Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 487 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 703 reviews
on June 3, 2015
Even better than the book, "The Firm" is a roller coaster of twists and turns that leave the viewer breathless. Suspenseful from the outset because of the strong musical score, the movie easily weaves all the threads and threats into a thriller that satisfies and wins your heart and your head. Rarely does a film translation exceed the vision of the writer. When it captures it, the result is stupendous. Think John Huston's vision and presentation of Dashiel Hammett's 'The Maltese Falcon". To get better than the book the production must provide a satisfaction that is unexpected, "The Firm" does that. From Boston to Memphis, the film entertains with panache and excitement. One of Cruise's best roles, the Firm allows Wilfred Brimley and Hal Holbrook to showcase their talents and charm. Buy it, you won't regret it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
No longer a Tom Cruise fan but find this movie intellectually interesting and gripping with all of its suspenseful turns. I think it is very well-acted and well written. I love the way he is able to get the tables turned on the bad guys and I think the ending has a wonderful ironic twist!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
This review is for the blu-ray transfer--the picture quality, sound quality, etc.--not for how good the story or acting is, or not. "The Firm" has a solid, nearly beautiful picture, with very accurate colors (as with the flesh tones, for example), and vivid colors, though it's only reasonably sharp. And this is a 1993 film. The audio is excellent as well. I'm very pleased with this purchase, which is an upgrade to the DVD I already owned.

Fine job on this film's transfer via solid Blu-Ray remastering. One of the better Blu-Rays, technically, for a 1993 film. Its lack of "incredible" sharpness resides, I believe, in the original photographing of this movie, intentionally just a hair soft.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
A just plain awesome movie. Exciting and intriguing the whole way. Cruise is a mediocre actor, but the plot was so ace, and the directing was masterful enough to cover for him. I loved the Garey Busey character, so was disappointed that he got popped off so soon, but the plot required it. You can expect Holbrook and Hackman to do their usual great acting, but Holly Hunter was the other bright character that stood out at special. She is a really super actor that gets overlooked. Take your valium and watch this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
This movie is in my possession and I play it often. This is one of Thomas Cruzes finest movies. It allrived on the 18th of this month in fine shape. Thank you;

Wolfgang M. Schwartzenweintrtaub
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
Okay who doesnt like Tom Cruise. I love all his movies and seen this in the past . I found it be very interesting to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2016
days of thunder meets risky business
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
This is the movie that made me a Tom Cruise fan. Had never seen Risky Business or Top Gun and I was jaded by the Hustler and thought Color of Money didn't really measure up. But what a ride The Firm turned out to be...and the music!!! I now own the book (thank you Mr. Grisham), the DVD and the soundtrack!!! Although the movie has a lot of changes from the book, it was still quite suspenseful and thought-provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
The suspense keeps you on the edge of your seat throughout. Gene Hackman and Tom Cruise are attorneys who can't safely leave their firm - because their clients include the mob. How to get out when they've got you for life?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
never get tired of watching this movie.. just the right amount of compelling plot combined with action. Cruise at his best... never though I would want to punch out the "quaker oats" guy....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse