Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Finding Faith: A Self-Discovery Guide for Your Spiritual Quest Paperback – July 1, 2000

4.6 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
$6.95 $0.01

"Is This The End?"
Better understand the greater story and the role we each play in this changing world. Learn more | Kindle book
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews


We are surrounded by evidence of a rising tide in spirituality. We see it in books such as Douglas Coupland’s Life After God; in lyrics from songwriters like Jewel Kilcher, Bob Dylan, and Alanis Morissette; in radio talk shows like those of Larry King and Dr. Laura; in TV shows such as The X Files and Touched by an Angel. The search for a living faith and a spiritually oriented life is alive and well at the dawn of the new millennium.

Perhaps you and your friends are asking important questions like these: Is there a God? If so, what might God be like? What is the relationship between faith and certainty? Can intelligent people believe in spiritual realities without compromising intellectual and moral integrity? Why are there so many religions, and how does one sort through the maze of conflicting dogma to discover a faith that is authentic, honest, enriching, and challenging? Is it possible to experience a relationship with God—and if so, how?

Finding Faith calls you to neither a blind leap in the dark, nor to a cold rationalism that denies your deepest intuitions and spiritual longings. Rather, in the tradition of C. S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity and M. Scott Peck’s The Road Less Traveled, it summons you to reflection and honesty. With logic, passion, and an evenhandedness that the thinking person will appreciate, this book helps you face your obstacles to faith by focusing not on what to believe, but on how to believe.

Whether you want to strengthen the faith you have, renew the faith you lost, or discover faith for the first time, Finding Faith can coach, inspire, encourage, and guide you. And it can help you discover, through a dynamic, authentic, and growing faith, more in life than you’d ever imagined or hoped for -- Publisher

From the Publisher

C. S. Lewis' thoughtful, witty, and unpretentious approach in Mere Christianity was unique in its appeal to secular readers. Finding Faith continues the tradition of speaking to a generation of non-Christians in their own world and language. Using contemporary, fade-resistant language and illustrations, Brian McLaren helps today's baby boomers and busters discover not only what to believe or why to believe, but also how to believe. Finding Faith deals realistically with the questions and choices that confront seekers in our postmodern, pluralistic culture. This is a book Christians can give the skeptics in their lives, confident that it will meet the questions they are asking with intelligent, reasonable, and meaningful answers.

New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Zondervan (July 1, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0310238382
  • ISBN-13: 978-0310238386
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.8 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 12.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,071,822 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

on November 11, 2002
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 1999
Format: Hardcover
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2003
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews