Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 46 reviews
on June 14, 2012
What I expect to get from a book on printing would a lot of information about color management, output sharpening, paper selection, and some things I probably never thought about. The color management chapter starts off with an explanation as to why the authors aren't going to "waste" time and space in their book on color management, stating it's "the most demanding subject in digital photography", but it's covered in many other books so if you want to learn about it you should buy a book about it. When I got to the part about sharpening, they provided no information other than it's important and one of the authors happens to have written a book about it that you should buy. They do provide a list of papers they "like", but virtually no useful information about them. Most of them only had a brief sample of the technical data provided by the manufacturer with no comments. And the ones that did have comments were brief like "Great. One of our favorites", or "Very sharp".

The bulk of the book is actually screenshots of how to use various pieces of software and hardware, taking up a lot of space but providing virtually no or little information. Since the book was published in 2006, and it's now 2012, all of the screenshots and accompanying text is obsolete. And even back in 2006, this information is basic information that would be included with the instructions for the device you bought.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
These days, everyone's a photographer and everyone can buy a good quality ink-jet printer. But it's amazing how few people can actually make a print that does justice to a digital image. Sure it looks nice on your big monitor, but getting it from there to a print that you would feel proud to display framed on a wall is an art in and of itself! This book will get you on your way if you want to be able to do it yourself. Even if you are content with having someone else do your printing, you should read this so that you understand the process better, and can work with your printer to optimize the files you hand to them and get more predictable results. Incidentally, you might also want to read this BEFORE you go out and buy that 13" wide carriage printer..... quite frankly you should be prepared to spend a lot of time learning how to get the best prints on your own. If you only want to print a few things a year, you would probably be better off NOT buying that printer, but reading this book and finding a good local printer to do the work for you!

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2009
I bought this book (1) because I'm planning on buying a new printer capable of making fairly large prints and I want to get the best out of it and (2) because I've read other things Uwe Steinmueller has written and have admired his HDR photographs. The book combines information about color management, which you get in almost any moderately advanced text, with information that's specific to printing, notably on paper selection and workflow. It's a useful combination of topics. the text is well written and the illustrations are printed very well and are useful.

You do have to have familiarity with Photoshop CS 2 or later. Befroe you print, take the author's advice about calibrating your monitor, and especially about setting the brightness.

There's a logical progression from calibrating your printer up through printing and presenting the work. Although there is a lot of detail, it's presented well enough so that you don't drown in it.

The only criticism I have is that the first 55-60 pages seem to have been written or perhaps revised without good editing, so there's some annoying duplication of information about paper weight and thickness, among other things. Apart from that, it's an excellent manual for making prints suitable for display.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2011
This book is a great resource for anyone interested on printing their own photos on an inkjet printer. It covers inks, papers, printers and their use. It explains the various terms used in the printing process and where they apply. I can't imagine getting more usable info from any single source. It is easy enough for an amateur like me to understand, but I bet there are experts out there that could learn a lot from this book also. The chapters are layed out well, there is a huge glossary, and a section on additional resources. This book is worth 3 times the cost.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2007
Producing exhibition quality photographic prints on an ink-jet printer requires a knowledge of many areas - printers, papers, inks, color management, editing software, handling and preservation. This outstanding book covers all these topics with the authority of experts. The authors' in-depth knowledge enables them to distill the essence of each topic into very concise prose, which is a pleasure on both the first reading and for subsequent reference. I have tried using other books on producing exhibition quality prints and found them wanting. With this book, I have quickly taken my prints to a new level.

As a minor issue, there are a number of places where a good editor could have tightened up the prose, added a clarifying sentence, or removed a germanic grammatical construction. Maybe for the next edition the authors could engage a more discerning editor. However, this does not affect the book's overall clarity.

One of the pleasures of this book is its design, with beautiful examples of the authors' own work, and a very extensive list of references for further information.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2016
Great book for all necessary fine art printing specifications, in use daily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2013
This book sits on my desk, constantly referring to it, sticky notes in it with notes. A little dated (2010) but the information is great and photography is wonderful. Wish the photos would have been bigger, but it works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2011
This is probably the best and most inclusive book on digital photo printing I have ever seen. Well written in a manner that even this rather technical subject can be easily understood by beginners. I would highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to become a serious printer of their own fine art photographs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
This is e very complete and professional book,wich describe in detail, every detail about how the print proces take place, and abord a complete description about all kind of paper, inks and more.
Carlos Carreno, Who use to be a professional phofographer in my original country.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2012
The book is one of the few that gives info on framing. It does a very good job and is well worth the purchase. The only knock might be that it is not up to date on some of the newer products.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here