Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 347 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 384 reviews
on March 19, 2014
I've played only an hour of FFX on the PS2, but the coming of this game compelled me to buy the PS3 just to play it.

And it is gorgeous. :) I don't know enough of the story/gameplay critically compare this to the original, but I definitely think it's a worthy investment if you're a fan of the Final Fantasy series. FFX and FFVII are the most acclaimed of the series, and I'm very glad I bought this.

The 24-page artwork that comes with the special edition was a bit disappointing in its size (the game disc has a slot in it) but still beautiful to look at.

P.S. I really recommend getting this for the Vita, because there is honestly not a lot of good games out for this system.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
I love Final Fantasy. I may be biased, the original Final Fantasy X was my first real RPG game and I played it to death and back. X-2 was one I got later down the line and, while I enjoy it, there's really no comparison.

The Games:
X has, in my opinion, a beautifully crafted story in an interesting, if a little confusing, fantasy world. The political and religious aspects of the game might be a little tough for some, as Square Enix doesn't have any problem taking shots about blind faith and religion is a central point of the game. Heck, the biggest monster around is literally named Sin. The combat mechanics are exclusively turn based, meaning you can spend all night planning your next move if you're careful, and sometimes it does take a good amount of though to get it right. The special ability system (Overdrives) do have some time-based mini game-like aspects, but they're generally easy to learn and don't get too complex. Leveling up is also as simple or as complex as you want it to be, with generally defined paths for each character but various junctions available to deviate into someone else's path. It looks hard but it's very easy to learn. This remaster is also based on the international version of the game, meaning all the content (the second level up grid, dark aeons, etc) are open.

X-2 is an immediate squeal and pretty bland story wise. You pick up some short time after and seem to have forgotten all you abilities and how a lot of the world works is completely changed. A job based system replaces the grid and you switch between jobs during battle (similar to Paradigm Shifting in FF13 but with much, much more to customize). There's not a whole lot to say actually. Yuna (the player's character of X-2 and secondary main character of X) is robbed of her agency as a person and more or less functions only in the context of Tidus (the player's character of X) and the rest of the girl squad mostly exists to help Yuna for reasons this and that reason. One silly thing that I love however is the shout-outs to X, specifically Yuna and Rikku (the other playable character from X who returns) will use specific items from X, some their own, some others. It's a nice touch to say "Hey, we didn't just throw their stuff out!"

The Remaster:
This is not a remake. From what I can tell, a select few character models (commonly used ones like the main party and our old friend S.) have been updated to much higher quality, and their textures along with it, but most of the characters have not been changed which makes for some awkward scenes between somewhat realistic people and box people composed of a third the geometry or less, but for the most part it's not too noticeable. Close ups of non-remade characters aren't the norm. The audio is great, with rerecorded versions of the battle theme and others, while keeping some of the old sounds for things like menu selection and what not. It's a little jarring if, like me, you have the originals memorized, but the updates are very well done.

Verdict:
The only, ONLY reason this doesn't have five stars is that I would have liked if they updated more of the characters, textures, and animations. At times if feels like a port and FFX was notorious for the bad lip-sync to the audio, by which I mean complete lack of. The mouths were not updated to move to the English dialog, so any time you look at someone's mouth while they speak you feel like you're watching a dub, because you basically are. Frequently someone's feet will hover above the ground, particularly on slanted terrain. That said, these games, particularly X, will always hold a special place in my heart. Anyone who liked the originals will love playing again on a modern console, and having both together is nice, especially for us Americans who never got to fight the Dark Aeons! Now if you'll excuse me, I have some Sigils to collect...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
I remember when this game first came out, there was so much anticipation. Years later Square has managed to remind me how much fun this game was. The updated graphics look beautiful for the most part. It seems that Square decided to only update the main character models, and then leave the rest. This is fine because most of these characters matter little in the long run. The story in this game is strong. There are twists every so often that it keeps the player from being able to guess what will really happen. Much like the main character you are along for the ride and oh is it worth it. This was always my favorite in terms of combat with the real turn based system. Players and enemies are given there spot in line based on agility stats, which can be modified by such spells as Haste, giving you plenty of time to work out your strategy. Your team learns their spells and abilities from the Sphere Grid. Each battle earns those who fought exp., which is spent to move them around the board. You earn orbs that are used to unlock spheres to increase stats and grant abilities. This keeps progress fairly linear and encourages you to fight. All in all I would recommend this game to any fan of the RPG genre, it will bring great times and lasting memories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
On the box, this collection is described as an "HD remaster." I cannot think of a better term for this package. This definitely had more work put into it than your run-of-the-mill PS3 HD port collection, and I don't just mean visually too. Overall, I'm pretty impressed by the amount of upgrades these games received. For those who are already familiar with the original Final Fantasy X and X-2 and want to hear about the enhancements/changes the games have in this package, skip the next two paragraphs. If you're new to the FFX/X-2 saga and want to know a little bit more about those games, then I'll try to sum them up in a concise manner.

*Quick reviews for Final Fantasy X and X-2*

Depending on who you ask, FFX is either the last great *traditional* single-player FF game, or the beginning of the end of the series. For my money, FFX is a classic. At the time of its release, the whole gaming community was caught up in its beautiful world and interesting characters. Thematically, FFX is a magical game, filled with beautiful locales and heaps of mystery. There's also a great deal of deep philosophical musings on all sorts of things ranging from religion to dreams to the very nature of existence. MOST of the characters are also likable. Auron is a real contender for coolest FF character ever. The visuals were seriously incredible back in the day, and its art design is still wonderful (this world really benefits from being in HD now), and the music is among Nobuo Uematsu's very best works, and that's saying A LOT. Mechanically, FFX was a pretty great JRPG. There were plenty of things to do, and almost all of them engaging. The battle system is incredibly deep, strategic, and rewarding to master. There's even an interesting, huge meta-game that incorporates the in-universe sport, Blitzball, with JRPG mechanics that are pretty interesting. Even though I don't think it matches up to its immediate predecessor, the virtually perfect Final Fantasy IX, FFX is still a fantastic classic very much worth playing.

FFX-2 is not quite so beloved as X, generally speaking. At the time of its release, the consensus among the FF community was a lot of confused and pissed off fans. It was the first sequel to any entry in the FF series, and it was such a dramatic departure in pretty much every way from FFX that nobody knew what to make of it. Gone was the sweeping orchestral music, replaced by lots of J-pop. Gone was the feeling of a FF adventure, replaced with an almost Charlie's Angels "BOW, PICHOW, KACHOW, let's strike a cheesy pose for no apparent reason" campy romp sort of way, starring Yuna, Rikku, and newcomer Paine (designed to be a female Squall) on their quest to find Tidus. It has been stated by the developers that it was made to appeal more to the large female demographic of X's fanbase, and I'm not sure if that succeeded. I have to admit, some of the game is so cheesy and embarrassing to be caught playing (The scene where Yuna gives another character a message complete with orgasmic sounds is borderline pornographic, and makes me cringe every time). X-2 IS a strange game, no doubt about it. What most haters of FFX-2 DON'T tell you is that, mechanically, X-2 is pretty awesome. The dressphere battle system is pretty great, utilizing a class-style focus in a very unique way. There's always something engaging to do in X-2, and getting to the mountain of side quests is easy and intuitive. The story also features some genuinely well-written parts as well, despite the overwhelming cheese majority. It's not as great as FFX is, but if you can get used to the strange thematic elements, then you may be surprised just how fun and engaging X-2 is as a JRPG.

*Review of this package as an HD remaster*

Obviously, the biggest change is in the title of the package: HD visuals. How does this collection do in that way? Surprisingly well. Despite the fact that the bones of the package here are from an early PS2 title, the visuals in these games look fantastic. Textures have been cleared up immensely, and the lighting and shadow effects have also received attention and look great. The game is in 16:9 widescreen and it all looks fantastic. Because of the transition to widescreen, the cutscenes and their assets have been remade completely and look gorgeous in HD (although you still can't skip them, which is sure to bother some). Perhaps best of all, almost all of the in-game character models have been remade from the ground-up and look right at home on the PS3 system. Auron has never looked more awesome than here. It may not be as huge of an upgrade as some modern full-on remakes and there are some graphical quirks remaining (i.e. hands going through sleeves, hair clipping into clothes if a character moves their head back, some hilarious lip syncing blunders, etc). Still, considering the fact that most HD collections amount to slapdash up-rezed ports and nothing more, this collection looks great. So bravo to Square-Enix for clearly going the extra mile to refresh this game visually. They did a great job.

From an audio perspective, there have been a few improvements as well. Voices are clearer and sound better (whether the voice acting was great or not in the first place is highly debated by fans). Now all aspects of Tidus and Yuna's imfamous forced laughter scene look and sound clearer than ever. Whether that's a blessing or a curse is up to you, lol. Roughly 60 tracks have also been remastered for this game and they sound better than ever. However, the audio enhancements in this package are clearly not as drastic of an upgrade as the visual elements are. Still, X/X-2 have never looked OR sounded better.

Another huge change from the originals comes in the form of additional content. Back in the day, FFX was rereleased with additional content in Japan. We never got that version in the US. Now we do. In addition to some new optional bosses, FFX also gives you the option to try out a revamp Sphere Grid that allows for more customization and challenge. X-2 has some new dresspheres as well as a "Creature Creator" that allows you to capture and train most enemies, including bosses from BOTH games, to use as party members in future battles. I wouldn't describe any of these additions as paradigm shifting, but they are pretty cool additions and it's nice to know we're getting the most updated, complete version of the games. Add in trophy sets for each game, and you get what is pretty much the definitive release of these games.

The package includes several new additions to the X universe's story. There's Final Fantasy X: Eternal Calm, which is a long epilogue cutscene following the events of FFX. It's not a particularly interesting plot,but it does bridge the gap between X and X-2 stories, and that's nice. There's also Final Fantasy X-2: The Last Mission, which is a short expansion of sorts that takes place three months after X-2's ending. I can't speak as to its quality, but I do know that it does change depending on the events that took place during a players' game of X-2, which is neat. Finally, there's a brand new audio drama set a year after X-2 entitled -Will-. I'm always a little hesitant to buy into these sorts of official/unofficial side stories, as they can be really bad at times, but still, I'll take what I can get. Clearly, the main draw of this package is the core X and X-2 games, but all this content at $40 is pretty cool if you ask me.

So there you have it. Overall, I'm very impressed by the work that went into this collection. It's definitely higher-quality than your average HD port. The visuals and audio have never sounded better in these games, and there's just so much content here on just one blu-ray disc, it's pretty awesome. All of this for $40 seems like a steal to me. If you've never played these JRPG classics before, then now is definitely the time to get into them, as they have never looked/sounded/played better than here. If you're like me and you sunk countless hours into the original all those years ago, I'd definitely recommend picking up this package again. I've been loving diving back into the world of FFX again. The enhancements to this version definitely makes it feel new again. These games, and particularly FFX, hearken back to a time when Final Fantasy games were universally hailed for their immersive worlds, great stories, interesting characters, brilliant music, and engaging JRPG mechanics. Now, they're better than ever. So buy it, prepare for a classic FF experience, and get lost in the magical, lovely world of Spira.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
i highly enjoyed this HD collection of FF 10 and 10 - 2 because i never played the original so i had an amazing time playing it and finally getting to dive deep if its gameplay mechanics .

now as of X-2 i know the game by heart it quite a light hearted adventure of yuna . rikku & and my favorite girl paine and what i like that its turn based with alot of factors involving sphere dresses that acts as CLASS of the type attacker , supporter or mage user you want to balance or build your team up , also these garment grid cards that acts as way to assign class spheres in particular slots in order to change between classes as each card has its own number of slots and beneficial buffs as to your playing style tho some of these cards are quest related .

tho im still trying to master X i can truly say that X-2 may look simple but deep down its really challenging if wana 100% & beat the bonus extra boss .

and the cool thing is you get the after story strategy game that take place after X-2 called Final Mission which is REALLY !! challenging .

so i must say this is a super rich experience for new comers and die hard fan alike and you gotta love the music in FF games .

well here's hoping they would do a remaster on 12 cuz that's a game i would love to play again cuz that my favorite FF PS2 game at the time .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2016
It's the game I loved but better (arguably). State-side we didn't see the Internation version of FFX or FFX-2 which added significant things to the games. It's fun to revisit the nostalgia and also find something more. Those disappointed with the final battle in FFX will find significantly more challenging encounters with Dark Aeons to give them drive to empower their characters further.

The bad part is that it seems like the custscene facial animations have been left behind. I would say 80% of the time Tidus is basically wearing a generic rictus like a Ken doll and it can really pull your attention away from the scene. Most of it was okay but Tidus was a major offender with inexplicably bland expressions while touting emotional dialogue.

I must admit I have only beaten X-2 once and have barely touched it since I finished X-2 but if you ever forget how weird X-2 is, pop it in and remind yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
I) The packaging:

The design is gorgeous: the disc encased inside a 24-pages artbook, similar to the Kingdom Heart 1.5 HD Remix Limited Edition.
Unfortunately, the blue shell still made out of a very flimsy cardboard.

II) The good:

A solid storyline with a closure, something that SquareEnix decided to milk off with the FF13 series. While FFX is perhaps one of the best (not the best in my opinion), FFX-2 certainly not the same cup of tea, nevertheless, it still a fun experience. The Remaster edition not only experience the world of Spira once again, but it also comes with extra contents that never released to anyone outside of Japan or Europe. The cutscenes were beautifully remade, simply to the point you almost forget these games were ported from PS2. Not only you'll be spending hours going through the storyline, you will spend as that much time for Blitzball in FFX (wouldn't say the same case for Blitzball in FFX-2); it's not obligatory, but the mini-game simply THAT good.

III) The bad:

Aside from the flimsy shell, there are other things that keep this game from coming back with a perfect score.
1) Graphic: sadly, only the improvement can only be seen with the cutscenes, the game graphic still pretty much the same, not a whole lot noticeable improvement.
2) No cut scene option! Yup, no chance for you to breeze through the game should you already played it.
3) Skipping voice dialogue: every now and then, the voice dialogue would skip and end abruptly for no reasons.
4) Mouth synching: characters mouth don't move accordingly to the dialogue.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I have played FFX and FFX-2 years ago and loved them both, and I was excited to hear that they would be coming to the PS3 in 1080p HD.
(As of this review, I'm 35 hours into FFX and haven't started on FFX-2.)

There is so much value in this remaster and it is totally worth the asking price.

- Since these are the International Versions, so that means you get extra content like the Expert Sphere Grid, the Dark Aeons, new dresspheres, etc. Since I live in North America, I didn't have access to the extra content, but this remaster has it and I am so glad Square Enix did this.
- The graphics look beautiful for a game that was once on the PS2. The environments look so vibrant and colorful, and the water looks stunning, too.
- The new HUD looks so clean and modern. And the new menu design is beautiful.
- Like a lot of FF games, you will spend a good amount of time with both games. It probably takes about 40-50+ hours to finish each game, not including sidequests and minigames. So if you are looking for a long game, this is a game for you.

I do, however, have some small gripes, but these are not major ones.

- Some of the character models look off. Like, to me, Tidus doesn't look like Tidus, and Yuna doesn't look like Yuna. But I eventually got used to it as I played through the game.
- Audio is sometimes off, but I usually don't make this a big deal.
- I've had occasional glitches happen while playing. There was this one cutscene that came up and one of the characters on screen turned around when he wasn't supposed to.
- And sometimes, whenever I start up the game and get into my 1st battle, it will load slower. But after that first battle, all battles load normally. It's really odd.
- Some of the remastered tracks don't live up to my expectations, but this is just something personal to me.

So, if you are a FF fan and/or an RPG lover like me, you should consider buying this HD remaster. It's definitely one of the best remasters on the market.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
I own both FFX and FFX-2 from the PS2, but since I've always wanted to try out the international version (with the Dark Aeons and such), I decided to try the Remastered version. Plus, my PS2 discs weren't going to last forever. I preordered this, but I didn't really get around to (re)playing it until recently, and so here are my thoughts.

I remember the complete shock of how amazing the graphics looked when FFX first came out (this was me coming from FFVIII, where there is a huge difference in graphics), so I had always loved this game's visuals, even if since then graphics for Final Fantasy have steadily improved. So it's important to note that when I started playing the Remastered version, I noticed even more improvement. Very sharp, clear visuals with even more details added than before. Noticeably. Excellent. A+ for their clean-up.

Since the graphics had undergone some cleaning, I had expected some of the music to have as well, but to my surprise, they *changed* some of the music! Completely took out songs. Besaid's song is replaced by a track that's not even offered for download on iTunes yet. Okay, so I purchase all FF soundtracks, and I am still sore they haven't released anything yet for this new remastered soundtrack. And I'm still sore they changed the music I had loved so much during my first play through. The music for Besaid, Kilika (I think), Djose Highroad, etc.--they managed to keep the Thunder Plains tune, unfortunately, though they could have replaced that annoying one and it would have been a vast improvement. In short, despite my liking some of the new songs, I don't particularly like their complete omission of others that were essential the ambiance of each area.

As for gameplay, it's still the same loveable gameplay as before. My main issue is now that the Dark Aeons and many of the other sidequest bosses are infinitely more difficult to defeat than previously (not I played the International Version with the Dark Aeons, but this is what I've gleaned from online forums and from my own experiences with the other sidequests).

As for the story, it hasn't changed much. But it's still worth saying that FFX is one of my favorite FF storylines. The protagonist, Tidus, is pretty annoying, but if you can look past that, you will really enjoy the story. Tidus is thrust into an unfamiliar world that is ravaged every decade by a sinister being called Sin, which is unsurprisingly thought to be a punishment for the past transgressions of the human race. In this world, the heroes are Summoners, who make a pilgrimage through Spira to defeat Sin or silence him, anyway, for another decade. Yuna, the protagonist of FFX-2, is one such Summoner, and Tidus begins traveling with her and her party, looking for a way home. His eyes are fresh and not tainted by the strict religious teachings in which all the other characters have grown to cling to, which ultimately leads them down the path that is common in the Final Fantasy series, where he questions what is expected and considered normal. Along the way, they unearth corruption and harden their resolve to restore hope and end evil. Anything more would be spoiling it (that goes for the basis of FFX-2 as well). They have a very interesting world here, my favorite idea being the fayth and how they are created, which you don't really find out about until you almost get to the end, so make sure you hang on until then at least.

Despite my frustration about the musical score, I still think the Remastered Version deserves 5 stars. What can I say? Square Enix is on a winning streak. Now when will they Remaster/Re-do FFVII?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Now, if you're looking to play an FF game or just a game in general, this is for you. Do not expect top-notch graphics since this is a HD remaster of FFX itself, and its sequel, FFX-2 (along with never-before-seen content in the US such as Eternal Calm and international mission). This isn't to say that the graphics are bad, however. They are just from the early PS2 era which isn't a bad thing. As for people who have played through a few FF's and either want to give this a try or relive your childhood memories (and perhaps can't play your original copy for the PS2 due to the inability to do so on the PS3), then this is also recommended.

PROS:
The limited edition (basic) includes a CGI render version of one of the artworks for FFX along with a small artbook that includes things like sceneries and what not. It's a nice little bonus for those who preordered this game unless you prefer the Special edition. And when you take the game case out of the sleeve, you can see the logo artworks for the two games combined with eachother, and this is a nice touch.

You get a lot of footage (200 hours worth) which means more bang for your buck when buying this game altogether.

Some of the remastered tracks do sound nice.

Gives the same feel that the PS2 version did.

Textures on each characters' outfit are cleaned up and a lot less blurry.

Overall environment looks amazing.

The mere feeling of nostalgia when playing it.

CONS:
A lot of the characters such as Wakka, Yuna, Tidus, etc seemed to be given "face lifts". This probably is the cause to their lack of emotion face-wise.

Some of the tracks such as the battle theme sound as though the music is echoed rather than "rearranged" or "remastered".

In older FF games with voice acting, there would be improper voice syncing with the English voice cast due to the different language and perhaps due to different translation. This wasn't fixed in the HD edition, but then again I didn't expect/hope for it to be because it wasn't likely from the beginning.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So there you have it, here's the overall impression coming from me to this masterpiece of a game. Keep in mind that it wasn't toward the game storyline, characters, etc. It was more so towards the remasterness of it aka visuals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse