Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy Thor: Ragnarok available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18_gno

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
11
First Feature: An Anthony Carrick Mystery
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 9, 2017
5/7/17
FIRST FEATURE
Jason Blacker

From the first word, the book reads like a Sam Spade or Archie Goodwin type of novel, but I liked that...sorry, I couldn't help it. Not only are the Anthony Carrick mysteries a great read, the one liners are the best in the business.
Anthony Carrick is an ex-cop that has a heart of gold, probably tarnished, but he sees the way people really are but lives with hope for the best lodged deep in his heart.
A Hollywood studio wants him to run interference on the murder of one of their head honchos and keep scandal from the news. As Carrick investigates the suspects seem to pile up instead of decreasing. With a little help from his friends and enemies things fall into place.
I just love these mysteries and will read them all as they are just so much fun and I will recommend them to all. Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2018
This is the first time I've read anything by this author. I very much enjoyed the story and will read additional offerings by Jason Blacker. One problem keeping me from a five-star rating--the editing. The third or fourth time he used the word "to" rather than "too" and "form" for "from', when, in a chapter heading "Budweiser" was misspelled and "angel" was substituted for "angle" in a couple of instances, and when compound words were expressed as two words and when two words were made into a compound word, I found it extremely irritating. I'm hoping my next venture with this author, the editing has been cleaned up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2017
This is my second Anthony Carrick novel and I enjoyed this one as much as I did the first one. He really reminds me of Matthew Scudder who I miss terribly having read all of him I can find so it's nice to find a new character in a similar vein. One gripe I do have is the spotty editing. I don't remember that being a problem in last book I read however so I will accept that as a first novel issue. I'm looking forward to the next book in Jason Black's series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2012
This was a great read for the airplane - light and quick to follow. The story is somewhat predictable and I was somewhat unhappy how the ending turned out. I expected a bit more.
At first I found the incomplete sentences and "bad" grammar a distraction. However, it sort of fits the character and I began to imagine that would be how he thinks and talks. However, the editor has run this through the spell check without reading it and there are numerous instances where the wrong word appears, such as "form" rather than "from". This can be a real distraction and would have been an easy fix, even if the grammar were not corrected.
Priced low, so I can't complain. I will watch to see when his next book is released.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2017
Funny, keep's you guessing, loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 14, 2012
The story line and characters were interesting. Unfortunately, the author found it expedient to use the name of Jesus as a swear word again, and again, ad infinitum. After reading about a third of the book, I really didn't care "who done it" and deleted it from my Kindle.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 6, 2017
PI, law enforcement, murder investigation, snarkfest, noir, relationships

Engrossing. The cover is misleading, and the publisher's blurb is a disservice to the book. There is no Hollywood hype except for the insanity of the lifestyle of the first victim and most of the suspects. Anthony is a careworn ex cop/paint artist working as a PI, who drinks too much, and smokes too much, and has a great snarky sense of humor. His best friend is his former partner from the Department, and they collaborate on the case while trading friendly barbs. The descriptions of the characters and the environments are excellent. The plot is interesting and twisty. The editing is subpar and there are some really jarring notes when there is an auto correct inaccuracy or a completely wrong word used. That kind of thing takes away from the flow in a book that is basically well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2017
Yes!!! A well written heart pounding book! Characters well developed, world fully rwalizwd, and a storyline with just enough turns and twists to keep you wondering!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 31, 2017
This book tries for a film-noir, hard-bitten detective vibe, but fails with an extremely repetitive narration, and very weak, predictable conclusion. The author actually has a way with metaphors, some of which are quite good. For example:
"I was eating up time like I was trying to climb a sand dune. A lot of stuff was happening, but I didn't feel like I was getting anywhere."
Unfortunately, that's what it's like to read the story. The book is 288 pages long. It would be maybe 50 pages shorter if you left out all the text describing the protagonist (and other characters) smoking cigarettes (cue the old black and white movies) or describing LA traffic and how he would get from point a to point b (I guess that's important if you actually live in LA, but hey, every big city has traffic).
A good editor would have mentioned to Mr. Blacker that every time the detective interviews another potential suspect, he repeats essentially everything the reader has already covered. It's boring, and repetitive. Did I mention it's repetitive. Oh, and all the typos, like bad speech to text. The worst offense though is the plot. Think of the most generic, love-triangle murder scenario there is, ramble through a bunch of long-winded, repetitive conversations with other, ultimately unimportant characters, then have the murderer confess. That's it. That's all there is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 28, 2017
This was a great read. Suspenseful, interesting kept me glued to my seat. Can't wait to read the rest of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here