Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 319 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 539 reviews
on September 18, 2017
Love the book. It has lots of intuitive charts/diagrams to visually explain the concepts. Highly recommend it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2017
This is a good book. I like the format and does a good job of explaining the different patterns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Unfortunately, I had the same experience before with the Orally series books. The example code is hard to understand. Let me explain way. The first lesson on patterns is about a way to avoid duplication of code and hiding the code implementation to other objects that do not need to know about that implementation. So, they write a set of objects to "explain" how to do it. So, they write interfaces, concrete classes, and abstract class to show the behavior, which it was complicated enough itself. But wait... they add several different behaviors and classes for different types of ducks, on the very the first example! It was hard to decipher the code and it wasn’t until I build my own set of simplified objects for just 1 behavior that I began to understand! And, all this pictures and drawings, kind to confuses me a little too, not entertain me at all, like they say it was the purpose. So, if you get the book, the clue is: SIMPLIFY the code and you’ll be fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
Concepts are explained in an easy-to-understand way. Pros and cons are discussed in detail. The authors fully expect various reader questions and take the time to answer them intuitively, much more so than similar technical books. Overall, I am very satisfied with the book, which does a good job in explaining subtle differences in similar patterns as well as warning readers in potential pitfalls and potholes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
It can be your first pattern book. And it is a interesting book that helps you keep reading! You can find something that you can directly use in your projects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
highly recommend this 'thick' book for overview of DPs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2017
a nice intro to design patterns
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
What a great book! I would recommend to pragmatic souls. Anyone who is not only about the knowledge of a thing but how it can be applied to real world problems. It also had some great humor that allows the core principles to stick with you. Loved the book from cover to cover!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
I love this book for its exposition of programming concepts in a simplified and humorous presentation. I also recommend that, as an appetizer, readers should first watch the video tutorial presented by the authors of this book (Eric and Elisabeth) at Lynda.com. That video tutorial covers seven of the most widely used patterns present in this book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse