sometimes the graphics get annoying. Typically when they clutter too many objects on screen. This is mostly in houses within towns. Dungeons are pretty slick though. Once you get to the Tower of Owen you will see what I mean.

Overall the game feels more like Final Fantasy 4 than Final Fantasy 1, despite the appearance of the original being so similar to FF1. But the designers were already working on FF4 and some of the ideas that were going to be implemented in FF4 also went into this game.

It's a long journey, one that will take around 30 hours if you try and complete most side quests and collect most items. The difficulty is high, as well as the encounter rate being high, so don't expect to get through this game without seeing the game over screen at least once. I've beaten every Final Fantasy and FF2 was the only one tougher than this in my opinion. Though FF1 (the NES version) was pretty close to this in difficulty. You will want to spend a bit of time level grinding, or if not, then save often.

Saving often also became my mantra for this game when I entered the sealed cave, just to fight a couple of battles and see how tough... Unfortunately I hadn't saved since I was just Luneth in the party, all the way through getting all four characters... First battle were those copper coin things, hit and confused two of my party members in first round... yeah... couldn't escape... death ensued. Then re-doing 30 minutes of running around to get the characters and talk to Cid and the king and... phew... so save OFTEN! And some monsters will be strong enough to wipe you out and are made that way. You cannot beat Bahamut, so he will kill you and give you game over if you do not run. The sea monster will also kill you in two rounds since it gets two hits per round, hitting your level 10-13 characters for over 6000 damage. (Save right after Viking Cove and don't get on the ship for the love of...). And that reminds me. Enemies could only take one attack in the NES version (for example the boss Medusa was easy as cake because she only hit once, usually with an ineffective Break spell, but in this version she gets two attacks, usually a fire 2 spell or Break spell with a physical attack for the other), in this version the ability of several enemies to take multiple attacks per round adds some challenge. Especially in those tough boss battles.

But with patience comes reward. This is a complex game and when you realize it was originally released on the NES and that this version keeps most of the original core of the game intact... you realize the sheer awesomeness of the NES original. I am sad we missed this one back around 1990, 1991 but playing it on the emulator was fun. Now playing the re-make on the DS is the final icing on the cake. Thank you Square Enix for a job well done!

Pros:
+ Remarkably free from noticeable bugs or glitches.
+ Very good, enjoyable remastered soundtrack.
+ Lots of depth with class changes.
+ Ability to change spells between members so they aren't 'stuck' with one character.
+ Newly updated story with individual characters.
+ Good difficulty level and decent encounter rate.
+ Lots of stuff to do so a long adventure.
+ Better job leveling system than the original.

Cons:
- Graphics generally good, but some areas hard to see.
- Encounter rate might be too high for some.
- Higher difficulty might turn off some who are used to later FF titles.
- Zooming in or 'checking' for secret areas can get tedious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
Final Fantasy III was originally not released in the US, along with II. However, II saw a release with Final Fantasy Origins on the PlayStation 1 with the original Final Fantasy, and also on Game Boy Advance. This DS release is the first time the American audience has seen, and it's quite a good one. Like the first two games, you only have 4 characters, but III originated the Job system. You unlocked different Jobs, or Classes, for your characters as the story moves along, and you end up with quite a few different options for your party. You start out with the original 6 Jobs from the first game, Warrior, Thief, White Mage, Black Mage, Red Mage, and Monk, and eventually you have 23 to choose from. Being able to mix and match your characters' abilities is nice, as your party is never predetermined.

The music is fantastic, as always with a Final Fantasy game, and the graphics are quite nice for the DS. Also, the game is fairly difficult. If you're not a fan of leveling up your characters, you won't get far in this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
I find Final Fantasy 3 on the DS to be very enjoyable. The battle system, equipment system (ability to have weapon and shield or weapon and weapon is a superb feature), and the job system are all top notch. The controls are just fine and navigation around and in the world is as well. Final Fantasy 3's graphics bring the game to life: in-game and the opening movie are aesthetically pleasing. Even though I didn't use the zoom-in and out feature of the camera that much, it was still cool the couple of times I used it.

When playing a RPG, I want to have a good story. What makes for a good story? I think purpose and character development make for a good story. Final Fantasy 3 gives you a purpose for playing the game, but lacks in character development unlike the Final Fantasy games I am used to (Final Fantasy 7 was the first final fantasy game I played...I know, I know, I'm young - I was 11 when I played it and it was new). Does this cripple the game? No, not at all. The game is still enjoyable - it's fun, but overall it could have been better if the story had more dialog and character development.

The difficulty is normal. I had trouble on one boss. What did I do? I went up a couple of levels, then squashed him. If you try to rush through the game, by rush I mean not leveling up in between castles\dungeons\etc., you will find yourself *stuck* because honestly, you can't rush through the game. Anyway, the fun part of RPGs is the leveling up or beefing up your characters.

I highly recommend this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2007
Whenever I play any Final Fantasy Game, any version, I always find myself measuring it to the original Final Fantasy for the NES; to me, its the standard because of its degree of difficult and surprise that matches its simply level building game product. Since that version of the game, the Final Fantasies have not lived up to it, not even close, and a lot of it is because Squaresoft is trying too hard.

But most of us haven't play this, the real version of Final Fantasy III. Though it does not live up to the Standard!, FFIII is that game that links the first two FF's and the rest in more ways than just in title. It has the typical storyline, and some of the original FF characters you use to play the game are back in the form of Jobs, and that's just six out of the twenty-three other Jobs that come available as you progress through the game, which include their upgrades such as Warrior to Knight for example. However the game does allow you to challenge yourself with the other Job classes, which in turn can make the game very easy or very difficult. Of course as with the Game Levels you have to increase your Job Levels in order to make your charcters effective in their roles. This does two things, good and bad respectfully: it can give the game tons of replay value and challenge, but it requires a considerable amount of patience, more so than in the previous two versions of Final Fantasy.

Which in that last view is the game's big weakness. It can take time to build up Game Levels because the search for enemy fights can be time consuming and daunting. Even on the world map it can take many steps and many minutes before you run into an enemy encounter, and after a while some of those enemies are so weak it forces you to go into dungeons next in the storyline to fight. That may be the intention of the game designers, but to some degree the enemies at some points are just far over level and can put a serious beat down on parties made up of new Job characters.

The Job system can be a blessing or a curse. Not all the Jobs are available in the beginning, and in order to open the Jobs to strong Job Characters you have to make some late accomplishments in the game. Though it is motivation to play the game, it can get tedious, especially when special weapons and armor when you reach Job Level 99 become available for a weaker character just after you have unlocked a much stronger character who's at Job Level One. It would mean more hours to play the game in order to boast the Level Effectiveness of the said character. That require....well, work! They don't call it a Job for nothing. Then again, games are not supposed to be about work, but about fun. Because of that the game gets 3 Stars.

Overall, if you ignore the caveats, Final Fantasy III does have descent game play. Graphically it could do better, but in a turn-based RPG graphics really don't sell the game. Though 3-D like, it can chunky at times and after a while boring to look at. The dungeon environments are very good with it's slightly looked down on look. Strategy is emphasized, made more by it's saving features than by the bosses themselves, but even then Job character comes into focus on the tasks at hand. You can work around that, such as buying magical keys to open locked doors instead of using a Theif to pick the locks, but in such cases it will cost you money.

Barely it gets 4 stars overall, being hurt by the game's small fun factor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2009
FF3 is one of three games telling how the crystals came into being and how they are threatened. IV is the first to move away from this direct storytelling, i say direct as in not "a joke" or "stupid" as some have pointed which bothers most real gamers who played in the 1980' 1990's and are not so spoiled as kids now. The main plots are strait foreward, but a good start to more grandiose stories later on, as in 4 or 6 and the sucessors to them. As with anything you -start- with a simple plot and work up to the big stuff. The "3D" graphics are spectaular for a gameboy anything but the characters are cutzy dolls and look girlish though i ignor this and play the game for it's dialogue and gameplay element. Even if animea is compelled to draw thier male leads as girlie, they could at least make them less so than these(particularly "Luneth" who I call "Lameth") In the case of these "paperdolls' I would have just kept the original way. The "Avatars' (portraits you never see) are good, just the "figurines" are lame. This game is like FF5, you use "Jobs" to distinguish one PC from another. Yet in FF5 you can (sometimes, not all) compliment one job while taking another, not here, a warrior who was once a thief, for instance, cannot steal, no matter what level a thief he was until he returns to that profession. Thier is no use in switching jobs for a unique ability otheer than doing the task at hand, as in shrinking yeilds nothing unless you are a mage, not a fighter. Fighters can't do well at 2" tall magic works the same at any height. This is good, though for some odd reason changes during Cecil's rein in FF4 where "toads" and "Pigs" fight pretty well against "giant flame lizards" or what. though this is a recap, plotwise, of FF1,and 2 it is still interesting in how you carry this out via quests, and subplotts, a good game element not in storybooks. It's not what you do that is interesting it is HOW you do it! FF1 was merely wondering around a huge ridiculously laid out map for citys to find quests in about the crystals, ff2 was a bit more complicated in these quests, now you have most characters having agendas, not just "Larry Darrel/Darrel(an old joke from us 1980's gamers). Each of the four adventurers as well as most key NPC's have a big agenda(teaching the value of live and let live), they are not just there for the player. That, more than the main plot is what makes FF3 a good game and set apart from FF1/2. RPG's don't need a particular plot just good way of telling it. the graphics i won't go into, as that is not what truely makes a game, though they are nice, it is odvious they are very good and better than the original even better than the original ff4/2 which for 1990 was spectacular!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2007
I've played this game in English and in the original Japanese (even though I don't speak or understand Japanese). I absolutely love it. It has the feel of an old-school Final Fantasy game but with amazing graphics that would impress anyone. I will admit that I had more fun playing it in Japanese than in English because I didn't understand most of what was going on and every new item, weapon, spell, etc. was an adventure as I tried to figure out what it did. =)

If you are a "new" Final Fantasy fan, you may be a bit put-off by the amount of time you need to spend to really make your characters amazing. You may also be a bit frustrated with the segmented and predictable plot. Modern Final Fantasy fans (who started playing the games at or after 7) are just too used to the complex and multi-layered plotlines of the modern games. However, those of us who have been dedicated since the Nintendo console games will love the timeless crystal story, the linear plot, and the job system that makes the game wholly customizable. If you were a fan of Final Fantasy 5, you will definitely love this game. The jobs are different and the gameplay is a bit more simplistic, but you'll see a lot of the things you loved about 5 in this game- with better graphics and the ability to travel diagonally.

If you're a casual RPG player, you also may not appreciate Final Fantasy 3 as much as a die-hard enthusiast of the series. While the graphics are cute, the game doesn't have the finesse of most modern RPGs. There are lots of hidden treasures, random encounters galore, and a noticeable lack of many side-quests that modern RPG players enjoy. However, this is a great remake of a classic RPG and those who can appreciate that will enjoy it immensely.

One of the fun, minor aspects of this game is Mognet. In each town, you can talk to a Moogle who will connect you to the Nintendo Wi-Fi network. From there, you can write little messages to other friends who have the game. Part of this fun of this game, for me at least, has been finding and making friends with other FF3 players. As a side note, we had no problems setting it up with our existing home wireless network. I simply configured the settings on my DS lite and can access it no matter where in the house I'm playing. The little notes from other players really add another level of enjoyment.

To put it bluntly, you simply cannot pass on this game if you are a true, hardcore Final Fantasy fan. It's a canon, mainline game and very well done. In my opinion, it is even worth getting a DS just for this game.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2016
Just started after completing Bravely Default. Graphics sux; once you die, you start over again. Also, the supported Wi-Fi connection does not support modern protocols.

Still, it is an older game and decent for its play value. I'll update again after I've completed the game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2013
I must admit, I ordered this product thinking it would be the game I grew up with and loved. Unfortunately, I did not realize that the FF3 game I used to play is now called Final Fantasy 6. I urge people to make sure they are ordering the correct version (this one has four characters, the main one being Luneth, rather than Terra and Locke and the gang). It is a very fun game, though. As with all Final Fantasy games, it is somewhat difficult to figure out exactly what is happening without using the internet to find out what your next move is. Over all, fun game, good graphics, interesting plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here