Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on January 28, 2014
This book got down to the basics...just what a woman needs just starting out. I would recommend this book to ladies who are new to make up or want to re-FINE their skills.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 14, 2015
Nobody like Sam Fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2015
Great book- a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 8, 2012
I received the book in a good time frame and it is in great conditions thanks so much!! I really needed this book for some up coming projects I had so I wanted to do more research with this particular book. When I came on amazon I found the book I needed and for the price I was willing to pay. The only thing I would have wanted would be if the book came a little faster but it was fine when I did receive it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2015
Really love sam fines work. Glad to have read his book. I even passed it on to a classmate in my cos class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 29, 2009
Sam Fine's book doesn't provide enough information on how to apply makeup or on special makeup techniques. He only mentions the types of makeup brushes you should have, facts about how he got his start in the makeup business, and lots of pretty pictures of women he's worked on. There's been talk on [...] hat he's coming out with a new DVD on how to apply makeup and it's available for purchase through his website or Amazon. Hopefully his DVD will be an improvement from his book if it's ever available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 24, 2011
The book presented is in dialogue or question-and-answer format. Fine begins by discussing the tools needed to perform makeup looks. Fine then briefly discusses concealer, foundation, powder, eyebrows, eye shadow, blush lipstick, eyeliner, mascara, false eyelashes, contour & highlights, lip tricks, and how to remove makeup, in that order. "Pro-tips" are sprinkled thought the book for those who are more advanced. Fine focuses on how to create natural looks for women of color, specifically women of African descent. Natural looks are Fine's specialty. It is good, but, where the rest of it?

Beauty tips, the heart the book, are little more than thirty pages. The makeovers Fine displays are ten pages. The book is 160 pages in entirety. The heart is one third of the book. The remainder is about the celebrities Fine has worked with and plug-ins for Fine "friends." Fine friends discuss how they grew into their respective fields. The book purchased was for beauty tips, not to hear about Fine's friends. This spans to almost one-hundred pages, which is ridiculous! That is more than half the book!

The makeovers results were nice, but they are only the results. Unlike other beauty books, Fine's book does not give a systematic tutorial on how to create any looks and is not through. The only systematic tutorial recalled was the contour & highlights and eyebrows. Given about three pictures each, it is nothing, especially today with YouTube. The book will not even get a pass with when it was released either. No matter what the decade is, three pictures is a bad joke.

Normally, this is where there would be a continuance of the book review, but that it. No seriously, that is it. If you are looking for application tips, color section, products, and systematic tutorials look elsewhere. Fine needs to update this book, so much had happened since its release. Technology has changed, trends have emerged, and new problems have arisen. The book would sell. Despite all the flaws, at least Fine touched on problems and gave solutions that African women face, no matter what the decade is.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2012
Okay, this book was sort of ridiculous. Because of the cover it leads consumers to believe that they'll be getting tips on makeup application, products, highlighting and contouring. Well they're in for a huge disappointment. Only the first few pages give VERY general makeup tips. The rest of the book is just a showcase of Fine's "work" with a really weak explanation of how he did it. It's almost like he wrote the book to brag about his work. This book pretty much sucks....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 17, 2001
Mr. Fine has written a very good book, however, the title is a bit misleading. Fine Beauty promises beauty basics and beyond for the African-American Women, yet very little space is devoted to teaching women how to master the art of make-up application. Instead, the majority of this book is an overview on Mr. Fine's career success, including more than half the book consisiting of pictures with or of his famous clientelle. Also the end of the book contains more of Mr. Fine's famous friends in the "business". I felt like I was reading his resume' or looking through his portfolio!
Don't get me wrong it wasn't terrible. The first section of the book does give information on make-up basics including tools, and tips for every area of the face. I enjoyed this section. I once believed that blush was something that women of color could not pull off sucessfully, but thanks to Mr. Fine's tips on blush color and application, I have tried it and it looks great. Also, the tips on highlighting were helpful, but sadly, I was left wanting more. If you enjoy star-gazing, then this book is for you. If you are looking for an in-depth manual on how to make yourself look like a star, then look elsewhere. Mr. Fine's book can help beginners get off to a good start, and help intermediates refine their skills, but pro's will be sadly dissapointed.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2011
I adore Sam Fine! I love his work! This book answers a few questions and shows clients he has worked with. I've always been curious about who has done these certain looks (some from music videos) and now I know!!!! This is one of the first cosmetics books I've ever read that admits that Black women have different undertones. This concept is very important, if not the most important thing. I can't wait to buy Mr. Fine's DVD.

Again, he is awesome and I love this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse