Oil month Automotive HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Kids Edition Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



Showing 1-10 of 96 reviews(5 star). See all 195 reviews
on January 18, 2017
Great newspaper. One of the few really well written english language newspapers. The US weekend edition provides a great summary of the important news of the week as well lifestyle and arts issues including the witt of David Tang.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 5, 2015
Solid paper, for sure. You are not properly "accessorized" without it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2016
One of the finest newspapers in the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2013
What would we do without the Financial Times? I love this newspaper, so much more profound than the WSJ (which I also get) and not focused excessively on the US. It has the best analytical articles as well as current news. And it doesn't have a stupid Teaparty editorial policy like the WSJ, its managing editors actually use their brains.
Don't believe me, just buy the newspaper and see for yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 27, 2015
I love the content, and the app is so easy to use and navigate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2012
Great articles. No fluff. Intelligent writers. Great paper. Good price. Worldwide coverage on economics. Balanced (neither right nor left leaning).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2016
Really great articles, a very different view than what you get from ameican sources
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2012
FT Weekend has a wonderful section on arts & culture, sophisticated and informative. Plus the Home section with the great David Wang and other home and real estate articles. The First Section, as always, incisive and direct. I always benefit from FT Weekend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 23, 2014
A review for a newspaper? I'm not sure who would read such a review. But while I'm here....

The Financial Times is a British paper centered around the financial world, as you would imagine. But it actually is far more than that. It's a paper whose foreign policy reporting, its independent investigations, and its depth and persistence is simply not to be replicated.

I think an investor has to have reality. In my opinion, papers like the NY Times and the Wall Street Journal have clearly partisan leanings. As a student of political science myself, I've never cared for the partisan bickering, it feels more like a sports event than arguing over things that really matter.

There's something in the academic study of political science called Realpolitik. In short, what we do and decisions we make as leaders are different than what we say we do, what we report to the media, at a press conference, during an election campaign, in an interview, so on and so forth. Why leaders and governments do things versus why they say they do things are two different things. In Realpolitik, it is admitted that material factors (land, capital, power), not words and ideas, are the prime movers and shakers of world events. Foreign policy, you might think, is somehow unique. But you'd be surprised. Foreign policy is one of those things you won't really read about behind closed doors. The FT gives you an eye into it because it doesn't care about Republicans, Democrats, Obama, or any of the rest of it. It DOES however care about the facts in terms of how these two parties interact, the choices they make and the horsetrading they engage in. It'll talk about all of these, but in the language of a scientist, rather than a pundit.

You'll read about foreign policy in terms of what insiders are suggesting is really going on. You'll see what leaders say next to the fact-checking that the FT will do.

You'll also benefit from the fact that the FT likes to go in-depth, for several days, keeping to several themes consisting of 2-3 articles on them for a few days in a row (eg., the economy of ISIS, the anonymous hedge fund shorting stocks, the shale boom in the U.S., etc.) If you want to learn topics in depth, rather than skim headlines, then this paper is probably the best out there for it.

Politically, it's fairly moderate, but it's very critical of our governments, right and left (if those distinctions still matter). It helps you understand what's going on behind the headlines, which is a process rather than assertion (for those who watch TV news, what you receive are assertions, not real journalism). It's liberal in the economic sense (and for those who don't know what that means, this paper probably isn't for you). Yet it's not afraid to say, for example, that Bolivia's economy is booming under a socialist leader. It'll show inconsistencies in the Republicans, Obama, Labor and Cameron without worry.

The Letters section is sometimes amusing, and the Opinions section is sometimes very interesting.

I sometimes wish my subway ride were a little bit longer so I could read the morning's subscription.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 10, 2014
One of the few sources of a clearer view of what is happening out side the US. I would read the paper just for Sir David Tang's column. The Saturday edition is such a treat featuring such things as real estate around the world. Great interviews with interesting people.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse