Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Salon Beauty altText This Week in Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
336
Firefly: A Celebration (Anniversary Edition)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on October 6, 2012
This book is one long love letter to a series that has changed people's lives so much over the past ten years that it has gone beyond a simple fandom and become in many cases, a philosophy, a way of life. Despite lasting only thirteen episodes and one movie, the name Firefly has become synonymous with beautiful things struck down before their time, with an enduring love, and most of all, with a want to live life simply, unfettered by unjust authority.
The book itself is amazing to see. With it's look-a-like leather binding, its large, glossy, full color pages, it looks and feels more like an encyclopedia than a book dedicated to a TV show ten years gone. The physical beauty however is far out-shined by the content contained within. I had never previously seen the three books that have been collected into this one volume, and I have to say, all the information within them is amazing. Having all of the episodes scripts is amazing, made even better by the little side bars in each detailing little know facts about a certain character or scene. They truly make you want to watch all the episodes while following along in the scripts, and seeing if you can spot this or that. The list goes on and on, from closeups of all the shows weapons, props and costumes, to interviews with the cast, and discussions of the inspiration behind certain episodes or scenes, this is now the de facto Browncoat bible.
This book is an amazing addition to any Browncoat collection, be them a hardcore collector, or someone new to the 'Verse who's never flown on a Firefly before. This book is proof that we have done the impossible, and continue to do so, even almost a decade after the airwaves have forgotten Serenity and her crew, and the pitter pater of tiny feet in huge combat boots has since faded into the black; After all, you can never stop the signal.
55 comments| 230 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2014
Bible of the browncoats

The complete chronicles of the beloved series, a boatload of precious inside information, character art, original scripts for all the episodes, drawings, photos, and the most important for me: the stories. Small stories involving the cast, actors and creators alike, from wich a couple may seem insignificant, but these are the little things, that make Firefly so very special. From every page, every little detail, one can easily tell, this was way more than just a show. Friends, family even, a lovely group of people came together to make something extraordinary, and the book reflects this unique aspect perfectly. Beautiful images, all the info you could ever imagine to know about your favorite group of spacebandits, more than 500 pages of absolutely shiny stuff. And the 9 gorgeous photos from the main characters just make me want to take my nonexistent hat off. Every time i'm reading a few pages, i can't help myself, it just puts a smile on my face.

So to all, who might still hesitate to order this fine piece of art, there is simply no reason not to. In case you are still reading my review, it means you love Firefly. So you have to buy the book. Period. It's like owning 500 pages of pure, awesome love for one of the greatest phenomenons ever happened to television.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this on a whim two years ago and it ended up being a conversation starter, debate settler, Shiny coffee table accessory and an utterly awesome autograph book at the 2014 Dallas Comic-Con "Firefly" panel. The leatherette cover is easily cleaned and has withstood countless hands and fingerprints, not to mention being dragged on a two day trek to catch the entire crew in one place one last time. Now...this book resides in a case and I have to buy a second for actual reading and sharing. A must have for the Firefly Obsessed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
This is a really nice volume: good binding, nice cover, beautiful pictures, and great content. It has the scripts for all the episodes of Firefly, and many interviews with the cast and crew which are informative. Reading the scripts for the shows was as good as watching the episodes, and it was really nice to have the Chinese translated! There was also a lot of information about the motivation of the characters--did you, like me, never realize why River slashed Jayne with the knife in the episode 'Ariel'? Reading the script for that episode will tell you why! I love my book. The only con is that it is HUGE and HEAVY and a little unwieldy to just sit in an armchair to read, but you'll find a way around that. I propped it up on my tabletop easel to read and that worked pretty well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
I purchased this as a gift for a rabid Firefly fan. He LOVED it.

The back cover has a little pocket with lovely cardstock photo's of the main stars of the show and also a copy of the currency. The whole book has tons of pictures. It is really a lovely book, meant to be a collectors item for a fan.

There is a lot of information from behind the scenes and many candid (as well as promotional) photos. The book has excerpts of scripts from different episodes. There are drawings of costume designs for each of the main characters as well as the weapons and the floorplan / pictures / layout of the ship, Firefly. There is probably tons I'm missing as this is just what I noticed as I glanced at his book (over his shoulder as he was determined to be the first to go through it).

The book came shrink wrapped, so it was in pristine condition.

It's about 540 pages of lush photo's, sketches, images and information.

All in all, if you're a fan of the series, this is a MUST have book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
If you call yourself a fan of Firefly or Serenity, this book is a MUST HAVE! Packaging together the official firefly companions vol 1. and vol 2., plus Joss Whedon's Keep Flying, this book is absolutely gorgeous!
If you already have all 3 of these books, you won't get much more from this one. However, they tend to be hard to find and can get pricey, so getting them all together for this price is an amazing deal!
Each glossy page is filled with cast photos, scripts from the TV episodes, and more.
I've seen each episode of the show (short lived season as it was...sigh) and Serenity more times than I can count, but holding this book in my hands, made me want to watch all of the episodes over and over again!

Take my love, take my land, but you WONT rip this book from my hand!
0Comment| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2016
I've seen this book at comic book/sci-fi conventions, but priced much higher than the Amazon price. So far, I'm quite happy with this book, even though, so far, I've only been flipping pages and reading a bit here and there. The scripts in the book are a welcome addition, but I want to re-watch the series before I delve into those. But, I really love that the book goes into some detail about how the props and sets were designed and built. There are details there that any Firefly fan would enjoy, but are especially enlightening to anyone putting together a cosplay of a Firefly character.

In conclusion, this is a must for any Firefly fan who doesn't already own the three titles that this book packs into one very huge binding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2016
I bought this as a gift to a friend who loves the show. This is a good book for any fan of the show Firefly who likes to read behind the scene trivia or learn unique things about the show.

For how long the show lasted this book was huge. It was heavier than I expected, and is chock full of all sorts of things. It talked about the wardrobe, about things that happened during each scene, and details about the various weapons. The binding and cover are a beautiful faux brown leather with gold lettering. The main picture doesn't do it justice. The pages are glossy with beautiful pictures. A perfect gift for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2012
This is an AMAZING book. It has all 3 visual companions wrapped into one. AND THEN SOME! Much Much more behind the scenes information, facts, stories, even current quotes and stories (from 2012). Plus 9 beautiful high res cast photos (frame-able) and a bank note replica from the show.

If you already own the Firefly Visual Companion 1 & 2 and the Serenity Visual companion, order this as well. Its worth it. i cannot say that enough IT. IS. WORTH. IT.
review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment| 153 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
This is an important volume--I can't bubble enough about this magnificent book! This one book is a fitting tribute to, and sendoff for, Joss Whedon's magnum opus, Firefly. It's leatherbound cover holds hordes of photos (production shots, behind-the-scenes images, reproductions of concepts sketches of sets, props, miniatures and costumes); the scripts (set in reduced type in multiple columns per page); interviews with cast and crew; and massive amounts of information for the fan and film student alike. Written in a highly readable style that enlightens and entertains without droning, this book fills the role of the classic 'Perfect Memory' volume familiar to Japanese fans. As 'anniversary' publications go, this volume is head and shoulders above the sort of schlock issued all-to-commonly by studios in an attempt to squeeze those last few sheckels out of a series' fan base collective hand. Get it. Savor it. Keep it as a fitting memorial to what is arguably the greatest SF series attempted on modern television.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse