Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Price:$23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 123 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 174 reviews
on January 25, 2017
As a big fan of the first Tactics Advance I was disheartened to find out that I just couldn't get into this game. Don't get me wrong the graphics are a step up with some nice flashy 3D animations for attacks definitely adding for the immersion of combat. Sidequests are a lot more diverse this time around ranging from search for something in an area, gather reagents for an alchemist, to protecting civilians this game definitely improved on it's predecessor in the majority of areas but disappointingly falls flat in one of the core aspects of the original game. The laws. Laws in the original game stopped you from using certain attacks to completely negating a race from the battlefield but you could also overturn the laws with the outlaw cards. In this iteration they want to drive the player over the edge by making laws over things you absolutely CANNOT control. Say you hit an enemy and they move over a space, yep you could lose all the benefits from the battle now. Missed a hit? yep thats illegal in this game too! These unwise decisions to try to build upon a great game ended up tearing itself down. A once fun experience turned into frustration no wonder why they haven't made a new game in years.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
As someone who thoroughly enjoyed the Final Fantasy Tactics series installments on handhelds, A2 satisfied that craving for turn-based strategy incredibly well on the DS. In comparison to previous installments, the game feels much more accessible to casual gamers (those who might pick up and play on occasion) but absolutely holds enough deep content to reward those who have played FFT before who may really want to invest their time finding every side mission and secret weapon.

The premise of the game is much more on the light side and feels something akin to a children's book at the start. But DO NOT let that stop you from trying out the game!! The story inevitably comes into its own and becomes more rewarding the further in you get. The battle system alone sets the game apart from most RPG's as well as how much fun the job system adds to fully customizing your crew of mages, soldiers, and archers (amongst many many other flavors of warriors). This game is great for long road trips or as a gift for the more meticulous and strategic minded gamer. I highly recommend giving this one a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2013
But I still really liked this game and pumped hundreds of hours into it. The mechanics are still there, even if the plot is less ambitious and kinda cartoony. It is still a good game to look at and play, and I had a lot of fun with it. The Judges really pissed me off, though. "No fire magic!" Okay, jerk. I'd be almost done with the map and forget someone had a fire sword equipped and have them attack someone else...d'oh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
A great sequel to the GBA hit Final Fantasy Tactics Adcance. They kept a lot of the same mechanics as the first game but modified them slightly.

A major down side for me is the lack/poor usage of the touch screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2008
PROS:
- Better graphics (particularly dialogue pictures and spell effects)
- more jobs/weapons
- more challenging (fighting king blue for the first time will shock you)
- option to dispatch a person or go on quest yourself (for a lot of quests you use to could only dispatch someone in FFTA)
- dealing more damage from enemies behind/sides than from the front
- more play time (as if the one on the GBA didn't have enough)

CONS:
- storyline is not even close to being as good as the original FFTA. You start with a little punk with no respect for people.
- I don't think judge system is as good (some of the laws are practically impossible to keep) in that the enemy does not have to worry about the laws. If the rules are not to use MP, your enemy can still dish out MP w/o any penalty. This is especially frustrating when fighting against other clans. I liked the old rigid law system better.
- There isn't as much penalty for hitting a person face to face. (The % chance of hitting them is the same as if you hit them in the back) I prefered a bigger punishment for hitting people face on. Expect a lot more spells to be successfully performed on you (doom, sleep, confuse, and my least favorite, charm)

Overall, I enjoyed the game, even though I liked FFTA for the GBA better. If you are as thorough as me, you will get 120+ hours out of this game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2008
I bought this game having played the original Final Fantasy Tactics for playstation a long time ago and I assumed this would be more of the same. I was part right; the combat system is deep and complex. Graphically, the game's animations are excellent. However, during combat you must sit and watch these same animations many times over. The animations combined with lots of menu interaction generally makes single battles take a very long time, around 15-30 minutes each.

The worst part of this game however, is its story. I knew from the reviews I read that the story would be childish, but I thought that it would not be such a big deal. I didn't realize just how infantile it was. If I had, I might not have bought it. The story must have literally been targeted to kids who just learned how to read, which is strange because most kids that age would probably have trouble learning the game's complex combat system. I feel extremely silly at 26 years old having to click through it all. I would recommend watching a few movies of this game's cutscenes to see just how relentlessly corny it is before you buy it. Aside from that it's a good game.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2013
Overall I had a lot of fun with this game. It felt like it was aiming at a very young demographic with their graphic style and sound design. That is quite an odd change from the PlayStation classic Final Fantasy Tactics, Regardless, it still offers a lot of variety and is constantly urging the player to try new roles since you learn skills through the weapon you have equipped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
It is a cool game, it is fun and it delivers. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because it is way too similar to Tactics Advance but with another story, and the current story isn't that great either. But it has some cool races and jobs so that was good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
It is quite different than the original Final Fantasy Tactics, which I've been a fan of since it appeared on the original Playstation. I still find it to be quite enjoyable though, and very addictive. The storyline is much simpler, as it seems to be aimed toward a younger demographic. That doesn't mean that the strategy is less complex though. I have always felt that turn-based strategy like this is best suited to handheld consoles, and this game is no exception. it's a great game to pick up and play through a battle, even if you don't have a lot of time. Quick Saves make this even better. There are a lot of abilities to learn and classes to unlock, so it has a lot to offer for those who are completionists. I hope that they will make more games in this series in the future, most likely on the 3ds.

As a note, this game plays just fine on my New 3DS XL. You have to go back to the main menu to change brightness, which is an annoyance, but is true of all original DS games when played on the 3DS. If you are thinking you may want this game in the future, you may want to pick it up before it becomes harder to find (something that is becoming common with many RPGs and strategy games for the original DS.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here