Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,602 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,625 reviews
on May 30, 2016
I had never heard of this movie until my therapist recommended I see it based on some current events in my life and marriage. I didn't see how a movie could accomplish anything, but I decided to humor her and give it a try. Boy am I glad I did! This movie was so powerful, so moving, and so realistically written that I could relate to both the husband and the wife (for different reasons obviously) and it pulled me into the story to the point where I was wondering how things would turn out for them. As the story unfolded, it made me cry and I don't mean a few years shed either. I went to bed thinking about the message this movie tried - and succeeded - to get across and I even wished the Love Dare was real so I could try it myself (it is real by the way and can be bought on Amazon). It's extremely powerful and I highly recommend this movie to anyone who is struggling in their relationship. It certainly made me think - and my husband - and we were able to start communicating because of it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2009
Reading the reviews here and seeing the variety of reactions to Fireproof is almost as interesting as the movie itself.

Most of the positive reviews focus on the message. Most of the negative reviews focus on the technical quality of the movie, and/or the reviewers' feelings about Christianity. Accordingly, I'd like to chime in on these three topics.

Technical Quality: Although I did like the movie, I have to admit the negative reviewers have a point here. The cinematography and special effects are more in line with what you'd expect on a TV show than a feature film. There's nothing glaringly awful, but the viewer is definitely aware this film was not financed like a big-budget Hollywood movie.

The acting performances are about the same. Cameron puts in a solid professional job, but nothing that's going to go down in history as one of the great performances of all time. The rest of the cast is pretty spotty, and most of them have at least one line or one scene that comes off a bit lame. Again, not so bad as to be unwatchable, but definitely below average for feature films.

The Message: This is why people like the film, and why I liked it too. There are actually two messages here - one about marriage and one about Christianity. Most of the negative reviewers can't seem to separate these two issues, which is understandable since there' entwined. Let me take a stab at dealing with them separately.

The marriage-related messages portrayed in this movie are:
1) Married people who are predominantly focused on their own feelings and their own needs are not likely to succeed. Marriage takes a lot of work, and a predominantly selfless attitude.
2) In order for a marriage to work, both partners have to be willing to admit that they are flawed human beings, that they make mistakes, that they are sometimes selfish and hurtful, and that they sometimes have to ask humbly to be forgiven. Christians certainly recognize this message, but it applies equally to non-Christians (except for those who are perfect, many of whom apparently have written reviews of Fireproof here).
3) There will be conflicts and hard times during a marriage, and when this happens, both partners must be committed to making it work and ensuring the survival of the marriage - even when this seems like a lot of work and doesn't seem to be rewarded or recognized.
4) For a marriage to really work, both partners will have to continually grow and improve themselves - often in ways that are not comfortable and entail sacrifices.

Anyone who has actually been married for a while and worked through problems will recognize the above themes as true to life - and, most emphatically, true to life in a way that Hollywood movie portrayals of love and romance are definitely not true to life.

I believe that most of the people who liked this movie - certainly me and my wife - are resonating with FINALLY a movie that seems to understand what enduring marriage and love that grows over the years are really all about. Most movies portray love as a state of blissful happiness - which it sometimes is - but miss the larger picture of love as an ongoing project that two people work on, working hard and selflessly, for many years.

The Christian Message: People who are just flat-out offended by Christianity, or those who have past traumas, grudges, or anger toward Christians, simply are not going to like this movie. If you're in this group, just don't go.

The people in this movie express and embody their work on their marriage and their personal growth through their faith. If you're a Christian, you will very likely identify with this and see it is a positive.

If you're a non-Christian who has a generally benign, friendly attitude toward Christianity and Christians, this movie might be worth a try for you. The challenges these folks face and the things they have to overcome are not limited only to Christians, and may be familiar to you. They do frame their solutions and their personal work in Christian terms. If you're interested in Christianity, or how Christains frame and work through personal problems, then this movie might have some interest for you.
4444 comments| 1,104 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2016
Fireproof

My husband and I really did enjoy this film. In today's disposable world, this movie has a clear message of hope, God's direction, and fighting to keep your marriage alive and well. In today's world everything is of the physical and not so much about God's principles. This movie delves into love, the meanings of marriage, virtue, principles, love, honor and even temptation. This movie gives clear direction about patience, and loving one another. It is a Christian movie which I don't mind and rather enjoy. The film isn't one of the expensive Hollywood thrillers, but instead depends more on acting and the story line of the movie. I thought Kirk Cameron did a fine job of expressing his anger and resentment of his wife, and also his strength in not letting go of his wife too easily, once he realized the mistakes he had made. Once he's had a change of heart, His love for her is clear and resolute and good eventually wins her over in this film. The female lead did a good job of acting as a cold, but hurt and had enough wife. Her eventual softening and happiness was beautiful. My husband and I both teared up and had an emotional reaction to the film. We truly enjoyed it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
Great movie that shows married couples how to put Jesus in the center of their marriage and walk out Scriptures. He can redeem anyone and enhance the love in any relationship!

Ephesians 5:1-2, 21-33

Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.

Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, His body, of which He is the Savior. Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to Himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— for we are members of His body.

“For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.” This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
This was a very encouraging movie for people who are having troubles in their marriages. It shows you what sacrificial love looks like in a marriage, and what grace looks like. You can see the gospel lived out in the marriage of the main characters. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
Now don't get me wrong, this movie definitely has some major "cheese" factor to it, but the underlying message and core issues it brings to light with marriage are hugely important and often not talked about in our "me, me, now!" society. It shows a lot of the typical routines and situations the average person can find themselves in as opposed to the often fairytale, fluffy stories in many fictional romances depicted by Hollywood. I believe one of the most helpful things the movie shows is that marriage may have its bumpy patches, but what you gain in the end/totality of a lifetime together is worth more than giving up and jumping to the next person that is probably equally as flawed. Now there are certainly situations where a partner isn't safe to stay with, or has no intention of changing incredibly destructive habits which would be intolerable and unfixable. However, the point of this movie is that many people have a decent spouse, and they need to carry through and make things better together instead of separately. As a now 30yr old with parents that divorced in my tween aged years, I can attest that the some of the damage from a divorce never completely goes away for the entire family (I have a case of parents that in the end have admitted individually years later they probably should have stayed together, but one parent remarried too soon). So giving a case for holding on to a commitment and putting someone else first I think makes this movie one with a good message to consider.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2017
This is an amazing, cool, powerful, Christian movie. I love the topic: How much your marriage matters to you, to your family, and God.
If you want to watch a movie that has profound truth for your marriage, some drama added, some comic relief, and with a biblical worldview, this movie is definitely for you. Even if you don't completely agree with the message, this is a positive, family friendly movie.

I personally think that Fireproof is good quality, but if it doesn't meet your standards, then you should watch War Room.
The Kendricks continue to improve their productions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
I actually got this movie as a joke to watch with my boyfriend. He's a firefighter and this looked like an extremely cheesy Christian film (we are both Christians, so not mocking). Usually the Christian film industry does a pretty poor job of making serious or believable movies. We were actually pleasantly surprised. The acting is not stellar, or the writing ("You keep looking at trash on the internet!" - just say it, lady...you mean porn.). But the end had a sincerity that made me tear up a bit and glossed over the movie's other glaring flaws. Good purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
What an AWESOME and POWERFUL movie. From start to finish the movie captivated my attention, with a scenario that addressed issues that many marital couples experience. It is an excellent tool that can be utilized in counseling; however, I feel that it has benefits for all couples. This movie can be used to counsel various couples: newlyweds, engaged couples, couples dating, and couples already married. Fireproof displayed a powerful meaning, by demonstrating "love" and "work" are important elements to making a relationship endure. This is a movie I highly recommend everyone to see; because there is a lesson to be learned by all who watch Fireproof.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
On the brink of losing all hope? Think divorce papers or even divorce is the end of the line? Think again. Even if you're not a "believer" this movie will demonstrate, in a non-fairytale way how hope, change and faith can work wonders. All you need have is the desire to really make the changes YOU need to make within yourself. You cannot change anyone other than yourself, and even in the worst case; becoming the best YOU possible will ensure the road ahead to be much different than the one you leave behind.

Need more? Check out Facing the Giants, made by the same folks. That's a story of faith, and the marriage in that movie is solid, and you'll see that in their interactions through the worst of trials.

Have a great day!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.99

Need customer service? Click here