Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Book House Cleaning henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Price:$25.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 143 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 223 reviews
on April 16, 2017
Surprisingly, I still like the original SUPER NES version better.

That aside, its pretty similar (not visually though) plot wise.

Maybe I just have less patience from when I was younger, but grinding for levels feels like it takes longer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2017
Original casing and manual just like seller advised. Plays like a champ! Classic Final Fantasy Story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
satisfait !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2016
Solid game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
Hands down a great classic game that was released on the Super NES as Final Fantasy II. I would recommend any Final Fantasy head to pick up a copy. They also made a few changes to the game mechanics and added some cut scenes... this is a must buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2008
When this game was first released here in the states a group of us got together and powered through it over the first 24 hours (give or take) of having. We'd each take turns playing for a couple of hours. Eventually everyone else fell asleep and I kept on playing. By dawn the next morning I was in the last dungeon marching through the multitude of mini-boss battle to the final boss. Some great memories there.

Now I get to play this awesome game again, just at a more leisurely pace this time. One of the reasons to take more time with the game is the inclusion of mini-games for you Eidolon Whyt. These mini-games are pretty fun, reward you with items, and increase the strength of Whyt when you summon it for battle. Also new to the game is some nice cut-scenes and voice acting. It brings the game up in the epic feel while still retaining everything that the great offered when it first came out.

If you are an FF fan and a DS owner you probably don't need these reviews to know the game is worth buying, but if you are on the fence rest assured the game is definitely worth buying.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
This game, along with Pokémon Sapphire, was a pinnacle of my childhood. I am overjoyed to see this classic remade with stunning graphics and amazing video cutscenes. Each time I play I get wonderful deja vu, whether it's seeing what happened to the twins as they sacrifice themselves to save us or simply flying around the underworld. The remake truly is a treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2014
Oh how I miss the era of 90's games, where the JRPG was king. There were many gems during that time, but Final Fantasy IV will always have a special place in my heart. The definition of a JRPG classic, FFIV was a pioneer landmark that truly ushered in an age where video games could tell a complex story just as well as any movie or novel. While many Final Fantasies came after this one, most of which can be argued to be "greater"/better, FFIV's status as a classic cannot be denied, and I'm happy to say this remake of it is worthy of the original in every way.

First off, the original FFIV is a beloved entry in the series for a number of reasons. In many ways, it was the first of its kind in terms of storytelling in games. It has a rich world filled with likable, memorable characters with motives that make each easy to relate to and root for. The story is filled with events both exciting and poignant, many of which are truly unforgettable. The whole experience is saturated with charm and a tangible sense of adventure. The gameplay follows the traditional JRPG formula to great effect, with a wonderful balance in its RPG elements. Nobuo Uematsu's soundtrack for this game is legendary, giving the already exciting story even more grandeur and gravitas. The game is definitely one of the best entries to grace the Final Fantasy series, and I hold it in high esteem in my heart alongside FFVI, VII, and IX. It's a lovely game. That been said, when you get a chance to play a remake with so much effort put into it, and from the same core team that worked on the original so many years ago no less, you take it, and you thank yourself and the gaming gods you did. This is, without a doubt, my personal favorite version of FFIV.

Why is this my favorite version of Final Fantasy IV? After all, you can get the game in its original SNES form (including digital rerelease form for the VC and PSN), as well as ports for the PS1 and GBA, and an even more recent, arguably more retro remake in the form of FFIV: The Complete Collection for the PSP which contains both FFIV's sequel AND a brand new interquel. So again, you're probably wondering why this is my preferred version. Let me tell you...

- The script. The script in the original SNES release, when it was known as FF II in the US, is imfamously known to be terribly botched. The localization team back then had no idea what they were doing. For this DS remake, however, Square went all out and had Tom Slattery translate this new version's script (the stellar Chrono Trigger DS translation was his work as well). The result is a script that finally gives the timeless story of Cecil and his companion the grandeur, depth, and sophistication it has always deserved. This is, without a shadow of a doubt, thee vest best translation of Final Fantasy IV. It has a tremendous amount of depth and nuance to it, and this story has never been more enjoyable to take it. It also has a great deal of levity and humor to the mix as well, including the "YOU SPOONY BARD!" line lovingly preserved. It's a wonderful balance that makes the story so compelling and charming. Complimenting this script in certain places are excellent cutscenes with voice overs from voice actors renowned in the business for their skill and ability, and they hit it out of the park here. Almost every character benefits a lot by their voice actor and new script. Not only that, but some characters' stories have been expanded to include more depth and background, which is also very much welcomed. Knowing that the same core team as the original wrote these new parts makes the entire story in this game feel brand new again. This, in my opinion, is the most compelling reason to view this as the definitive version of FFIV.

- The engaging changes to the gameplay. In order to make this game appeal to veterans of the original game, the development team worked hard to give this game a much increased level of difficulty, and they definitely succeeded. This version is hard as nails in terms of its combat. Enemies hit a lot harder. Bosses are so difficult, you really need to learn the right strategy just to stand a chance at beating them. While some may chafe at the difficulty of this game, I personally thought it made it more engaging. You are required to be quick with your fingers and your mind as you enter battles, employing proper strategies to stay on top. I really enjoyed this myself. There's also a new "Augment" system in place that allows you to teach certain skills and abilities (ones that used to be limited to certain characters) to anybody of your choosing. This new system allows for even more strategy and planning, as you can combine abilities in ways that lead to devastatingly powerful characters. For instance, teaching Cover and Yang's Kick augment to Cecil allows him to retaliate after defending an ally from attack with a super powerful blow to, not just the enemy who attacked, but every enemy. Talk about a powerful combination! This augment system made what was already a fun JRPG into an even more engaging experience.

- The visual enhancements. This tends to be the most controversial aspect to the game that turns people away. No one will deny that the environments and enemies look fantastic. Battle screens look splendid, the overworld is charmingly colorful, the towns all have distinctive personalities, and the visuals shine even in close-up scenarios in the cutscenes. What people seem to have a problem with are the "chibified" models for the main characters, but I personally like them a lot. I don't understand why some think they're untrue to the originals. If you look up promotional art for the game from its release, they looked a lot like the characters do in this game, except now they're a lot more detailed. Heck, they look like the PSP version's do but in a 3-D world. I find they are given more emotional expression in this style. I don't get the hate. I think the visuals in this game are pretty gorgeous, and they really seem to push the DS beyond its capabilities. As far as I'm concerned the visuals are a win in this game.

- The audio enhancements. Like I said earlier, Nobuo Uematsu's soundtrack for this game is splendid, filled with a sweeping grandeur that still sounds great. For this remake, they remade the wonderful compositions with much more lush orchestration that befits such a moving score. Anyone who hears this game's version of Interlude, The Red Wings, the Overworld Theme, all of the battle music, etc. are in for a genuine treat. Wonderful job here! Like I said earlier, the voice acting in this game is another audio aspect that could have been disastrous but turned out great here.

Let me be clear, I am not bashing any other version of FFIV with this review. I love the PSP Complete Collection version of this game a lot myself, but with the aspects mentioned above, it is my personal opinion that this DS remake is, hands down, the best version of Final Fantasy IV available. The original was and still is a wonderful game to take in, with many timeless aspects, but with the DS remake, you get what was already a classic elevated to the level of a masterpiece. Square did great with this one. IF ONLY they would give Final Fantasy VI the same kind of treatment for the 3DS! So buy it, prepare for an amazing tale of redemption, friendship, and adventure, rediscover a landmark in video game history.
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2008
Seeing that Final Fantasy IV (known as Final Fantasy II for the Super NES) was released around 15 years ago, there are a whole generation of youngsters and teens that never got a chance to experience this game.

And, for some of us, Final Fantasy II was one of the best RPG's we ever played.

So why remake a game that is over 15 years old, especially when so many other good FF games (including FFIII(VI), FFVII, FFIX and FFX) have come out?

First of all, FFIV introduced the Active Time Battle system into Final Fantasy games. This has been the standard (for the most part) ever since. Second, the story in FFIV is outstanding, and even surpasses other FF titles that have come out on next gen systems. Third, the game has been given all new voice acting, been retranslated, and made much harder than previous releases of FFII (the US got the "easy" version).

Graphically, this game pushes the limit of the DS. Both the CGI's and the Summon animations are outstanding. Backgrounds have been enhanced and look nothing like the blocky SNES ones.

As for sound, FFII had a great score (again, some would consider it the best of the FF games), and while some found the voice acting terrible, I had absolutely no problem with it and it added to the experience.

For the DS, a new Augment system was added, and pretty much is mandatory to learn and use if you want to beat the two new optional bosses in the game. It definitely adds a new level to strategy (and, you have to play through THREE times to get all the augments and special bosses!). The replay value was significantly increased by these actions.

However, the one thing that may hold FFIV DS back in terms of being perfect is the difficultly level. This is not an easy game. Whether you are a FFIV newbie, or played previous versions, you are in for a shock. Message boards have filled up with people dying in places that would have been considered ridiculously early in previous versions of FFIV. Be forewarned: Level grinding is definitely required in this version. And, I would not have this be the first RPG for someone, let alone they get frustrated and chuck their DS!

Overall, this game is an awesome walk down memory lane for some, and introduces others to just how great RPG's have been in the past.

Definitely pick this product up. For sure one of the top 3 RPG's on the DS, and miles above FFIII DS!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
FF series just keeps getting better and better! FF4 might be an old game, but the DS version has crisp graphics, great voice acting, and even mouth movement during cuteness! It may seem like a small thing, but it helps you feel more immersed in the game. During cuteness, there are sound effects too, like Cecil's armor, and footsteps. These are big changes compared to FF 3. Combat has a wait system now, and there is even movement in the enemies! They are more detailed too. The music is great too. There are several memorable characters, and without spoiling anything, there are times when you feel emotionally tied to some of them too. All in all, one of my favorite early FF games.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 13 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here